We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located and nice property”
Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very well located and nice property”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Its a good hotel if you are traveling by train and visiting Meenakshi Temple. Its very near to the railway station and the temple is also not far. The rooms were nice and clean. The food was tasty. The chef was a very nice guy, he cooked customized food for my kid who was not well.
All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    118
    59
    16
    22
See reviews for
111
54
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is recommended for a no-frills, average-cost, comfortable stay in the centre of the city. Royal Court doesn't pretend to be a classy hotel, and so you're never disappointed.

The hotel is just a 10-15 minute walk from the Meenakshi Temple and very close to the train station as well. I stayed for 2 nights (November 2011). I found everyone, from the doorman to the reception staff, eager to help.

The rooftop restaurant is a nice spot for pleasant dinners, though be warned, they do not serve alcohol. The food is nothing remarkable though.

Although the buffet is included, I ordered breakfast in my room the day I checked out because I needed to leave early. They did not charge me for breakfast, and I appreciated that gesture.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkingCrampsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed in hotel for a day. The 24 hours check out it plus point. From hotel room size and provisions you can sat that the hotel might be good at sometime but is not maintained well. The rooms are not very clean and evidence of previous stay could be found around. The room rates are on the higher side for the cleanliness. The staff needs to be more professional. They don't seem to be willing to extend the support for cusomers. I complaint for loss of mobile and to my surprise when I checked out there was no assurance( even no mention of complaint) that they would look for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel. The first time was last year march. Stayed for 3 nights. It was quite well maintained. Comfortable bed and the rooms are clean. Breakfast provided. Free wifi available at the lobby area. The highlight of this hotel would be the food.We had buffet lunch and i have to admit that the food here is very tasty compared to the other hotels that i've tried. Wide variety of vegetarian selections and it was really good. Good location as it was quite near to the Meenakshi temple and Madurai town.Overall, We had a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanusya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

we arrived at the royal court after leaving the Madurai Residency in disgust, so we had no room booking and were very flustered .As it was after 7pm, and we had a yelling toddler in tow, I was not looking forward to check in, or waiting for my daughter to negotiate a price. However, everything was wonderful. The lobby is great, lovely and cool, and check in was over in a flash, it was no problem we could not produce our passports straight away, the desk staff were great, happy to wait until we had got ourselves calmed down. The luggage was whisked up to the room, and room service offered immediatly. We paid Rs3000 for two adults and one child, including breakfast. The room was lovely, with a large window, decent bathroom with tub, and huge comfortable bed. It was very clean, and the linen was also fresh.
Breakfast here is fine. There is a large selection of buffet dishes, both hot and cold, indian and european style food and lovely poori, but unfortunatly no dosa.

We had intended to stay for a few days here to visit the temples etc, but we stayed for a week. We found the room sevice to be great, with no delays, and delicious food at reasonable prices. We had some clothing returned from the laundry, and one shirt was discoloured,when we showed it to the house keeping manager, Mr Sadik, he apologised profusely, gave us the value of the shirt without question and sent us a bowl of fruit to apologise. Wonderful. Mr Sadik went out of his way , as we were two ladies and a baby, to make sure our trip was enjoyable. He made sure rickshaw drivers charged us the right fare, had the room cleaned from top to bottom when we asked the cleaner to remove some dirt from behind the door to make sure the baby was kept clean. He even bought the baby a gift when we left as we had become friendly.

I get the impression this is more of a one night business hotel than a holiday hotel, but we found it to be flawless. I would definatly recommend it to anyone coming to Madurai for any reason. The location is good,hotel is great, food is good , staff are fantastic, especially Mr Sadik.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneekygreeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Royal court is located very close to the railway station. It is also 10 minutes walk to the Meenakshi temple.

Hotel interior design is very impressive. Rooms have good quality furnishings. Beds are really of king size and the blankets were clean. For the price, the rooms are really well maintained.

The restaurant service is good. Food was delicious, but little over priced.

Overall, the hotel is little high priced. But classy facilities offered to match the price. location is the big plus for royal court.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roggletoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I am a 40 year old professor from Canada. An international development group of colleagues and I stayed at the Royal Court for 2 nights. It was a clean hotel with nice rooms, good satellite tv and decent food. The service was very good. This was not a 5-star, not comparable to the top-notch hotels in India, but then again, this was much much cheaper than those hotels. Furthermore, this hotel was close to the center of town, easy walking distance to the markets, and very very close to the the beautiful temple complex. I'm cynical about tourist sites but the temples of Madurai really took my breath away, one of the most remarkable things I have seen (and I have travelled around the world). Anyway, I would not hesitate to stay here again given the good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,300 reviews
0.8 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
199 reviews
0.4 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
2.5 km away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
3.5 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing