We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Nothing Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ganga Ratan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ganga Ratan
Ranked #121 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than Nothing Hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our last day was at Agra & unfortunately we had no choice but to stay in this hotel ( thanks to our travel agent!!).. Dont stay here... you think its cheap and its worth the money you pay..its not.. the tea,coffee & the food is expensive.. the waiters practically knock at your door and ask for extra tips.

They are not polite enough, the room was ok... 'better than nothing'

Atleast we were able to buy something in Agra without people coming to you and bugging you continuously.

P.S. when visiting to india remember to take loads of cash.. you need it.

'our main motive is not to earn money but the satisfaction of our client with our service as you are the main media to publish our hotel.' - quoted from hotel website [ full of crap! ]

Room Tip: there's no A/C in the 3RD Floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshipat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
15
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've stayed at many types of places in India - from hi-fi to guest houses to people's homes. This one was actually better than the one I stayed in the night before, in a smaller town, but not quite up to western standards, still.

The good
The room seemed clean on the surface, lights worked, mattress was softer than normal. They had a nice table and chairs set up and updated furniture and decor. There actually was a shower and for the first time in my experience, you didn't have to turn on the hot water geyser for hot water. The breakfast was good, they had a western version and their eggs did not have any spices in them. The food service seemed to be good, just a little slow (which is probably normal).

The bad
The bathroom was icky. The tile seemed to be in need of a good bleaching and there was that old urine smell that seems to be all over India's bathrooms. We kept the door closed so the smell wouldn't get through the whole room.

For anyone not familiar with the different standards in India for cleanliness and such, this might not be a good experience. But for those who have become accustomed to "roughing it' a little, this would be a perfectly good place to stay. It all depends on the frame of reference you are coming from.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
352 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is not much far from Taj Mahal. The hotel is quite average with all the facilities. Rooms are good, service is good.
I stayed there alone for a night, I found the place good in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The only good thing about the Hotel is it its excellent Location and proximity to Taj and the Agra Fort. However - that is about the only good thing about this Hotel. I stayed here for a conference and we had booked a Suite Room. However, to our dismay I found that the quality of the room was far from satisfactory in terms of the rates.

There were no towels in the room and even when towels were requested - no hand towels were provided. The room itself is dated with feel of 90's. There was continuous noise in the Aisles on the 1st floor by cleaning staff shouting at each other.

The food also was not up to the mark. One thing I hate most in a restaurant is presence of cockroaches near Food. Well we had cockroaches running around near the buffet counter and also climbing on the dining table and sitting on the plates. Disgusting. It is best to avoid this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harsh_Dhanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We planned to ses tha Tajmahal & decided to stay nearby. Outer look of hotel is Ok but when you enter in the room like hell, bathrooms never have been washed. Taps are totally black, toilet sheet yellowish. Ordered for dinner, insect in DAL. Horrible. Did dinner outside restaurant. My suggestation, never think of stay in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pujatrivedi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We made a tour through India and Nepal in August 2011 and this was the worst hotel of them all. The air-condition sounded like a jet engine, in some rooms there was fungus at the walls, the rooms smelled not fresh.
The only thing good was the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Agra was the only city where we did not book ahead as we were thinking we'd like to see the Taj Mahal and then move on and find a place on the road. However, as we were travelling with a driver from Delhi it was not clear where he would be sleeping so we just stayed in the city. Anyhow, this hotel was hosting a bunch of kids who were running wild all night, plus people seemed to be moving furniture upstairs from us for hours. The breakfast was terrible. If you can, see the Taj Mahal and then get out of Agra as fast as you can.
(By the way our driver was a really nice man, very quiet, and never pushed us to go to shops or anything like that. Plus he's a very safe driver. His name is Sham Sher and his number is 91 981 0882026. He works out of Dehi.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.4 km away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,845 reviews
1.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganga Ratan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganga Ratan

Property: Hotel Ganga Ratan
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ganga Ratan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ganga Ratan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganga Ratan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing