We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean hotel. Perfect location for Taj Mahal”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Modern, clean hotel. Perfect location for Taj Mahal”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is perfectly located 100m past the ticket office 400m short of the East Gate of the Taj Mahal (which is supposed to have the shortest queues!)
It is modern, well equipped, with clean comfortable rooms of international standard.
The roof terrace is a relaxation area with pool and the terrace restaurant has live music on most nights but it was a bit cool when we were there in February to enjoy them to the full.
The Ground Floor restaurant was busy when we were there for two nights and food was good enough we never felt the need to dine out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tonybut2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    607
    288
    78
    70
See reviews for
374
571
86
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

When it comes to Agra, it is rather difficult to find a hotel that is of a good standard and well located. The Taj Mahal Hotel is within 500 metres of the Taj gates. This is indeed its best drawcard. You can either walk there (turn immediately right on leaving the hotel) or catch the open cart transport system (similar to what you see at Disneyworld). This is really convenient when the best start time for the Taj Mahal is early morning (around 6am)!
The rooms are very basic but did have an international powerpoint. The internet is slow. The elevator was not working so we needed to carry our bags up a number of flights of steps. The hotel is rather steep and narrow.
Whilst we were there they were doing renovations to a rooftop restaurant. Overall the sights from this location are limited but you can see the roof and gardens of the Taj Mahal. It also provides a feeling of space and luxury in an otherwise basic clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthmumPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Arriving at 4:00 we checked in and went to out room which was in the basement directly underneat the lobby. Dropping our bags we went for a walk then back to the hotel for bed. At 9:00PM the most horrid screeching and scrawling came from the lobby overhead....then came the constant patter patter patter of feet stomping, patter patter then for stomping. I went up to the lobby and it was filled with grinning and gwaking people watching a child swirl and jump up and down in a frenzied fit while his father drew a bow across what looked to be a 2X4 with a metal wire attached. I complained to the managment about the noise and he said the 'musicial show' would end at midnight!!!!!
I insisted that we be moved but to no avail. The next day we were moved to another room. The wi-fi didn't work. Complained to management. "Works" he said. 'No work', I said, "work" he said. Then two other people joined me to complain then he said "technician called to fix". I asked why he'd called a technician to fix something that 'worked'. He walked away.
Food in the restaurant was filthy and foul and the coffee burnt. Anyway, the three day stay here was a horror story.

Room Tip: Here's how to get a good room. Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R Ramey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This place was 150 EUR for 2 nights. I am so glad I went on Friday night to Agra so that I could be up EARLY and beat the morning crowds which really fill up by 10AM. (BTW GO to the Taj by 7AM.) Hotel is not near anything in Agra exc the Taj. Very convenient to walk to and from the Taj on your own.

Hotel was OK, terrible water pressure in the shower but the bed was OK and food was OK. Room was clean. BUT CHECK YOUR FRONT DOOR FOR CRACKS. I noticed that you could see right into my room through a few holes in the wooden door. I am not fond of peeping Toms! Also the doors and windows are so thin, it can be really noisy at night. BRING EAR PLUGS!

Wi-Fi only good on the ground floor, hence lots of guests hanging out there in the lobby. Pool is really small and was too cold to swim. Dont believe what they say about the VIEW of the Taj from the roof. You cant see a thing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welovemaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in a basement room which was comfortable if a little dark. Slightly mixed feelings - on arriving at 4am from the station and asking to sleep in a chair until dawn at the Taj and check-in early for that night, the receptionist offered us a chance to shower in a vacant room, which was really kind and much appreciated. The manager then spoilt it by asking for payment for two nights when we returned from the Taj. When we refused he threatened to take it out of the receptionist's salary - when really he should be promoting him for good Public Relations! Overall reasonable for the price (5000 rupees) given the proximity to the Taj.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are quite dark so you may prefer the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The rooms were decently clean and we only stayed one night. The rooftop was very nice with a small view of the Taj Mahal. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. However, I do have one big complaint. I slept quite poorly because of how much noise we could hear from the hallways in our room. I can't completely blame the hotel because there was a load of teenagers on a trip staying in the hotel together. Through the night, I could hear every door slam, phone ring, and girls and guys laughing and screaming down the hallway. I could also hear every time the hotel staff came up to tell them to quiet down, so I cannot say they didn't try. The walls are quite thin though. Our friends who stayed a floor down didn't hear anything.

Location was good, a short drive to all the sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieBoJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hotel checked us in early and we were able to move rooms easily when we smelt sewage in our room. Hotel staff friendly and food ok although my friend and u both ended up on the loo the next am!! Good location although we didn't do the walk into the town. There was transport outside the Patel if needed. If you arrive by train from Delhi ( take the first train which is under 2 hrs - great comfortable experience) you can get a driver at the station who will take you to the hotel and around for the day for about 950 rupees. The room top is nice although there r places with better views of the taj mahal. Pool looked nice. Oh we were only able to have cold showers..... That was the worst part of our stay. The sheets were ok but not the nicest. Wouldn't stay again unless we had to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IzzzyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.1 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.8 km away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#91 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Property: Hotel Taj Resorts
Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing