We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Agra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Moved to this hotel after a sleepless night in a budget hotel. It was a welcome relief with excellent service, clean and luxurious rooms, plenty of hot water and comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast included in the room charge was pretty good.
Overall the best thing about this hotel was how friendly and helpful everyone we came across was. We received several calls in our room while we were there asking if we had everything we needed. The concierge was very helpful- he even gave me his personal cell phone number and told me I could call him anytime during our trip to India if I had a problem.
The only thing that could have been better was the location. It was not especially convenient for sightseeing in Agra and off a busy road. It was, however, far enough off the road to be quiet. It had a nice looking pool but it was too cold when we were there to use it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattlered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Harward sarovar portico is a fine hotel...compare to other sarovar portico hotels in other cities this hotel had large rooms which were clean,washrooms were average;overall very well-mentained ..the breakfast served in buffet were really good....yeah the only thing that was disappointing was they had a marriage reception party on roof top and due to loud speakers it was damn noisy. It was next to impossible to sit in the roof top open dinning room,which was just next to the party area. Even Its because of this party our food was served after couple of hour..!!..otherwise,i really enjoyed staying in this hotel will surely love to go back..!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukanyadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Positives - good location (walking distance from West Gate of Taj); clean rooms and comfortable bed; free early check-in; large buffet breakfast with pleasant dining room staff (lots of options but the food was average).

Negatives - old hotel; more like a 3.5 star instead of a 5 star; old bathrooms that look tired and worn; front-desk staff needs more customer service training and a little less arrogance; ultimately we were left with a bad taste in our mouths when small (but annoying) hidden charges showed up on our bill at check-out. For example being charged R5 for each internal call to their travel desk downstairs, but later when we paid our bill they didn't have exact change and told us we shouldn't worry about the R5 they owed us. Obviously R5 is miniscule, but somehow important enough to them that they charge it. Nothing major but definitely annoying. I think there are better places to stay in Agra.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AudreyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here in fall of 2010 when it was Howard Park Plaza. It was fine, the staff was friendly at check-in, the room was adequate but the bathroom was pretty run down as were the hallways. Plenty of hot water.The breakfast was buffet style and was decent. We used the travel desk to hire a driver (expensive) for onward travel and they gave us what turned out to be a very inexperienced driver who got lost and added many hours to what was already a long drive. Check-out was chaotic and somewhat unpleasant and my husband's request to break a larger bill into smaller denominations was refused with some attitude. Overall it seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmiekat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed for one night in Dec. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was a bit tired but clean. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty choice - continental and Indian.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is and not up to par with a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn. The sink was not well fitted. Restaurant was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Was in Agra for a Business Trip and stayed in Howard Sarovar Portico for a night. Hotel is okay sort; but get a lots of foreign visitors as it not too costly and near to Taj Mahal. Got discount as I used ICICI Bank Sarovar Co Branded Credit Card.

Liked the rustic look of the hotel. Room are spacious and tidy, washrooms are okay sort. Didn't tried dinner but had breakfast which was quite ordinary. Puppet show in the lobby was quite a crowd puller esp for Kids and foreign travelers.

May chose this property again for a 1 night stay but not more than that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosswordsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,658 reviews
1.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
2.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.3 km away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 143 in Agra
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#10 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $81 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing