We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel near Lake Pichola”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was amazing. The price was higher than others, but it was worth it. The man at the front desk was always very helpful and friendly, especially when we had to do some domestic calls to confirm tickets and rooms. Next door is a small place where you can go on the internet, make calls (though be careful, its a very very bad connection and frequently drops) and buy snacks and drinks.

We got a room on the corner with a 180 degree view of Lake Pichola. We were so glad we spent the extra money. The room didn't have air conditioning, but they have heat. We never needed air-conditioning though because it was winter. Above the hotel is their restaurant which had good quality food and was busy as the night grew.

On our last day, the manager was gracious enough to let us stay in the hotel while we waited for our train to Agra at 10 pm. We eventually got tired of the city at 4 pm so we just decided to rest in the hotel for the rest of time.

Room Tip: Opt for the one we got on the corner overlooking the lake. Though, the bathroom had a vent out into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Although not the cheapest hotel to be found in Udaipur, it is still good value.

It was an extremely comfortable stay in a beautifully decorated hotel. The hotel is lovely. The restaurant was also good - the food was tasty and the rooftop views of the lake were wonderful.

The location is about as good as you're likely to find in Udaipur and every member of staff who we dealt with was massively helpful.

They also have an extremely useful shop, with the usual internet cafe, money/traveller's cheques exchanges, postcards and book exchange. As well as the essentials, they also have an area stocked with home comforts for the weary-traveller.

Mewar Haveli is an excellent place to stay, I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARobinson666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Udaipur, with a great view of Lake Pichola from its restaurant (top floor) and terrace (open air above restaurant), and its just a short walk to the city palace and museums and Jagdish Temple, the Bagore-ki-Haveli and excellent restaurants. There's pay for use internet in the connected building adjacent to the hotel So can't beat the location. The rooms are clean and bright, with spotless, modern bathrooms. We were on the lake side and thought the extra cost for the view was worth the price. Staff was friendly and helpful, for example, giving us some advice about our cellphone. We ate at the restaurant only at breakfast and found it to be reasonably priced and good food. Would stay here again if we came back to Udaipur.
Iris&Gord (Canada)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a good budget choice located in the heart of all activity and the rooftop restaurant has views to die for. The staff were very helpful and the rooms very pleasant at this price. I will definately be back here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotels in Udaipur compete to offer good lakeside views, and this one had them from its excellent rooftop. You can lounge around on cushions or sit at tables to admire both the lake views and sunsets. Good views over the town as well. The rooftop and floor below double as the restaurant which serves good food. Good service and very helpful and friendly staff.Simple straightforward clean rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in Mar 2010 last time and really like the hotel, the view - overlooking the lake Pichola and its people. You can spend hours stilling on the terrace restaurant. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. We went for another holiday this march to Udaipur, since we really enjoyed the last holiday. We did not even look out for any other hotel and rebooked here.

Room Tip: Room 203 is the best room they have with a great lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_away_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at Mewar Haveli for 2 nights. Our room was a little on the small side, but very clean and cheerful. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was centrally located in the old part of Udaipur.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinGirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 167 in Udaipur
578 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 167 in Udaipur
393 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 167 in Udaipur
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,362 reviews
0 km away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#72 of 167 in Udaipur
386 reviews
0.1 km away
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
OYO 4771 Hotel Anjani
#76 of 167 in Udaipur
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $36 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing