We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villas”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here on the honeymoon package and a wonderful package it was. The villas are absolutely lovely.

The bed was decorated with flowers and we got a lovely chocolate cake on arrival.
We got a lovely setting for our candelight dinner under the tree. it was beautiful. they also arranged a rose petal bath with candlelight around our plunge pool and it was so nice.

The spa is very competitively price and of high quality so i went for several massages there which is recommended.

Their big pool was also nice and we enjoyed swimming there. The plunge pool in the villa has for some reason rather cold water.

The food at the restaurant has room for improvement. it is ok but nothing more.

The receptionists should communicate better. I informed at check in we we would need the car for airport. they called the room day before checkout, my husband didnt rembember the time, so i called back and informed. then when i go to the gym they again ask when we need the car i inform again. And guess what after gym on my way back they ask again..

Normally on high class hotels they look in your passport to see when your birthday is and surpise you with a cake. It was my husbands birthday during our stay but no greetings were given.

Room Tip: stay in the luxury villa you wont regret it!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Madurai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

The major part of this property is the result of the conversion of what was originally company accommodation, then a British club, into a hotel complex. Some newer rooms and facilities have been added.
The basic rooms are in 2-storey blocks of around 6 units. Each room is very spacious, but rather sparsely equipped and decorated. A few modern touches and modest expenditure could transform them from a rather institutional feel to comfortable accommodation.
I would have rated the hotel averge overall, except for the food, which is remarkably good in choice, presentation and quality. However, the bar is surprisingly poor - it was empty while we were there, and no wonder. Spirits and cocktails are extortionately priced, well above anything we found elsewhere in a trip covering 10 locations, service is indifferent and unskilled, and the overall effect is distinctly unwelcoming. This is a great pity as it undermines what would otherwise be a superb dining experience.
Check out was rather inefficient, too much bustle, too many minor errors, too little customer focus.
With a small amount of management attention this could be a really excellent hotel, but it risks being left behind by some of its competitors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your praising review of our food which we are really proud of. Although you seemed to enjoy most aspects of your stay, we take our guests' feedback seriously and therefore would like you to know that we have investigated all shortcomings of your stay to help us improve our services!
With regards to our bar prices, In South India, no doubt we do strive to be the best Five Star accommodation available and with the praising guest comments we receive, we have been continuously informed that our pricing is reasonable. We cannot compete with properties in other locations which offer different levels of comfort and overall experience.
We apologise if the staff appeared not in form during your checkout and in the Restaurant, which is not acceptable and this will be brought up with them.
Thank you for sharing your review and the positive aspects of your stay!

I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Follow us on Twitter.

Yours in Service,

Srinith De Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Superb individual villas with plunge pools all set behind walls close to the centre of Madurai. Very good service and all the amenities of a modern hotel. A great place to stay in Madurai

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early February and the hotel is as good as previous reviewers have said. Great rooms, great service and excellent food. Complimentary wi-fi a boon. Despite being in the midst of a city of 3M+ the hotel is an oasis of calm. The only downside was the house red wine - avoid! We did not use, but the Spa had some interesting "offers" running.

Room Tip: It's a big site - ask for a room in one of the villa buildings near reception if available.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay, it made me very happy to read that overall you had a fantastic experience.
I must also thank you for your constructive feedback about the House red wine, please be assured that I shall investigate about the quality of this wine and I must also sincerely apologise, I hope that no inconvenience was caused and that your dinner experience was not impacted.
I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Follow us on Twitter.

Yours in Service,

Srinith De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We loved this hotel and the staff could not be more helpful. They provided free wifi and internet and when I was having trouble with a computer, someone gave me his personal laptop to use.
The chef managed to provide me with jackfruit for breakfast even though it was out of season - such personal service. Dinner and breakfast were a delicious extensive buffet which catered for all tastes and dinner was not expensive.

The rooms, with their plunge pools and huge bathrooms must be unique. We were shown a room decorated with rose petals and garlands for a honeymoon couple. It was beautiful.

The pool is large and very clean as is the whole hotel. The perfect place to stay in Madurai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueski09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai! We do appreciate your lovely comments on Trip Advisor with regard to your stay at Heritage Madurai. Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words. I will not miss to share your wonderful praise with my team.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours in Service,
Srinith De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This Hotel was once the Madura Club and has now been converted into a Heritage hotel. The Villa rooms are huuuge, so connected with the outside through large windows on all sides. They use a lot of eco-friendly material in the construction of the entire property: from roofing to the bathrooms, which makes the property look in sync with nature and its surroundings.

Food at the restaurant is excellent with a large choice for both breakfast and dinner. The chef Mr. Morais is a wonderful person who was a very responsive to a minor issue we had. Also Dr, Arun of the spa really made our stay comfortable, although we did not visit the spa. The staff is extremely polite and the property is bustling mostly with Westerners visiting Madurai. Will definitely stay here when in Madurai next...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernSpice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai! We do appreciate your lovely comments on Trip Advisor with regard to your stay at Heritage Madurai. Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words. I will not miss to share your wonderful praise with my team.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours in Service,
Srinith De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at the Heritage Madurai as part of a group tour of south India. Rooms are amazingly good, spacious and confortable. Bathrooms are huge with fantastic towels. All amenities are available, including a private small swimming pool (albeit with dirty - leaves - water). Toiletires are however standard. Food is ok but not particularly stunning. The disappointment comes at breakfast with a rather limited choice considering the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liveMadurai, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with me your feedback. I sincerely apologise that your experience was less than perfect and please be assured that I will share your feedback with the relevant department heads within the hotel.
Food is a very important aspect of Heritage Madurai and we take pride and enjoy offering our guests good food.

If you are returning to the hotel please contact me so that I may personally look after your booking and assist you during your stay.
I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Follow us on Twitter.

Yours in Service,

Srinith De Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.6 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
5.6 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
350 reviews
3.0 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
209 reviews
3.5 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range: $91 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing