We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but poor otherwise”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Many good reviews about this place made me book into it, but if I were to visit Udaipur again I would go nextdoor to Jagat Niwas Palace hotel. The Kankarwa is not a bad place, the location is lovely, right on the water and near the city palace. The staff are nice enough, although very playful, untrained and childish. At check in you are given a marketing speech about the food at the hotel, how it is much fresher than in other restaurants of Udaipur - "we use no frozen foods". Then, when I went to the restaurant, which is on a lovely roof terrace, the food offered on the menu was a ridiculous small choice at a high price. Any Indian restaurant I have ever been to, has had heaps more food on its menu. this, to me, is the single biggest factor, why people do not eat there. I told the owner's son, but he said, because the food is so fresh and not stored long, they cannot give a better selection. Well, that's too bad, because with the menu there is, the best marketing speech will not help to keep people at the haveli for dinner or lunch. The Jagat Niwas Palace right next door has superb food in an even greater setting than the Kankarwa - why would people stay at Kankarwa? Kankarwa should study their competition....
Again, not a bad place, kind enough people, but overpriced and over rated for what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had read a lot of excellent reviews of this hotel in guidebooks and was very disappointed with our two night stay. Even the fabulous view from the terrace couldn't compensate for bad service, lack of management and general feeling of neglect.
My room had been recently repainted (but bathroom not quite finished, tap dripped all night), but was cold and lacking in charm. Spartan decoration, bed linen etc. Service was really bad at breakfast tho did improve the next day when I complained. Lack of adequate lighting on the steep stairs makes it quite dangerous at night. Management seemed curiously absent and quite unconcerned when I pointed out that petty cutbacks (no bottle of water in room, no individual bars of soap, etc) gave a negative impression. I would not recommend nor go back to this place. Jagat Niwas next door looked much more inviting...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent 2 nights starting from the new year eve, price for that couple of nights are a little high.

This hotel is in a perfect location with many nice small shops, and is only abt 10 mins walk to the city palace, so is very convenient. It is also right by the lake, so it is quiet enough for a good sleep. We got a huge lake facing room which is nice and bright, and it comes with a sitting again which again is quite big. If not worried abt the room, then the roof top restaurant also has great lake view, and is a great place to watch the sun set, but we did not try the food.

its next door neighbour Jagat Niwas Palace looks smarter with really nice courtyard and restaurant, but it seems that most of their rooms are with courtyard view instead of lake view.

they have the hottest water for shower during our 12 days in India. Recommned it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

In comparison to similarly priced and located hotels this one was disappointing. Great views & terrific location but poor food and a customer-is-wrong denial of small concerns (just leave the water running and it will warm up) instead of an apology or explanation (broken system, no power, whatever) which would have been fine

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas 2011. In our four weeks in India, this was by far, the best hotel we stayed in. A family run hotel and the father and son team could not have been more welcoming and indeed helpful. Sit out on the terrace, take in the view while sipping a cool beer or indeed nibbling on a wonderful veg. thali and you will wish that you had booked a longer stay. Cannot recommend this place enough as it made such a wonderful change from the hands-out, expensive and chaotic service, we experienced at other hotels in India.

Room Tip: When booking, request a room with a "lakeside view" on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialGuestAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The rooms at this haveli are very nice indeed. My only complaint was the noise. I had a lakeside room, and the noise that comes up from the courtyard from the management and other guests can be a trifle hard to take. A great location though and good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriellaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Excellent location by Lake Pichola and within very easy walking distance of the City Palace.

A variety of rooms, all beautifully decorated and well maintained. Mine was gorgeous, (and very big!), with a huge bay window allowing me to admire the splendid view from the comfort of an armchair - brilliant even on slightly chilly winter mornings.

Nice rooftop restaurant, albeit with somewhat irregular service. Great thali in the evening - they serve what the family eats. Breakfast sadly not worth getting up for.

They organise cars for trips outside Udaipur, which is very useful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,363 reviews
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
803 reviews
0 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 167 in Udaipur
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#50 of 167 in Udaipur
395 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#21 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 167 in Udaipur
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $85 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing