We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ITC Mughal - a truly world class experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ITC Mughal, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ITC Mughal, Agra
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ITC Mughal - a truly world class experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Rarely does one come across a hotel that combines the best of ambience and service. ITC Mughal is the perfect place to stay while in Agra. The well kept rooms, the sprawling lawns, the stunning spa and the unfailing courtesy of the staff have made this hotel an amazing experience. Its proximity to the Taj (there is a viewing gallery from where one can view the Taj at leisure) and great food at the restaurants are the other plus points. In the years that I have been to the Mughal, I can safely say that Mr. Sanjay Sharma and his team have elevated its status to among the very best hotels of the world.

Room Tip: Welcombreak packages in off seasons offer good value for money including hotel credits or room upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narayanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed at ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered towards you were up to your level of standards and that your stay was a memorable one. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We at ITC Mughal strive to make every moment, a moment of WOW for our guests. I assure that you will experience the same level of luxury, comfort and service in your next visit too.

Assuring our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

Sincerely Yours,
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    1,044
    499
    178
    91
See reviews for
1,193
1,242
146
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed at on our trip to India, and we loved it. Check in (and out) was friendly, fast and efficient. We were taken to our room, and on the way the female staff member apologised that the pool was being renovated, but as a result all guests had access to the spa pool. No problem, I thought. Our room was lovely, the bathroom is huge. However, just after the member of staff left, I opened the veil curtains- I should have done this immediately. Not only did we have a 'view' of a pool being renovated (quite a mess) but work was going on, and a drill immediately started. We called reception and explained this was unacceptable. We were given a garden room view immediately and our bags etc, were moved. We are very happy to have had excellent service on this. However, we were a bit puzzled that such a high quality hotel would have even considered this acceptable for their guests? I accept that renovation has to take place, and this slightly quieter time is a good time to do it- but still. Another minor point, for a 5-star hotel the minibar offering is unbelievably meagre, and I had to call reception to bring a bottle opener!

These quibbles aside, we nevertheless thought the hotel was wonderful- very luxurious. The breakfast buffet was very nice indeed (although the coffee could be improved for such a hotel- it was not good, tasted instant) and we particularly single out our meal the night before, in the same restaurant. The had a buffet deal including a glass of wine (very nice too!) for 850 rupees. This was excellent value indeed- particularly considering the very high quality of the food.

We checked out just before 12 the next day. We visited the Taj Mahal twice (sunset, then sunrise) and had time to enjoy the pool in the morning. The Spa Pool is lovely! Set in beautiful gardens, and some of the pool enjoys the shade of trees etc.

Despite the quibbles mentioned above, we feel this hotel deserves the excellent rating- while I strongly recommend to any hotel staff who might read this review that they point out the potential _noise_ to any of their guests, we give them credit for handling the problem so quickly.

Room Tip: If renovations are underway, check that they won't impact on your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed at ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered towards you were up to your level of standards and that your stay was a memorable one. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We at ITC Mughal strive to make every moment, a moment of WOW for our guests. I assure that you will experience the same level of luxury, comfort and service in your next visit too.

I have also taken cognizance of your suggestions, and this is to assure you that the necessary corrective and administrative actions are also being taken in this regard.

Assuring our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

Sincerely Yours,
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2011. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are comfortable and the beds are a real treat compared to the usual indian standard but we thought it all cost far too much for what you got.
You can buy better food on the street and in other restaurants for 1/10 of the price. We enjoy more rustic surroundings so this was probably the wrong hotel for us, felt wrong to be in that kind of surrounding in India and there was no-one on our backpacker wavelength :-)
The viewing platform to see the Taj and the gardens were lovely, plenty of space for the children to run around. Staff were friendly too.
If you enjoy spending far too much money when there is no need to then this will suit you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went to agra for a vacation and obviously to see Taj mahal. Staying at ITC Mughal was such a treat. The hotel rooms are fantastic with great staff and good restaurants. Once we got done seeing the Taj Mahal, we came back to the hotel and stunned by the ammenities it provides like - ATV and golf to name a few. I am a golfer and playing in the Royal City was just great !!!!! It is a 5 star hotel with more than 5 star luxury, built on 35 acres. I would definitely recommend anyone going to Agra, not to miss this attraction in addition to Taj mahal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anchit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed at ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered towards you were up to your level of standards and that your stay was a memorable one. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We at ITC Mughal strive to make every moment, a moment of WOW for our guests. I assure that you will experience the same level of luxury, comfort and service in your next visit too.

Assuring our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

Sincerely Yours,
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for a night while visiting Agra. We spent very little time at the hotel, but it was a good place to come back to after a hectic day of sight-seeing, particularly because it is close to the Taj Mahal. The hotel grounds and lobby are very pretty. Our check-in took forever and the staff kept us waiting for quite long.The room was good, but the bathroom was a little rundown. The food was average and the breakfast buffet was not great, but passable. The water in the bathroom (both in our room and in the common restrooms in the lobby area) tasted very odd - but I am told that water in Agra is generally not of good quality. I fell quite badly ill after my visit to Agra and I am sure the water in the hotel had no small role to play in this.

On the whole, I would say that our experience at the hotel was a mixed bag, but it is definitely a decent pit stop after a long and grimy day of exploring Agra.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maheshwari29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for a night whilst on a tour so our opinion is a little limited to first impressions. The lobby has a real wow factor and is absolutely breathtaking. I would imagine that it has recently been refurbished as once you go away from the reception area towards the rooms and the gardens things appear a little more jaded and in need of refreshing . Our room was quite small but comfortably furnished with a lovely garden view where we could see the lovely birds flitting in and out. The pool area was really nice although it was a little whiffy around the loungers, the aroma appeared to come from the water they were spraying on the gardens !! The gardens were vast but needed a bit of tidying as the paths were really dusty and there were lots of dead leaves which needed to be swept up..... it appeared to be a bit neglected and in need of some t.l.c.
The restaurant was nice , the food was very good and the staff very pleasant and attentive. We ate from the buffet, which didn't have the biggest of choices but was of a very good quality.We travelled with a party on a tour and our biggest complaint was that the drinks were extremely expensive... they were literally double what we had paid with another superior hotel chain. We browsed the wine list but didn't bother when we found it started at £40 a bottle , beer was about £8 a pint (it cost about £1.25 in the local shop ) and a lime soda was just under £3 (25p a bottle outside) Our other complaint was that the standard of cleaning was a little lax.....grime around the bath and sink rim, fingermarks on doors etc. It wasn't majorly dirty but not what we expected from a 'luxury collection' hotel, particularly as the lobby and bar areas were absolutely spotless and gleaming........ it seemed that the front of house image was more important than the guest rooms. On the plus side everyone was welcoming and friendly and our stay was pleasant and comfortable . It wasn't the best hotel we visited in India, but we'd recommend it as a base to see the sights of Agra.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed at ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered towards you were up to your level of standards and that your stay was a memorable one. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We at ITC Mughal strive to make every moment, a moment of WOW for our guests. I assure that you will experience the same level of luxury, comfort and service in your next visit too.

I have also taken cognizance of your comments about the cleaning around the pool and garden areas. You have my assurance that the same is being reviewed very seriously and the administrative action is also being taken in this regards.

Assuring our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

Sincerely Yours,
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The ITC Mughal Hotel is located in the heart of Agra and a short distance from the Taj Mahal. The grounds are beautifully kept and the lobby is magnificent with high ceilings and gorgeous furnishings. My room was wonderful. As I looked out my window the birds were having a fun time in the tree. As they spotted me they stopped as if to say, "Come join us!" The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and all the modern amenities. I ate in the Taj Bano restaurant for dinner while there. The mushroom soup, followed by a Caprese salad, and lamb entree with vegetables was fantastic! Also, the wine choices were excellent with an abundance of California wines offered. The service, as is so typical of the ITC hotels was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCMUGHAL, General Manager at ITC Mughal, Agra, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from the city of the Taj!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having stayed at ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered towards you were up to your level of standards and that your stay was a memorable one. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We at ITC Mughal strive to make every moment, a moment of WOW for our guests. I assure that you will experience the same level of luxury, comfort and service in your next visit too.

Assuring our best services and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to ITC Mughal - A Luxury Collection Hotel, Agra.

Sincerely Yours,
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.6 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Mughal, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Mughal, Agra

Property: ITC Mughal, Agra
Address: Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Agra
#4 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Mughal, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Mughal, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Mughal, Agra Hotel Agra
Itc Mughal Hotel Agra
Sheraton Agra
Agra Itc Mughal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing