We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Soothing, Relaxing and Picturesque”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shunyata

Perfect nothingness. The potential for all creation.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect nothingness. The potential for all creation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Perfect nothingness. The potential for all creation.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Coonoor, The Nilgiris District, Tamil Nadu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abhijit s...
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soothing, Relaxing and Picturesque”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

A wonderful homestay located at the very top of a hill. We had big plans for the day. However, the minute we reached Shunyata, we cancelled all the plans and just enjoyed the beautiful view from the house. The staff is very helpful. They prepare mouth watering food and keep the house clean. Later during the evening they had also organized a small bonfire for our group of 9. There also happens to be a young adorable pet dog named 'Puppy'. Puppy loves it when the visitors come and play with him or take him for a small walk. Words are not enough to describe how great this place is. Worth a visit.

Note: If you visit Shunyata once ..... you would want to visit again and again and again and againnnnn :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Abhijit! We hope you keep coming again and again and againnnn! Thank you for the great review! And especially for mentioning 'Puppy'! He soo longs for company! Too many people are scared of dogs and cats when all they want is to play with you! The world is a better place because of people like you and your family! Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J1017
1 review
“A hidden gem, worth many trips.”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

According to the locals I spoke with, Shunyata is probably the nicest Homestay in the most picturesque part of the Coonoor-Ooty area. And though I didn’t visit the others, it did seem like they were right. The charming bungalow is lovingly designed and maintained. The staff is generous and sincere in looking after you. The food is freshly cooked for each meal and very good, so as mentioned in another review, you would be conflicted more than once between sitting out for the stunning views and sitting in to just hang out having some great food. It feels blissfully far away from it all, but is actually only a half hour drive from Coonoor city which has many charms of its own, from lovely local markets to some genuinely special restaurants serving both Indian and European cuisines. Shunyata is a hidden gem, worth many trips.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Wow! Thank you for the great review! It feels wonderful when our guests enjoy Shunyata as much as we do! Looking forward to your next visit!
Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshwinaAn...
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Shunyata is located at Bettati on Raliyah Dam road. The location is amazing! The view from the cottage is breathtakingly beautiful on all sides. This is a huge house with a fire place and all necessary amenities. The house is very neatly maintained by the staff.
We wanted to roam around, but we mostly ended up staying indoors just to enjoy the view from here.
If needed we can use the kitchen or let the cook know what we want eat, she is very punctual and cooks awesome dishes.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to take a break from mundane city life. This place completely recharges your energy!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Ashwina! Anand! Thank you so much for the review! So glad you enjoyed our home away from home! We hope to see you all at Shunyata whenever your batteries need recharging!
Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidya K
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and well maintained property”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our stay in Coonoor couldn't have been better in any other property. We rented out the entire place for our group of 4 couples and 3 kids. The property is away from town and offers fantastic views and being at a higher elevation, it was colder than proper Coonoor. Mostly we ended up staying indoors as it was raining on and off. The house has ample space for kids to play and has a lot of cozy nooks if you want to just curl up and read a book. Razia Aunty who cooked our food was very hospitable and would always comply our requests with a smile. Shunyata was like a home away from home and if you are visiting Coonoor to just get away and recharge your batteries, it is a perfect place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Hey Vivek! So glad you liked our home-away-from-home as much as we do!
My daughter loved meeting up with your whole group! And Razia is all praise for you all! Hope to see you again whenever your batteries need re-charging!
Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rohit r
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing place with fantastic viewpoint”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated on top of the hill it gives fantastic views.
Adding to that the hospitality was great and a beautiful house secluded and into the lap of nature.
The best part is it's location not being in main Ooty which is way too commercialized and crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Hey Rohit! Glad you liked your stay at Shunyata! Hope to see you again! Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibendu D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical retreat in the lap of nature: East or west, this is Coonoor's best!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When 11 in a group have plans to go out and explore immediately after checking in, but instead cancel all plans and decide not to leave the premises, unanimously, just five minutes after checking in, the place has got to have some magic. And magical it was right from the word go.
Located in the midst of a tea garden, this beautiful, sprawling bungalow offers the best possible home-stay option in Coonoor. An extra large living room, prettily done up in earthy tones, makes you feel at home immediately. A TV corner, a chess-board table with sofa and bed around, a fireplace, a study corner with a cupboard full of books, board games and film DVDs, and our favourite area — the adda corner (well, adda is a much-loved Bengali term for a heart-to-heart leisure chat) and its comfortable seating arrangement — you can't just ask for more. But actually, the magic lies one step ahead, right into the next space in the villa: the kitchen and the dining space.
The caretakers, Razia aunty and uncle, were too good hosts who cooked up an ambrosia for each of us. I personally can't forget the taste of the fish curry and the mutton stew.
The bedrooms are large and comfy, with proper pillows and blankets in place. If you are a traveller who doesn't care about the luxury but always makes sure a place has a decent washroom, then worry no more. The bathrooms are big, clean and beautiful. They also have an utility area that includes a washing machine.
The dining space opens into a patio that has a lovely view and that's where we spent most of our day time. Say good morning to the rising sun while sipping a perfectly brewed cuppa from the cosy comfort of your bed or walk out into the patio and take in the raw and rich freshness of the early morning breeze while gently swaying on the swing. The vast valley in the front, painted green by the tea plantation, makes a perfect backdrop to the little manicured garden with lovely bright blooms. Breathtaking is an understatement.
The evenings were mostly spent indoors with Razia aunty making hot pakoras and tea/coffee for an unending adda. We had checked if the place had a TV with proper cable connection, yet we never felt like switching it on except once or twice to check the IPL score.
Dinner was served at 10pm and again it was a grand affair. A few of us went out for a leisurely night stroll and boy, what a serene and liberating experience it was! As the twinkling lights on the hill on the other side made a spectacle too good to be missed, the comparative darkness and stillness this side made us poetic.
The area is very safe and if you are looking for a holiday spent in the lap of nature, doing nothing or simply contemplating on the philosophy of life, this is your right choice.
However, we feel that this place is best visited in a group, as it might get a little boring if you are alone or in a small group of two or four. But again, it's a personal choice and who knows you might find it the best bet for solitude.
It is advisable to have a car/vehicle of your own, as going to the town's centre is quite a journey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Hey Sibendu. Thank you for the glowing review! Hope to see you all again at Shunyata some time soon! Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prash_Thu...
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Located in Calm, Serene spot , Amazing Place to relax and chill with Family/Friends”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

All we wanted was a relaxing getaway together and at Shunyata, we got more than we asked for. Ayesha was incredibly helpful- from promptly answering our endless queries to ensuring we had everything we needed during our stay. Shunyata has a spacious living and dining area, a fully equipped kitchen, cozy bedrooms, kind caretakers and a breathtaking view. We bought essentials from a supermarket nearby as the house is approx. 6kms away from the main town. We were glad we did that because none of us wanted to leave the lovely place. We enjoyed the board and card games in the house, a camp fire (arranged by the caretakers), the view of bisons waking through the fields, and most importantly, the comfort we had because of the caretakers and the amenities in the house. The pictures don’t do justice to how incredibly beautiful the place is. We would definitely go back there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Prashanthi! Thank you for loving our house as much as we do! Come back soon! Cheers...Ayesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;