We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
125
37
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
37
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pepper house hornbill house bison estate manager room service great indian sloth bear mosaic room la la land species of birds beautiful waterfall delectable food satellite dish wonderful getaway friendly team perfect place to get away fixed menu
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 170 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

If you choose to go through several hairpin bends into the hills to coonoor, choose oland for your stay! I travelled with my family (4 members in toto) and stayed at the Hornbill house right beside the waterfall. Hornbill consists of 2 rooms with excellent views - the jackfruit and the waterfall rooms. It's a big house and has a sit out and 2 balconies. The best part about the house is its proximity to the waterfall and the views of the valley. We travelled at the end of October and have been told that from October till mid-Feb is a good time to travel. The boiler was started off each morning at 7.30 am for hot water. We had the breakfast and dinner included in package but even chose to eat our lunch at oland. Simple and delicious food! Tea and coffee bags are provided in the rooms along with a kettle. The staff headed by Moideen provide excellent service. Very friendly team. They helped us with our bags to and fro from the room. At night they came to pick us up from our house and dropped us back too. Moideen even took out time to take us to coonoor on one of the days. During our stay, we also had a tea tasting session, went on a couple of treks and were shown the wildlife around - we ended up seeing the elusive hornbill, bisons and rhesus monkeys. It was a lovely stay and I'd stay there again! Thank you for a wonderful time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sharmilanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinodCP, Guest Relations Manager at O'land Plantation Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Sharmila,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know your stay was memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Location:

We had booked for a three night stay here. We usually don't go for sight seeing. Except for the location, there is nothing great about this property. It has a waterfall with in and located adjacent to the forest. If you are lucky, you get to see wild animals. We were asked not to venture out alone and also we were told that we will be given a guided trek with one of their staff members but that never happened.

Rooms:

We stayed at one of the rooms in the Pepper House. Room was OK. There was no water heater/gyecer in the room. They said hot water will be available only for a couple of hours in the morning. They use wood-fired boilers to heat water for the bathrooms, which is a manual work done by one of their staff members. In all the mornings during our stay here, we didn't get enough hot water for four of us to bath. On the day of check-out, we didn't get hot water at all. When we informed about this to them, they really didn't bother to do the needful. They could have easily sorted out this by making another round of fire in the boiler.

Food:

There was no food choice to make. We just had to simply eat what was served to us. Quality of the food served was OK. Dishes served were basic. Nothing special. If you are a food freak, you may not find this place appropriate for you. Chef/cook Jagadish was courteous enough to do what he can do within his limits. I really appreciate him.

Staff:

Except for the manager Mr. Moideen and chef Jagadish, no one else is worth a mention here. Mr. Moideen did his best within his limits. Of course he has his limits set by the property owner/management.

Overall Property:

Nice property located in a nice place but poorly maintained. Just keeping some antiques here and there in the property will not make the property great. One can easily find lizard or rodent droppings in the common areas (especially near the wash basin of the dinning area).

Other points to note:

1. This place may not be comfortable for the elderly as it requires climbing the stairs for food (if you are staying in the Pepper House or Hornbill).

2. There is no room service available.

3. There is literally nothing for time pass. So you carry something of your own for time pass (like shuttle cocks etc).

4. There is no TV in the room (at least in our Pepper House room) but found one in the common area of the House but it never worked during our three nights stay (satellite dish account was not recharged).

5. If you ever decide to stay in this place, I would recommened you book for only one night and then extend if you like.

6. BSNL and Airtel mobile showed coverage in our room and in certain locations of the property.

7. There is a police checkpost that you have to cross to reach this property, where they inspect your car and make an entry in their register.

8. This place is bit away from Coonoor/Ooty, so you plan your travel accordingly.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kesav-CJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

1.If you are a tea lover, you can get as many options and times you need the tea.
2. Rooms are ok not so great. The washrooms are a little less maintained
3. Food is also very avg. especially if you are a vegetarian. Very limited and deep fried stuff you shall get.
4. The location is very nice but again if you donot have your own vehicle u need to be dependent on taxi and after 5pm the commute is a little difficult.
5. You get the toiletries on request.
6. No AC rooms as the weather do justice to not having it.

Overall its good if you are nature lovers but room ambience wise its ok. Not so great.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjain212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018

This home stay is for those people who want to stay out of hustle bustle of ooty city. Its located in the middle of the jungle on a hill. Tea estates, dense jungle and wildlife all around. There is one waterfall inside the property itself. It has 3 different houses : Estate house, pepper house and hornbill house. Although hornbill looks best , it is located a bit far from main estate house where restaurant is located, so u need to travel to main house for meals. Overall staff service is good and courteous specially Mr Moideen (manager) and Puthai (Helper). The only drawback of the place is its location and connectivity from the city. Access road is poor and dangerous to travel after 4pm in the evening, coz wildlife start roaming around the jungle after that. Overall a great experience, but if safety is added to it, will make to excellent one.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Getaway827823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinodCP, Guest Relations Manager at O'land Plantation Stay, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Isha,

Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us.

We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Dedicated , courteous Manager, good staff.
Place is Good...waterfalls around .nice ambience.Road was under repair..but the manager took the responsibility of arranging vehicle through other road.
Surrounding to be safeguarded by wall/fenced.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 888arung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VinodCP, Guest Relations Manager at O'land Plantation Stay, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews