We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive by Indian standards, but Heritage aspects nice”
Review of Anjani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anjani Hotel
Ranked #73 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent 9 nights here, and got to know this hotel and location very well.

Positives: lovely heritage feel to the place. We left on the final day of Holi, and hotel staff allowed us to have use of another room until our taxi left late that afternoon, which was very kind, as this helped us avoid getting us, and our bags, plastered in multicolored paint powder while waiting for our taxi .....

Our room (302) was very quiet. The room we were able to spend our final day in (203) was occasionally quite noisy (above the reception area etc.). However - it was ideal for a couple with 2-3 younger children, with a very cute large curtained alcove area where the kids could all bunk up together. The positives might outweigh the occasional noise for such a family.

Rooms 302 and 203 had twin beds 'pushed together' to make a double bed. If you don't like this sort of divide, you might want to make a special request for a room with a true double bed.

We didn't use the pool as the pool water looked a little cloudy for our tastes.

Negatives:

We ate at the rooftop restaurant here twice, and after both occasions, we became quite ill, although this might have just been coincidence. The food is no great shakes, anyway. There are much nicer places to eat Indian and European-style food which are close by - see The Food Club, for instance, which has fabulous food in a lovely water-side location.

Your room is provided with a hot water kettle. However, only glasses are provided, not cups/mugs to make tea/coffee, and no teaspoons are provided. A small oversight but annoying (at these prices!). Teaspoons we kept after room service were always removed from the room during cleaning, forcing you to consider the rooftop restaurant. Bring your own.

During our visit (March 2012) the rooftop restaurant was extremely windy - so much so that we were often the only guests game enough to withstand the cold/blown-away tablecloths/rice blown off your fork. We gave up on the last occasion and sat down below inside.

Very convenient location, and only 5 - 10 minutes walk from good restaurants to eat: Gateway Restaurant (near City Palace), and our favorite - The Food Club.

Seemingly impossible to get the breakfast you ordered. We gave up and ate elsewhere after a couple of tries. 'Orange juice' is that sweet syrup rubbish hotels buy by the ton - not fresh. Typical exchange on our final breakfast in India:

Me: I'll have 'Toast with baked beans', and the boiled eggs please.'
Waiter: Yes Sir. Two eggs?
Me: Yes. Two boiled eggs please.
Waiter: 4 eggs.
Me: No. Just one boiled egg order of 2 eggs.
Silence.
Waiter: Toast?
Me: Yes - 'Toast with Baked Beans, thank you'.
Waiter: OK. 4 eggs and toast.
Me: No, just 2 eggs, and 'Toast with baked beans'.
Waiter looks puzzled.
Waiter: Yes Sir.
10 minutes later .....
Me: Excuse me - I have 4 eggs and no baked beans.
Waiter: Toast.
Me: Yes - I see the 4 pieces of toast. But where are the baked beans?
Waiter (points triumphantly): Toast.
Me: Yes. Here - look at the menu here - I ordered 'Toast with baked beans, yes?'.
Silence.
Waiter descends to kitchen.
2 minutes later:
Waiter: Baked beans no have.
Me: Ahhhh ....
Waiter (points): Toast.
Me: OK. Can I have something with my toast then please?
Waiter: Baked beans no have.
Me: Yes. Could I have some butter please?
Waiter: Butter?
Me: Yes please - some butter.
Silence.
Waiter: 'Toast and baked beans no come with butter'.
Me: Ahhhh.
Silence.
Me: But there are no baked beans to go with the toast. Perhaps some butter?
Waiter: You want toast?
Me: No. I have toast. I just need butter.
Waiter: No. You have 'Toast with baked beans. No have butter'.
Me: Yes. But I need butter.
Waiter: You want toast? Toast come with butter.
Me: Ummmmm ..... No. I already have toast. Can you please just bring me some butter?
Waiter looks puzzled.
Me (finally): OK - I'll have the toast.
Waiter: Marmalade?
Me: No - just butter.
Waiter: Yes Sir.
Butter duly arrives.

Room service was very similar - a bit of a lottery as to what might actually appear - if your order is anything other than super-simple. Icecream desert (don't order - tiny cardboard container with about 2 dessertspoons of ice-cream in it!) may come 15 minutes before your main course. Be prepared.

One of the biggest omissions from such an expensive hotel option, however, is the lack of cable or satellite TV. Only Indian channels available. On a long stay, and if you become ill (this IS India), a nice movie can be just the tonic. No such luck here .....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpacemanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

we lell in love with this hotel at the first sight. for it's beautiful view and comfortable room. but the bestpart is these kind people. thank u so much for your help. i have never imagined i could ge t back my lost bag so smoothly. wish u a happy life and successful bussiness!

Room Tip: rooms with windows to the lake. nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hongnan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked Anjani Hotel rooms at quite low rates so were pretty skeptical about how it would turn out to be. We were at first disappointed to see the entrance to the hotel which was a narrow steep alley leading to the hotel reception. The pool was also quite small. But once we entered the hotel we were quite impressed by the heritage building decor. The rooms were spacious and ours had an adjoining small terrace from where one could see the Udaipur cityscape. There was a huge four-poster bed in our room with very soft mattresses. The bathroom was huge with a big bathtub. There was ornate Rajasthani traditional art everywhere in the room. The best part of the hotel was the rooftop restaurant. At night the view of the brightly-lit Lake Palace in the middle of the dark lake and the city lights sprawling around the lake was breathtaking from the top of the hotel roof. The food was good and the staff can bring you liquor from outside if you request them. The location of the hotel was also quite good with all the sight seeing places within walkable or auto-rickshaw-able distance. All in all our stay was quite wonderful and magical without spending much !

Room Tip: Choose the rooms having bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamalika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place was beyond spacious. It even had a little reading nook, a table, and three chairs. The bathroom was also more spacious than normal. The place was visibly clean.

The staff are friendly enough...even better they are very relaxed. Our room had a pool view, which was fine. The pool looked clean, but it was way too cold to consider jumping in. We ate the upstairs restaurant for breakfast nearly everyday, and it was a good deal and tasty. The terrace is nicely done with good views. We didn't eat there for dinner as we were usually out and about.

They provide plenty of blankets as well as soap. The decoration in the room is unique (so far). It was fun to have a hotel with personality at a good price. The location is great. You are near the water, shops, restaurants, museum, and culture shows. I'm not sure if there is a better location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The room was nice with a big relaxing window seat area. Clean bathroom with shower over bath.

The rooftop restaurant whilst having good views, was a little dissapointing. I would go elsewhere for breakfast.

Easy walking distance for the sights, shops and restaurants.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank AJ-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We lived there for 2 nights and that was one of the best experience in India.The room was large and clean with a king-size bed and a balcony,and Indian style decorated.We almost had all our meals in the roof-top restraunt.The food there was good as well as the price.The honor of the restraunt is called JAGDISH,the same name as the famous temple just nearby.You can enjoy your food with a great view over lake and the town if not cold.Wifi is avaible in the room but not the restraunt.Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Wifi is better in rooms on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zhangqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Anjani for two nights. I knew we'd made a good choice as soon as I saw the clean, beautifully decorated lobby. The staff was very helpful and friendly and they have two computers with free internet in the lobby - and they both worked. Our room was clean with clean sheets, blankets (what a treat in India!) and towels. The bathroom was clean and we had a hot shower. I loved how this hotel was arranged and how our door led to the outside hallway. Our room even had a phone! Service here was really good as well. We were on the third floor and it was quiet. There is also a really lovely, sparkling clean pool, but it was too cold for us to take advantage. Cafe Edeilwess and Cafe Namaste are just across the street and both are really good. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#31 of 165 in Udaipur
792 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 165 in Udaipur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 165 in Udaipur
376 reviews
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 165 in Udaipur
467 reviews
0.9 km away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#50 of 165 in Udaipur
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjani Hotel

Address: 77 Gangaur Ghat Marg, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place from where you can see sunrise, sunset and full moon with the beauty of Aravalli Mountains. A minute walk from City Palace, Lake Pichola and Bagore Ki Haveli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anjani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjani Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing