We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A view of the Taj is possible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A view of the Taj is possible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were on the 5th floor and had a very good view of the Taj Majal from our room. It was so good that I took it with my iPhone and emailed it to my friends using the hotel WiFi connection. We were fortunate that the smog level was not so bad during our visit. The room was nice - similar to any nicer business hotel in the US. The location was perfect for our tourist destinations. The breakfast buffet provided both Indian and English food options.

Room Tip: Higher Taj facing room if you hope to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure_Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    682
    296
    59
    33
See reviews for
556
643
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were at the Gateway in Agra for just 2 nights and enjoyed our stay in a beautiful , well equipped and comfortable room with uninterrupted views of the Taj Mahal.

The hotel is well maintained and managed and is very convenient for visiting the Taj Mahal which is just one kilometer away.

The dining facilities are very good with an extensive menu.

We have only one negative observation : the grey not particularly well fitting unifroms of the waiters detarct form an otherwise very good dining experience.

Room Tip: It will cost a little more but pick a room with a good view of the Taj Mahal - it does mean that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

what a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting the Taj Mahal. Rooms are beautifully appointed, the view from our window of the pool was magnificent. the food was delicious and very beautifully plated and delicious. The staff were so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotriping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Even though we were sick as dogs from dodgy food in Varanasi we liked this hotel alot.
The restaurants were good, service was attentive and the rooms were very comfortable.
It's relatively close to the Taj but forget expecting to see it from your room...highly unlikely even if there wasn't eye-watering smog blocking the view.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are relatively quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I spent two nights at The Gateway in February. It was very pleasant--a clean room, a very comfortable bed, and quick and efficient room service. They were quick to respond when I had trouble connecting to the internet (they solved it), and when I needed ice for a sprained ankle. The restaurant offers a wide-ranging buffet selection and breakfast options, plus an a la carte menu as well--but a bit expensive compared to other places I ate in India.I would definitely stay at the Gateway again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel has gone thru different avatars and is now a Gateway property of Taj Group. The age reflects but the renovations have kept pace. Rooms are OK...no great views. Better to get the pool view than the Taj View where you get nothing but the street view. Higher floors may be offering some view of Taj but I was stuck on 2nd floor.
Rooms amenities - ok. for some reason rooms even in same category are of different sizes...get a larger room.
food - as per Taj standards. indian food is passable rest is OK.
Staff - courteous and helping...though the front desk could be more helping in selecting the right rooms.

Room Tip: get a larger room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Gateway for 2 night during our three week India trip. Staff couldn't do enough for us, room was spotlessly cleaned twice a day and all of the hotel's facilites were well maintained.
Excellent location for visiting the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort etc and walking distance to several very good restaurants.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 142 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#7 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.4 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#13 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#10 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing