We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless location and staff, spartan rooms”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #29 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Faultless location and staff, spartan rooms”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

For location Hotel Sidhartha is premium located about a minute from the western gate of the Taj Mahal. The staff are friendly and engaging, the in restaurant has a diverse menu and is highly recommended. The rooms themselves are clean but incredibly basic, don't expect too much from them, however if it's only for a night or two they are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    212
    108
    35
    39
See reviews for
76
195
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

While the location was great, we were extremely disappointed by the hotel. I made reservations online and paid 600rs per night for two nights, which is higher than what others seem to have paid. definitely do not stay in room 104.

I didnt opt for an A/C room because the weather didnt warrant it, but the windows to our room didn't shut properly, and the bathroom didn't have a glass window (just a piece of plywood with holes cut in it), so our room was full of mosquitos, and was extremely noisy, as it faced the street. All night we were kept up by music, the sound of the mosque, people on the street, and barking dogs (thats WITH earplugs). There was also no hot water in the shower, so the hotel brought buckets of hot water to our room. This wouldn't have been too big a deal at a cheaper place, but I wish I'd known when I made my reservation.

I guess the room was reasonably clean, and the mattress was comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant.

Having never been to Agra before, we thought it would be nice to be do close to the Taj so we could get up early and see it. Pretty much all of the hotels in the area are only a few minutes' walk away. Stay somewhere else. We ate at Lucky Guest House, and the manager told us he had a large AC room with wifi, a big TV, and hot shower for 600rs. Wish I'd shopped around.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Good value for money. We stayed two nights. Excellent hot water in the AC room. Blankets on the bed needed a good clean. Floor was dusty.
We didn't try the food as we ate out at various places.
The owner/manager is a fun friendly & caring man, who speaks very good English.
Don't use the Internet next door, they quoted a crazy price. Much cheaper places around the corner, & there is free wifi at some restaurants too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was in due to be in Agra this last weekend ( 25-26th Feb 2012)and was looking for a budget hotel.Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, what looked promising was its proximity to Taj Mahal's western gate, and its decent rooms at reasonable prices. I got exactly what i expected when i got there, I had booked a non-AC room as it is still relatively cool during this part of the year. I think anyone looking for a budget hotel should not definitely look at Hotel Sidhartha as one of the options.

Room Tip: 1.Dont be too excited about the roof top restaurants, monkeys will always keep u away from eating th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We looked at 4 rooms the non A/C rooms are not clean and smell bad !! the A/C room had less smell. The bathroom is very old as in a rusted stick to turn on shower. not real bedding sheet on mattress and thin dirty blanket. We didn't stay as although we had ID and the credit card used to book, as per the terms, they demanded our passports and visa which we didnt take for security reasons. The hotel we stayed at insted didn't ask for passport.

Room Tip: get a/c room even if you don't want the a/c as they don't smell as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just like the title says, cheap, clean and a great location, couldn't fault it.
Except, we we're there late Jan...was freezing...ask for extra sheets, as it's cheap some places charge for these things, well worth it, we weren't prepared

Defo use the place, worth it!

Room Tip: Doubt you'll get a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed two nights at Sidhartha, when I arrived at the Agra train station and asked a rickshaw driver if they knew it, they all did, and I quizzed them to be sure! Sure enough, it is a well known hotel, you won't have any problem finding it.

The location is exactly where you want to be in Agra, it is less than a 2 minute walk to both the ticket office and the entrance to the Taj Mahal. Extremely convenient.

I had a few meals in the Garden Restauant, no complaints and I didn't get sick, so that's good.

The staff are very nice they can give you information about things to do in Agra and how to get around.

Minor complaints: my windows, while locked, had gaps in them. Meaning mosquitos could get inside. I had the basic rooms there without AC and the rooms are close to each other so you will hear your neighbors in the hall. I would say if you had the extra cash, go for the AC rooms, as they looked nicer.

Same day laundry service was really efficient and reasonably priced.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.6 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#97 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#33 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#48 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Property: Hotel Sidhartha
Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing