We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Stay(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunvalley Homestay(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Teanest(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ataraxia(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'land Plantation Stay(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bearcountry Resorts(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agr Holiday Home(Coonoor)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurumba Village Resort(Coonoor)
US$225
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
176
36
7
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
36
7
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdr mouliweight lossmassage ladiesweek stayhealth problemslife changing experienceayurvedic foodaches and painstreatment planhuman beingthe real dealan open mindon a daily basisbody and soulper daydaily lifeinteresting people
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 233 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

I stayed a month at the Ayurveda Yoga Retreat and I can't say enough nice things about this place. The staff couldn't have been nicer and accommodating. It seemed like more than a job for them because they took such great personal care of me. The doctor was beyond excellent and got to the bottom of some of my physical issues that I was not be able to figure out in the United States. The chef cooked excellent vegan meals and you could not ask for better Ayurvedic treatments from such sweet girls This is an authentic Ayurvedic treatment facility.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank 14Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

I participated the training course to learn about ayurveda.
i was excited to come there and abit nervous for i was travelling alone. rekha, the owner welcomed me with a bindhi and sweets. she was as kind as the owner himself was.

the doctor there, dr. mouli, was a great teacher. very calm and patient, very knowing and generous to pass on his knowlegde. he has a great humor, too and supported my desire for knowledge with wisdom and motivation.

the massage therapists are wonderful, without many words but with gestures, awareness and much sensitivity they taught me a lot and made my lessons practical and relevant. massaging they do a dance with their hands.

the cook there is more than a cook. he is soul of the place, listing, making fun, cheering everybody up in down and calming the place with his presence. he is father, psychologist, brother, friend. and he cooks awesome.

it was a great time there.
it became a reality of its own and i forgot that there is a life out there, because the place felt like the perfect place to be: nowhere else i´d rather be at.

go there. you will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Klurischaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

People from around the world, I'll recommend you to come with an open heart to this special place!!!
I've stayed 4 weeks In this beautiful place... here I found special people, who cared , loved and treated me in such a wonderful way .
Dr Mouli, exceptional doctor and personality,
and all the staff working there are the most incredible people with such a big heart, always smiling and ready to help with everything you need.
I've met here very special friends and I'm so grateful to this place because I think that it attracts good people!
Thank you everybody from the retreat for everything!
I apreciate all your help and I'm looking forward to see you again!







Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

I just completed 3 weeks of Panchakarma treatments at the ayurvedaretreat.com . The treatments are world class, the staff are all so beautiful and friendly and the location is incredible, nestled amongst the Nilgiri Mountains. I wanted my first Panchakarma experience to not just be stuck in a hospital style setting, and so this was perfect. There is an incredible yoga practise room, which is a large wooden circular room overlooking the trees and mountains. The massages and cooking was pure bliss!! Accomodation is ok, but incredibly reasonable for the prices you are paying. (Pay a little extra for the nicer rooms which is well worth it) Dr Mouli and his staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this place and will be heading back myself!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony or villas are the best
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

I have just completed 3 weeks of Panchakarma (detox and re-balancing) at the Ayurveda Retreat, and it was very good. Dr Mouli, the resident Ayurvedic doctor, is a very good physician in the classic tradition of Ayurvedic medicine - knowledgable, experienced, and providing dedicated care; the treatment plan generally comprises three treatments per day including an Acupressure and Reiki session on alternate days; this is balanced by a full early morning Yoga session and a Pranayama & Mediation session in the early evening, both conducted by Ganesh-Ji, who is a Yoga master of the old school - leading by example and gently guiding only where it is needed; both the yoga and the mediation are, of course, not compulsory, but they are very much worth trying - even if one is a complete newcomer to yoga - as they are highly complementary to the Ayurvedic treatments; there were a number of guests with auto-immune conditions including Crohn’s, Rheumatism, IBS, chronic fatigue, and those seeking weight loss during my stay - they all commented on the marked improvements as a result of the therapies, often well beyond their expectations. The property itself is a little tired, having been built early to mid-last-century as I understand it, but it is carried by a lovely team of therapists, chefs, and housekeepers, who are clearly dedicated to the care and comfort of their guests.

Room Tip: 1st floor Rooms on the balcony are better, more so the cottages and villas
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JoMaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews