We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
20
22
13
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
22
13
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy pillowsattached restaurantf brailway stationmadurai templethe ground floordosareceptionmrrs
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here between 26-27th February & had a pleasant stay
The Rooms: We booked two rooms (pictured below). The rooms were very spacious & clean. Bathrooms were good as well. They've a safe deposit box, a TV (but no hindi channels haha) 2 mirrors (a full length & regular), kettle,towels & toiletries.
The location : The hotel is located at a distance of 1km from Meenakshi Amman temple. There are plenty of other restaurants, ATMs, medical store & shops nearby.
The management : Everyone was courteous, friendly & helpful right from the watchman to the reception to the bell boys.
The food : The only meal we had here was breakfast. It had a modest spread of Idli, upma, dosa & omlettes (on made to order basis), kesari toast & cornflakes. They make tea coffee as well as & when you need it. The options were less & the food, average. The restaurant has a seating capacity of 16 pax only. Plus it takes time to make dosas / omlettes. So needs improvement on that front.
But all in all the stay was really good. Look forward to coming back here soon.
Thanks.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank PriyankaV237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018

Wouldn't pay more than 1000 for a night here.The pictures the management has posted are misleading. Room was small and claustrophobic.All it had was one tiny window facing the wall! Bathroom didn't even have a bucket! Had an antiquated Ac unit which kept switching on/off at night.What made matters worse was room didn't even have a fan.Safe wasn't working either.The bald guy at the reception was rude and unhelpful.This is one of the worst hotels i ever stayed at.

Room Tip: avoid it completely
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beetle004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpletreeWestMarret, General Manager at West Marret Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Dear Sir., Greetings from Purpletree Place West Marret! Thank you for sharing your feedback that has inspired us to reevaluate our services and implement remedial measures wherever necessary. We strive to transform every aspect of a guest’s stay into a revitalizing experience and regret to learn about the glitches that marred your stay. Please be assured that our flawless hospitality has earned us many laurels and we request you to treat your recent visit as an aberration rather than the norm at our hotel. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We assure you that your next visit will be replete with only comfort and pleasant moments. Stay Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

This hotel has grubby rooms, which are not thoroughly cleaned. The bathrooms, in particular, have soap scum and filth on all glass surfaces and round floor fittings such as doors and toilet base. Sheers and towels were grubby and worn. Breakfast was served in a dusty room with a view out onto a filthy light well with a few straggly looking potted plants. The service at breakfast was slow and the food overcooked. I had finished my breakfast and had to wait for my tea to appear. All the while, there was shouting and yelling going on behind a grubby curtain which separates the kitchen from the public dining room. I had to call the hotel twice to confirn the booking and on both occasions the phone was answered by someone who could not speak english and who hung up on me. On check out, we were overcharged and ended up paying twice for one night. The woman at reception was rude and unhelpful and continually spoke over me. I do not enjoy having my holiday spoilt by poor service, poor accommodation and dishonesty.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpletreeWestMarret, General Manager at West Marret Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dear Sir.,

Greetings from Purpletree Place West Marret!

Thank you for sharing your feedback that has inspired us to reevaluate our services and implement remedial measures wherever necessary. We strive to transform every aspect of a guest’s stay into a revitalizing experience and regret to learn about the glitches that marred your stay. Please be assured that our flawless hospitality has earned us many laurels and we request you to treat your recent visit as an aberration rather than the norm at our hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We assure you that your next visit will be replete with only comfort and pleasant moments.

Stay Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

Staff count is not sufficient to manage the hotel. Housekeeping and cleaning needs to be improved to better customer services. Location is very ideal and is walking distance to Meenakshi Amman temple.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srinical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpletreeWestMarret, General Manager at West Marret Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Dear Sir.,

Greetings from Purpletree Place West Marret!

Thank you for sharing your feedback that has inspired us to reevaluate our services and implement remedial measures wherever necessary. We strive to transform every aspect of a guest’s stay into a revitalizing experience and regret to learn about the glitches that marred your stay. Please be assured that our flawless hospitality has earned us many laurels and we request you to treat your recent visit as an aberration rather than the norm at our hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We assure you that your next visit will be replete with only comfort and pleasant moments.

Stay Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

One of the worst and dirtiest hotels i have ever stayed in, honestly disgusting.

There was no toilet roll or towels in the room on arrival

Every wall and surface was grubby and marked

Nearly everything was broken or had a dodgy repair effort attempted on it : chain lock for door, bedside lamps, towel rail, bathroom sink

The bathroom was disgusting, it made me feel like showering was a waste of time as you had to go in there, by the time you got out the shower back to your bed your feet were black with dirt. The bathroom sink was made of rotting wood and had a terrible repair job done on the tap leaving it wonky with silicone everywhere

The safe was locked shut by a previous guest

They provided a kettle and 2 cups yet no tes or coffee not that i would have drunk of the gross stained cups

There were few people there and the staff all hung out on the first floor dining area shouting at eachother down the corridor or deciding to do their tasks like sweeping at midnight which keeps you awake.

Woke me up both mornigs at 7:30 to tell me breakfast was ready despite it being open until 10:30 on the second day they rang multiple times as if to say hurry up so they didnt have to wait. Couldnt speak a word of english so didn't understand i didnt want to eat there.

The only plus was the reception staff, Location and the moderately comfy bed.

Have hoestly stayed in better hostels that are 1/10th of the price paid here

Wouldnt go back if you paid me

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kieron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpletreeWestMarret, General Manager at West Marret Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Dear Sir.,

Greetings from Purpletree Place West Marret!

Thank you for sharing your feedback that has inspired us to reevaluate our services and implement remedial measures wherever necessary. We strive to transform every aspect of a guest’s stay into a revitalizing experience and regret to learn about the glitches that marred your stay. Please be assured that our flawless hospitality has earned us many laurels and we request you to treat your recent visit as an aberration rather than the norm at our hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We assure you that your next visit will be replete with only comfort and pleasant moments.

Stay Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews