We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to have a relaxed lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We had been on a hop-in-and-out-of-car after we left Green Nest at Kotagiri where we were staying. We were pecking and we wanted to go to a place without the hustle-and-bustle of tourist crowd.

We zoned in on Taj Gateway in Conoor thanks to Trip Advisor.

An old colonial building styled hotel, with lots of rosewood paneling, Taj Gateway looks very charming.

The GAD restaurant, like rest of the Hotel is also wood-paneled.

The chairs were very comfortable, and we felt good to after a tiring half-day pf sightseeing.

The food was FRESH. We enjoyed, fresh tomato Rasam served as soup; The paneer melted in our mouths; Veg biriyani was fragrant and very tasty ! It was a nice an-hour-and-a-half.

Burp!

Room Tip: We did not stay; But had lunch at the GAD Restaurant; Rasam, Veg Biriyani recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SujaJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Ms. Suja Jai,
Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the stay.
We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Extremely good experience.we went as a group of5families with kids. The staff were extremely friendly, very beautiful location , well maintained property, the buffet was extremely good.we ate all the three meals in the hotel .would love to go ther again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank aravindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Mr.Aravindan,

I thank you for the encouraging feedback. We are happy to know all of you enjoyed the stay.
We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise to reach here. Beautiful colonial bungalow style hotel with great food and too good to be true staff.

You must do a toy train ride to Ooty and spend time at the garden playing games. Bon fire will be the cherry on the cake.

Very happy with the stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rivoli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Mr. Rivoli,

I am glad to know that you had a comfortable stay.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Thought it was trying to have an old charm however the furniture and floor were pretty old and rusted.The Bathroom faucet holder was not installed. The best part was at the restaurant..The person overheard about the anniversary of our cousin and brought a small Cake..That was a WOW moment..His name was Srijeeth

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Abdul_OITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Mr.Abdul,
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay in TGH Coonoor. We have noted your feedback regarding the room furniture and the bathroom fitting and will certainly have them addressed. Your kind words of appreciation for the service of Sreejith were shared with the team.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

As mentioned in the feedback of the hotel, Average Property & not value for Money, Buffet was a disaster. Hope things improve soon. The place is beautiful and people are very nice, however the property needs a big renovation. Rooms are bad & doesnt give you the TAJ experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amithkumarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Mr. Amith Kumar,


I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with the stay. We will certainly have all aspectes of our services which need attention for improvement addressed immediately.

I assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Really cute lawns. Restro manager Shafi was exceptional in service. Enjoyed our stay. The massages were very relaxing and by trained staff. Magic how in the evening was the highlight for our 4 year old daughter. The lawns are very beautiful

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mojoneeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Ms. Mojoneeti,
Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding the stay with us and the services of Shafi.

We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

The Gateway Church hotel is a beautiful property, close to the town centre of Coonoor. The building itself dates back to 1861 and was earlier called Hampton Manor, which was a priory for the All Saints Church next door. Having changed hands multiple times, it is now run by Taj Hotels with their standard impeccable service.

The property has been renovated in its conversion to hotel, while retaining as much of the erstwhile Manor look as possible. This lends it a quintessential English countryside feel, with manicured lawns dotted with flowers and well maintained greenery.

We stayed in Cottage 104. The room was spacious, and had a fireplace which must be used during winters. The bed was firm and super comfortable. The room had the standard features and amenities of a five-star hotel, including a large bathroom with a bathtub.

While the hotel has only 30 odd rooms, it has plenty to keep guests relaxed and comfortable. There is an activity centre that has carrom, chess, fussball, table tennis and a kids play room. In addition, guests can play badminton, ride bikes, enjoy the bonfire, or just simply relax in the lawns. The hotel also organised a magic show which engaged the audience very well.

Breakfast was a good spread, and the quality of the South Indian food was superb. Service, as is the case with any Taj Hotel, was top-class.

Coonoor is a small, relatively non-commercialised hill-station (especially compared to its big brother Ooty), and the charm lies in enjoying the weather in a beautiful property. Gateway Church Hotel fits the bill perfectly and some more!

Strongly recommend to stay at this place when visiting Coonoor next.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Adi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Sir

Thank you for giving us your detailed and nice feedback regarding the stay with us during your recent visit to Coonoor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.
We look forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
R.Muralidharan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
2.4 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
823 reviews
1.5 km away
Teanest
Teanest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
442 reviews
14.1 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
11.1 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,043 reviews
1.1 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range: $135 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing