We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Room overlooking The Taj. Lovely garden and pool. Restaurant food in hotel was superb.
Don't be put off by exterior..inside is lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for Taj view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in order to see the Taj Mahal and so location was key to us. The hotel was nice, clean and check in was relatively efficient (for India). The room was nice and comfortable and the food in the hotel was very good.

It felt like a good business hotel rather than a holiday place so we were pleased to only be there one night and move on.

We passed several places on the drive to the Taj that were a) more appealing to look at from the outside and b) a lot closer to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDgoesGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Agra were our last stay on our India-vacation. We travelled with children (age 4,8 and 11) and needed a pool to relax the two last days. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but the the interior is great. We got two rooms beside each other with a door between - both rooms with Taj view. The rooms were just great, the children loved the "window" shower. We stayed one night, but could use the pool all day while waiting for the train to Delhi. We were very happy with our stay and service. The pool was great and the space for the children perfect. It's a short a easy trip to Taj Mahal and Maya "something" for breakfast, lunch and dinner. One should expect breakfast was included in the price when you pay Rs. 6500 for a double room (we had two), but not at Gateway. Prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner are awesome.
If you need some relaxing days in Agra - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sannerholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent two nights here in late Feb 2012.

Rooms: Old, in need of an update and some new flooring (saggy boards in our room). 'Double glazed' by using silicon sealant to glue another sheet of glass over the window. The 'safe' in the wardrobe wasn't actually bolted to the wall, so the whole thing could have been removed in one piece with all your cash inside. Consequently I ended up carrying the valuables and passports with me at all times, which is far from perfect.

Food: The quality was 'ok', but the service was poor. Others in our party were brought the wrong order, and then when the correct one arrived it was cold. On the third attmept the medium rare steak was at least warm, but burnt. If you have to eat here, have the buffet, it's a safer bet. As a novelty they also have 'pasta to order' which seems strangely out of place here. As with most places in India, the bacon at breakfast is inedible.

Location: yes, handy for the Taj Mahal.

Bar: small but amiable. Unfortunately we'd timed our trip to coincide with state elections and they have three clear booze free days in the entire state, so the well informed (us included) managed to stock their room fridges before the deadline.

Would I stay there again : probably not

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dw1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our rooms "with a Taj view" were just as described, with a full view of the Taj and on the 5th floor so that we were not disturbed by traffic noise Both rooms and decor were fitting for a quality hotel, and the service was excellent. The restaurant catered for all tastes and we enjoyed our meal. The location means that there is only a short drive to reach the Taj, so we went at dawn and enjoyed the wonderful building at its best, then back for breakfast before continuing with our sightseeing. We only stayed one night and didn't have time to sample the other facilities. We'd love to have enjoyed the pool and the gardens. Expensive, but well worth it!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 5th floor if you want a Taj view, otherwise get a cheaper room at the back ove...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After a 5 hour journey from Delhi, you will be pleased to finally arrive at the Taj hotel. You will be greeted with a Hindi blessing. The lobby is lovely with 2 restaurants and a chic bar. There is a spa (which I didn't use) and a lovely pool and grounds. The rooms are somewhat dated, but comfortable. The bathrooms could use an update. Some rooms have a full Taj view. It was perfectly comfortable for one night, but not luxurious. The cost was very reasonable - I think we paid $140 for two twin beds.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Taj may be noisy as there is quite a bit of road noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent two comfortable nights at The Gateway Hotel as a base for visiting the Taj Mahal and other sites in and around Agra. We were booked into a Taj view room, although a building across the street meant that our view was partially obscured. The hotel fronts on to a fairly major road - lorries, cars, motorbikes and camels are using it all day and night so our room was fairly noisy - ear plugs did the trick though and it was fun to watch everyday life taking place outside.
The welcome we received when we first arrived was very warm and friendly - in fact all the staff we met were lovely. One even packed us a bag of pastries from the breakfast buffet ready for our onward journey to Jaipur. The breakfast was very varied and delicious - the rosewater lassi was particularly good!
There was lots going on at all times - puppet shows, fortune tellers and stone carvers - all of which presented opportunities to spend money! As the hotel is located on a main road there are plenty of ATMs within close reach. The hotel has a whole arcade of shops selling everything from tea to pietre dure marble and the shopkeepers are very keen to help you buy more and more souvenirs!!
We ate in the Indian restaurant both nights and were able to sample Indian wine for the first time. The delicious and beautifully presented vegetarian Thali comes highly recommended!!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank millyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $96 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing