We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Value for Money! Roof Top restaurant. Awesome Vegetarian food!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Supreme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Supreme
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Value for Money! Roof Top restaurant. Awesome Vegetarian food!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

You do get for what you pay!

+ve:

A very affordable hotel, well located centrally. A stone's throw away from the railway station, close to the Temple, market, restaurants, shopping places etc.

The hotel offers all services - Travel desk, Internet Cafe, Bar etc so one doesn't have to go out looking for these! Definitely value for Money.

Great Roof top restaurant, very good Vegetarian food!! Great starters - Recommend the Masala papad, Rajasthani bhindi, Chilli cheese toasts, Mix veg platter. Baked potato with Hot Garlic sauce, Crispy Dosas are a must-try.

Friendly & helpful staff.

Very Safe environment for family, kids & even single travellers, especially women.

-ve:

The interiors of the rooms & restaurant definitely need an upgrade. Quality & look of the Bedding & upholstery makes the whole place look old & un-cared for.

Selective Menu. More dishes must be offered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilesaway1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    50
    50
    37
    35
See reviews for
65
43
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Way too expensive for what they offer. Room was dirty (not super-dirty, but hardly clean) and not well furnished. Location was ok. Overall a fairly ugly place. I mean, not the worst by any means, but definitely not worth what they are charging.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Manager at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of our property.

We regret that your stay at our Hotel was below expectations. As informed to other reviewers earlier, we are in the process of having our rooms renovated, which will take a while.

Reg. the pricing, we will definitely take your view into consideration. We are confident that you will be satisfied during your next visit to our Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Hotel Supreme, Madurai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

There are some hotels where you never want to stay and they avoid. Nevertheless, we succeeded in this hotel chain. The rooms are terribly dirty, hot water between 0700 and 0900 hours and the staff is disinterested. If you can avoid so. What more can I say ...... The roof is also nice to have a beer and quite tasty to eat (if you are not too many demands on the food set). Please note the hotel operates a 24-hour system. Late check-out means another day to pay ....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Manager at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sir,

We are surprised by your review of our Hotel.

First of all, we are not a Hotel chain and ours is a single standing enterprise, based in Madurai.

Secondly, we always show a guest our rooms first. Only if they are satisfied, they would opt to take a room. Hence your comment of a 'terribly dirty' room, after check-in, seems ill-founded.

Thirdly, everyone knows the severe power crisis that is being faced in Tamil Nadu and the resultant power cuts. To that extent, we have put up a notice clearly stating that Hot Water will not be available round-the-clock and will only be available during certain timings.

Fourthly, almost all Hotels in Madurai have a 24-Hour system, which almost all travellers feel is a boon. A late check-out of 1 hour is not an issue at all and we offer the same to our customers, on request, depending on our booking status. I would be eager to know which Hotel offers complimentary late check-out for abnormal hours.

Lastly, we take pride in having an exhaustive veg. menu at our restaurant and no other veg. restaurant in Madurai will be able to match our detailed veg. menu. Hence your comment on 'not too many demands on the food set' seems ill-founded again! Nevertheless, we are pleased that you found our food tasty and our roof-top restaurant a nice place to have a beer in.

A previous reviewer has given very sound advice to all travellers. Travellers will have a better time at any place when they learn the ability to adapt. Amen!

Thanks & best regards,

Hapin Lalan,
Hotel Supreme, Madurai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was on a business trip to Madurai and had to check into the hotel early morning. Hotel is moderately priced. They do offer some discount for corporates. This is a vegetarian hotel an offers complimentary breakfast though very less variety makes it not that great incentive. But like other hotels in South, the South Indian food is Good. The hotel offers free WiFi internet access so that a big plus since we have WiFi on our mobiles and laptop. The Hotel is little old and has not been renovated recently. For Non Veg food there is one Restaurant recently opened which offers good food at pretty decent prices - these are good options for Lunch and Dinner for those who would like some Non Veg options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeofdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

An ugly hotel, targeting businessmen and indian tourists more than westerners or so it seems.
Expensive, all aircon rooms with a moldy and smoky smell, and not very clean sheet and pillows.
The kids who stayed on an extra mattress on the floor (which smelled very stall and looked awful) caught bed bugs even though we put them in our own sleeping bag sheets.
Complimentary breakfast that is alright.

We shorten our stay because we couldn't face another night like that.

1 advatage though : 1 day is counted as 24hrs, so arriving late in the evening allows you to stay till late the next day.

Also the rooftop restaurant is famous for dhosa, which are delicious and cheap.

Room Tip: don't even think of asking for an extrabed! Squeeze in the main one if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Manager at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sir,

We regret to learn that your stay at our premises was not upto expectations and apologize for the same.

We appreciate your positive experience at our roof-top restaurant.

Please note, other reviewers at Tripadvisor itself have complained before that we give better service to foreigners and do not pay attention to Indians. It's a first time that we have received a complaint that we are not paying attention to westerners. Sir, we have never discriminated between our customers and will never ever do so. Different people have different expectations and we genuinely regret that we have not been able to match your expectations.

Reg. the sheets and pillows, we have asked the respective dept. head to check and replace the linen wherever required.

Reg. the bed-bugs, we have stressed in an earlier review that the bed-bugs are unknowingly brought into rooms, luggage & beds by various travellers travelling on the Indian Railways (the Madurai-Bangalore-Madurai train is a good example) but we take all precautions to control this menace which is not in our hands. We routinely take pest-control measures to safeguard our guests but unfortunately you have had a very unpleasant experience. Apologies!

We have taken note of all your complaints and will ensure that future guests to our hotel do not face such problems.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Hotel Supreme, Madurai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We visited Madurai and booked this hotel online. The location is good and usually filled with foreigners. The rooftop view is good. There are lot of autos available to take you around and has a decent parking place. The staff are very friendly and food is good. The rooms are small and we felt it was not worth the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms let you have a view of the temple gopuram but the roof top resturant itself gives a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Our staff reciprocate your appreciation and are happy that their efforts have been acknowledged.

Reg. our prices, we are at par with other Hotels in the same category in Madurai but our services far exceed them. Irrespective of it, we have noted your opinion and we will definitely take the same into consideration.

We welcome you to our Hotel again in the future and we will sincerely take all efforts to ensure that you get a better experience every time.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Hotel Supreme, Madurai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here one night in april 2010. I had a big room with 2 beds all to myself. All was decent and clean enough.
I had dinner at the rooftop, which was nice. Breakfast in the downstairs cafe wasn't really worth it.

You can easily walk to the temple from the hotel.

I thought the hotel is a bit pricey compared to other hostels.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Hotel Supreme, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Our Housekeeping staff are happy that their efforts have been appreciated. Our Roof-Top Restaurant staff are also appreciative of your experience here. Our staff at our A/C Restaurant would like to know the areas where they have been unable to satisfy you and also the areas of improvement so that we can give our guests a better experience in the future.

Reg the breakfast spread, we believe that we have a better spread than our competitors in the same category. But you are welcome to give us your suggestions to help us in improving the same.

Reg. the price, we are at par or lesser than our competitors in the same category, in Madurai, and enjoy a goodwill of almost 25 years in the hospitality industry but we are unable to comment on Hotel prices in other cities. But your observation on our prices will definitely be taken under consideration.

All in all, the management and staff of Hotel Supreme sincerely appreciate your honest opinion. Wish you happy travelling and hope that you do give us further chances to serve you better in the future. Looking forward to seeing you again.

- Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#21 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#8 of 54 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
1.0 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 54 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Supreme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supreme

Property: Hotel Supreme
Address: 110, West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supreme 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Supreme, established in 1988, has the very First Roof Top Restaurant and the only hi-tech Spaceship Bar, Apollo '96, in the City. Hotel Supreme is located in the Heart of the City. It's near the Railway Station, Central Bus Stand, 12 kms. Away from the Airport, 8 kms. From Mattuthavani Bus Stand & walkable distance to the Meenakshi Temple. We have 69 well appointed Centralized Standard A/C, Super Deluxe and Suite Rooms with attached bath, running Hot & Cold water, Telephone & Satellite TV facilities. High speed Wi-Fi Internet access is being offered complimentary to all our patrons. We have Two Veg. Multi-Cuisine Restaurants - an A/c Restaurant & an open-air Roof-Top Restaurant. We are proud to say that ours is the tallest building in the city providing an aesthetic view of the Great Meenakshi Temple from our Roof-Top. Other Facilities - Money Changing, Conference/Banquet Halls, Travel Desk, Communication Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Supreme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supreme Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing