We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing about OOTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Derby Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is perhaps one of the few club mahindra property which is right in the middle of the town and not far away, and that perhaps is its greatest let down. The reason is while the resort is great (perhaps the best in town), the city itself is amazingly dirty. I was taken aback by open urination my men despite the government trying its best to build multiple toilets in the town. The lake was great but there was lot of crowd and exactly a cozing setting we were looking for.
Now for the property. Great staff, clean rooms, good food. Nice bon-fire and music at nights. Activity centre was great too. So were the trips to connor. Though i would say avoid the toy train it looses charm after first 15minutes of the ride and become more like a chore.
I liked Connor, looks like munnar and way cleaner than ooty.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Chander D,

Thank you for your amazing review and we are absolutely thrilled to know that you had an amazing Club Mahindra experience. Nothing inspires us more than knowing that our members had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and their expectations were met. Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We have shared your feedback with the team, whose efforts have made this possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Club Mahindra Derby Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Centrally located and easily accessible. Very friendly , courteous and helpful staff. It appeared that club mahindra has had a re-look at its restaurant business model. It has much better offers and packages as compared to the earlier times of high price and low quality ...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank subithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear subithb,

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your recent visit to our resort. Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We have shared your feedback with the team, whose efforts have made this possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Located near main bus stand. Tourist places like Rose garden, Ooty lake, Botanical garden etc. are nearby. The staff members are very friendly. Even though the rooms we stayed are of average size, the property is well maintained. Neat and clean toilets. Almost all the indoor & outdoor activities are charged. Felt the charges of some activities as very high (especially adventure activities). In house dining was OK.. Breakfast menu was very good. Dinner menu needs improvement, as the selection of non-veg items are very limited.

Room Tip: Select rooms at Bermuda Roses or Bourbon
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StanleyPaulK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear StanleyPaulK,

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your recent visit to our resort. We endeavor to create memorable experiences to take home and I’m glad that we could be of service to you. At the same time, we have made a note of the feedback you’ve shared and will definitely look into it.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is a nice property, located very close to the main bus stand, with a pleasant view and a good garden lawn and play zone. But the room size is small as compared to most other Club Mahindra properties.

Room Tip: Book a room size bigger than actual requirement
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pracs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Dear pracs16,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It makes us immensely happy to know that you have had a wonderful stay at our property. We’ll definitely share your appreciations with our team and it truly motivates us!

We value your patronage and are looking forward for another opportunity to be of service to you. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this resort! It was an incredible experience. The rooms were average size but comfortable and always clean! There is so much to do on the premises. The staff members are friendly and always willing to assist with tours and advice about Ooty!

However the ONLY negative are the hidden costs and taxes upon taxes which CUTS INTO YOUR BUDGET! The spa treatments are awesome and well worth it! Again the quote is totally different at check out!
Another negative is that no money is taken on the premises everything is charged to the room! So dining, buying things at the shop are all charged to your room. Upon check out our bill had so many errors and when we requested a proper bill. It was not provided and we had to review and at the end pay for things which we did not agree to!
Its a great property BUT there are too many negatives...


Stayed: August 2016
Thank Sumitra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear TigerBabz,

Thank you for taking time to review us. It gives us immense pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the resort and its amenities. We also want to apologize for the difficulties you faced during your stay. We will have this discussed with immediate effect to take corrective measures and improvise.

We hope to welcome you again at our resorts and give us another chance to serve you. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This being a heritage property does not offer any view at all. Rooms/units are too small to be convenient. Resort is of course very well maintained but still it is not really worth to be called a resort. Staff is very nice, evening activities are really good but still not worth a stay if you really wish to enjoy beauty of hills. This is just few meters from main bus stand and Railway Station of Ooty.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with view of Ooty town
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajnesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Rajnesh D,

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your recent visit to our resort. We endeavor to create memorable experiences to take home and I’m glad that we could be of service to you. At the same time, we have made a note of the feedback you’ve shared and will definitely look into it.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

After reading all the negative reviews with a doubtful mind I entered the resort...check in was fast ...valet parking...nice atmosphere ...nice view of ooty ......good layout ...good rooms and lawns ..buffet breakfast seems average to taste and spread ...
We were happy being here ... enjoyed ooty toy train ......if u r a member should visit this place

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Drbaiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Drbaiju,

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your recent visit to our resort. Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We have shared your feedback with the team, whose efforts have made this possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.2 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
1.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,201 reviews
1.6 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
1.8 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
1.4 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29 - 49 Baikey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $75 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing