We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Lovedale
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

It has a good location,nice landscape n our room had really great view f the valley bt I wud say the resort us overpriced.also their food s costly.so it's btr u don't eat much frm der.der r a lot f steps to climb to reach their rooms.so it will be tough if u go with infants.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Reeba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This is probably one of the best properties in Ooty to stay. The location is very convenient and well connected by road. The views are mind blowing and the landscaping is done very tastefully and artistically. It is very neat and clean and well maintained. The other important point is the food. They have the most amazing and tasty almost home cooked food. The service is good and all the staff was very helpful. I work under recommend the premium suites for the views of the valley. One fair warning is that since the resort is on the hill you will have to walk up some inclines and steps and hence can be difficult for elder people or people with disabilities. Otherwise I loved the place and definitely going back next time when I am in Ooty. Keep up the good work and my compliments to the chef.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ajay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Located in a perfect valley setting, that is all this resort is about. Campfires are nice! Workers organising campfire are local people who are fun!

But very poor management. Frontdesk guys do not help out in absolutely anything. They did not help us in planning our visits when we did not know the places. I asked for a candlelight setting, they gave an outright answer "no". Did not even try setting up something for us. We had to go for the toy train, hence we had to start by 8. They did not get us anything in our so-called "complimentary breakfast" as they claimed nothing was ready before 8. We were ready to just have some bread and leave. They refused to offer anything before 8. It was a serious disappointment.

Delux rooms have no view of valley. Aged people will find it very difficult because you have to climb up stairs in the hillock for going to restaurant or parking.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sreenivas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Very very poor. The front desk staff or their back end team in Chennai don't show any interest in your needs nor are they welcoming. The hotel is constructed on a steep mountain there by making it very difficult to move from room to Restuarant and parking place. Absolutely No No for people with aged parents. So many issues that it's better not to mention.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Rohinib88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This resort is much before the city nestled away in the hills. The rooms are spacious. Ask for rooms with the hill view. The food service at the cafeteria is decent though the room service has very limited options. It's a sprawling location with a separate play area for the kids and indoor sports for adults only missing a pool. The food I am not sure is really worth the price and is really expensive. But if you really don't mind the price - go for it. The location is great and you can have a good family time

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank P2k1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This property is located in lovedale area of Ooty. On GPS google maps you will have to search sagar resorts to reach this property....not sure why it is not listed.
Well it is very well managed and have large open area for kids and family. At 7000 per night I found it little expensive as compared to other equally good repute resorts in Ooty. Upto 5k per night is reasonable for this. People with arthritis may find it difficult to manoeuvre or walk around as it is build around 3 mini hills and there is quite walking from car park to room and restaurant for breakfast. But young kids will enjoy it.
The rooms are very big and have almost all facilities to call them as service apartment rooms. Try to get valley facing room for a blissful morning view from bed . The Ooty city centre and market is about 3 km and its an advantage to stay here. We stayed for 3 nights here and did not face any issue on service . Suggestion is that keep a battery torch handy while walking around in property as in night the street lights here are not very powerful.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Napoleon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Away from the hustle bustle of Ooty but yet close to all the vantage points is Hill Country Lovedale.

The landscaping of the resort enhances it's beauty manifold.

We had been towards the end of the season but we're able to catch breathtaking views from the windows....cloud cladded valley....Since Lovedale is situated at high altitude, early morning one would experience the feeling of walking through the clouds.

We had booked 2 premium cottages on 1 st floor which were very spacious with all facilities like tea/ coffee maker, refrigerator, sofa, writing desk etc.

Food was good but choices were bit limited in beverages and starters.

Staff were very cordial and are trained to ensure that your stays become a pleasant one.

One thing the hotel could improve upon is providing facilities for indoor games.

Overall, a must try place....if you are a lover of nature.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank jaz-rath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
3.2 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
574 reviews
4.6 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,083 reviews
2.7 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,248 reviews
4.3 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
703 reviews
4.1 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Lovedale

Address: Grand Duff Road, Valley View | Lovedale, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $92 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hill Country Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Lovedale India/Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing