We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanx Ponmari, You made our stay in Ooty memorable!”
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponmari Residencyy
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I, along with my family of 6 other members, stayed at Ponmari Residency for two nights in the first week of April 2012. Having done extensive research through Internet on the best, yet affordable hotel in Ooty, I zeroed in on Ponmari. I had to wait till the last couple of days to book accommodation for various reasons and when I tried to book rooms, the web site of Ponmari flashed an error message citing cutoff date for accommodation. I immediately called Ponmari and they asked me to e-mail them making a formal request for accommodation which I did, to which there was PROMPT reply from Mr. Rajendran of Ponmari requesting me to deposit some advance money for confirmation of accommodation and again, I called Ponmari and the officer, Mr. Hakeem, was very kind enough to say that “NO NEED TO PAY ANY ADVANCE” and that he has “BLOCKED” a couple of rooms based on the already placed request via e-mail. When we reached Ooty (Ponmari), everything was perfectly in place for us. Of course, they did not have such huge rooms to accommodate all of us in one single room (in fact, no hotel claims to have). We were charged just one extra bed that too for just one night and were given a discount of one-night extra bed. Throughout our stay, the staff right from security to room service were really helpful, polite, attending to our requests immediately, and going to whatever extent possible to keep us happy. The only downside was that the “Royal Standard Room” that I stayed in got a bit stuffy during nighttime and it was a bit difficult to have a good night’s sleep. On the whole, we had an exciting trip and wonderful stay at Ponmari. Thank you Ponmari people, you made our stay a memorable one and I, for sure, would recommend this cozy, yet reasonably priced hotel. I did not try their multi-cuisine restaurant because I am a strict vegetarian and no opinions there.

Room Tip: Go for the room facing the city. There is a nice playground with the hill background. Lovely sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaheshSundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 1 night.the front desk was very helpful as we arrived 1 day later than our expected date of arrival. The front desk was very prompt in arranging rooms for us for the same price as our reserved rooms.rooms very very comfortable and there was nice hot water in the morning.service in the hotel was excellent, however,there was an incident with the restaurant staff which had put us off. as my family members sat down for lunch and inquired about the meals on the menu, 1 of the staff was very rude and we walked out of the restaurant. however, 1 gentelman (i am not sure if he is the manager /owner) came to us and personally apologised for his staff's behaviour. but as we returned for dinner that night, we were given excellent service, although the it did take some time for the food to arrive.
otherwise we had a good stay and we hope they continue to maintain the standard of their rooms ad services

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Premalatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

the rooms are well maintained but food is extremely bad you must eat some where else

Room Tip: left side rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shasha1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We turned up and there was a problem with the booking due to someone elses mistake and they could not have been more helpful with sorting it all out. When we did manage to get to stay at the hotel, the rooms were really clean, the service continued to be amazing - efficient, friendly and well beyond what most other hotels would provide. We were so impressed I promised to put my first review on TripAdvisor and here it is. Stay here and you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I and my wife, along with our 2 years old son had stayed at Ponmari Residency during last week of January 2012. The TripAdvisor reviews prompted me to choose this hotel and we didn’t get disappointed at all with that.
We took their royal honey suit, which was pretty big (including a big glass window), clean, well decorated and with all the necessary amenities you would expect. Toilet was good, big and hygienic.

Room service was very prompt and the in house multi cuisine restaurant served very good food. We observed even visitors from other hotels to have their dinner here (that too in winter).

The room heater is not included in the standard room tariff, but one can get it by paying Rs 300/- per day (which I think is in the higher side).

Location: It is located just next to the Breeks Field stadium and just 5 minutes walk from the Charring Cross junction, which is one of main shopping hub. The Ooty botanical garden is also about 10 minutes walking from the hotel.

Over all we had a very good and comfortable time in Ponmari, and would definitely like to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Booking Tip: If you are making an advance booking, just don’t bank on verbal confirmation (make some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KalyanBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed only one night in Jan 2012. The hotel sits on a main road, it's a bit noisy. The rooms are simple, and cold. It was freezing and they do not heat the rooms. If you want a heater, you have to pay extra 300 rupee or the night. There was plenty hot water and I even took a bath. The bath room looks molded, and needs urgently new paint. Breakfast was not good. Overal it's not the best choice in Ooty.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Ponmari Residency in Ooty is a nice place to stay with your family. South Indian Food were good. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and families. :) Room quality was good except the television.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiru_Kiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
637 reviews
0.5 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
2.1 km away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
202 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
812 reviews
0.7 km away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#29 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Address: 26 D | Charring Cross, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $46 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing