We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting Hill station”
Review of Hotel Silver Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Oak
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting Hill station”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I enjoyed the stay here because the rooms were very clean and well maintained. The service was very good. And also the location was nice.

I would recommend others to visit and stay here. The vegetarian food available is excellent and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadictribesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It is a neat and clean hotel with tidy rooms , but unfortunately during our visit the kitchen was being repaired so we could get breakfast in 1 hour and that too cold but they were accepting the problem

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel during our Honeymoon trip to Ooty. We stayed in the Executive room. The room was very neat, clean and spacious with a very nice interior design. Bathroom was very clean. The room service was good and the Veg Resturant (Samukha's) serves delicious food but the prices are a bit high. They also have a shop in the ground floor which sells Nilgiri products. These producta price are cheaper as compared to the other shops, selling the same products around Ooty.
The only thing we didnt like about this hotel was the sound of the motor which they switch on very early in the morning (4 AM) to pump water. The sound was very irritating
Overall, a very good experince and i would like to suggest this hotel to the travellers looking for a good budget hotel

Room Tip: Try the Executive room, its comfortable or Choose a Deluxe room if budget is a constraint
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed with my large family in this hotel in end July 2011. The hotel cottages and delux rooms were neat and clean and in working order. The front desk was courteous and helpful. The hotel restraunt was good. The hotel property is small and the room views are just OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnburton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hi,
This hotel is well maintained one. Though it is a small hotel with small size rooms but
rooms are good to stay. Room interiors are nice and scented. Bathroom was in good condition with proper lighting and ventilation. view from the room window is OK.
Hot water available only in morining and night thru central heating system (no individual
water heaters).
This accomodation is good for max 2 days stay only becoz it is a small hotel. It doesnt have
lawn or garden or other time spending activities.
Regarding hotel employees: Our attendant was polite n helpful. Manager was full of attitude.
No smile on the Manager's face.
In the early morning lots of noise(electric machine) was there for two hours. when i complaint it to manager, he did not react to it at all.

Hotel is located near to city but still no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Cottages are much better than rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajanmanhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

As i expected that reviews about the hotel will be correct but it was wrong, as that hotel was hopeless, i faced many cases of theft over there, my Rs3000/- went missing on the very first day when i went for the dinner as my wife kept her handbag in the room & after returning to the room money wasn't there in the purse, then after 2 days my spectacle went missing from the room when we went for the dinner. We informed about this to the manager at the reception but he blamed us both the times that we have left our specs somewhere & money must be stolen on the way to the hotel, & conduct of the receptionist was not at all good towards us, it appeared as he was bias towards north indians. Later on we approached the general manager he said that he'll check this in the CCTV videos & we went for the sight seeing, when we came back in the evening, the manager told us that general manager has checked it in the videos & it shows that nobody went to your room. On the very next day, we had a personal meeting with the general manager but he contradicted that their CCTV is not working & he doesn't have the password to log into the CCTV application. I won't recommend this hotel to anybody, as my experience in this hotel was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meghshyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

hi, had gone for anniversary on 23-26 june from bangalore. had actually booked their honeymoon package.
ended up reaching at 5 am but were checked in within 5min, though in a different room from pic but since we were gng on day tour did not mind. first day was ooty-connore trip. nice one with a friendly careful driver. enjoyed it though reached late eve at boathouse & boating had ended. back at hotel got room changed for a better view, no hassles, quickly. rooms were clean, comfortable, cosy with fresh bed linen, hot water.
2nd day was filmi chakkar trip. enjoyed at pine forest, rest of trip was ok. driver was helpful but a bit rash. suggest u skip this tour as pykara falls had no water & boating was boring ( pedal boats were not available & speed boat had a closed cabin). had lunch at pykara falls which was horrible.none of hotels were clean. better to get food packed from ooty.
3rd day was free day, so again went to boat house. enjoyed. had lunch there only. food was ok. had noodles & fried rice. Revisited rose garden in the evening. a nice drizzile had set in. had a nice time.
since the package was over checked out & had kept bags at cloak room. departure was at 10pm, so decided to go fo shopping to ooty. this is part which we regretted as it started raining with slushy, dirty roads & nothing good to buy. ended up buying choclates at "jai's kingstar" ( many places with name "kingstar", tried them all but best was this one, situated beside domino's pizza). nice varieties with free samples, ended up purchasing many different types.
since had time to spare, came back to hotel & the helpful manager enquired & provided us with a room to rest & also summoned auto to reach bus stand.
over all, excellent hotel with good rooms, helpful & friendly staff. since had booked a package, had food at their sumukha's kitchen restaurant. food was really good (though only veg), nice decor( much better than the pics) reasonably priced compared to good hotels at bangalore with surprisingly quick service. suggest u enquire regarding spiceness of dish as got really spicy veg kadai on first day.
definately recommend staying in the hotel & food at their restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmanish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.5 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,173 reviews
0.3 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#3 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
2.7 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#48 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
1.8 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
970 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Oak

Property: Hotel Silver Oak
Address: Ettines Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silver Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Oak India/Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing