We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
426
249
44
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
249
44
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj grouphot water bottlestaj coonoortaj standardsold world charmmagic showbeautiful propertydressing roomopen firewooden flooringthe hotel staffbreakfast spreadlarge bathroomupper coonoorwelcome drinksitting roomexecutive room
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 733 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017

Staying here once again after three years. All the good things remain. Best place to relax in The Nilgiris. Food was excellent. Coffee tasted awful once and I had to return it. Though it was duly replaced, there was no regret about it. Also the replaced Coffee was not a full cup in quantity.

We were three of us, but our linen and toiletries were provided only for one person.

Good hospitality, cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaheshTRamadass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Mr. Mahesh,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. I regret the inconvenience and will certainly address your feedback regarding the coffee service and supply of linen and amenities.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

This is the third year in succession that our family of six people in different age groups, planned a holiday stay in Taj Gateway hotel, Coonoor. This time also our stay was excellent and we had a very relaxed, homely type of stay at the hotel. Staff are as always very cordial, always smiling and are ready to go extra mile to make our stay happy and enjoyable. Food is very good and has a good variety.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Mr. Reddy,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Extremely courteous and efficient staff led by a very pleasant and highly efficient GM. The landscape of the property is very pretty. Food is also very nice.
I think it's the best place to stay in Coonoor.
Recommended for families looking for a kid friendly place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Khushboo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Ms. Khushboo,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and appreciation regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am glad to know that had a comfortable stay.
We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Our stay at Gatway Hotel @ coonoor was awesome. The staff is very friendly and caring. The hotel is centrally located to reach all interesting places in and around Coonoor. The food at the hotel restaurant was great:) South Indian dishes are really awesome. Hotel has Ayurveda Centre and Yoga centre. We met with Yogi Vinod Kumar at Yoga Centre and had couple of breathing techniques. Gardens around the hotel is really lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raveendrareddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Mr. Reddy,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.
We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

With the name Taj Gateway , i was expecting better service. The hotel is an old building but room maintenance and standards could be better .
This is the first hotel in our Indian trip where I felt the staff did not enjoy their job .
Disappointing

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Ms.Jane,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with the product and service. I assure you that we will initiate corrective measures and work towards improving them.

We strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet them through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.
We assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews