We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family residence in the heart of Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Ranked #16 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We did have room for 2 with private bathroom on the top floor.
Very nice room, lovely decorations, clean and very friendly. Bathroom is clean and nice. You do have here common breakfast and lunch which is very pleasant.
Building is very old and you can feel it - but in a nice way. It really does represent the "atmosphere from Varanasi".
Terrace on the roof top where they are now building a new coffee place.

Room Tip: Last floor rooms are pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cicihahakoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2016

The Guest house is more than a place to stay for a few days and leave.It is more like a place you wish you would come back to in the next years. It felt like home in every sense. The freedom you get and the laid back but happening atmosphere of the people in the gallies will rub off on you.
Even in the summers there is less heat inside as the house is a preserved heritage house made using old Indian techniques , so don't let the fact that you won't be provided air conditioning scare you. And also the fact you have to share bathroom since the house is kept the same should not bother you as they are kept very clean with hot water showers.
In my opinion , this place is perfect if you a single female travelling since it gives a sense of safety that you feel at the right place. Breakfast and lunch are included , so if you are on budget in your travel to the Holy Ganges , this will help you save some spending and food is home cooked and fulfilling to your soul , especially the lunch.
Some rooms have balconies which wakes you up to the sound of temple bells of the morning puja.
The location is right next to the Dasaswamedh ghat where the evening aarti happens everyday and I guarantee you feel like you've lived there for a long , coming out of your house to attend the evening aarti.
I've met people who have stayed here for years and still come back and stay for even longer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmariah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Located 5 minutes from the river ganges, this hostel is right in the centre of old varanasi in the most happening part of the city, everything is close by. Also, the hotel itself is very clean and spacious, with a rooftop that overlooks varanasi, however the rooftop is unused by the hostel. The interior design of the hostel is very good, i really felt the indian-vibes here, it was incredible. The food is great, however breakfast and lunch times are restricted and the variety is limited. I would definitely recommend this place if you wish to visit varanasi, but just beware that you must pay a compulsory extra 200Rs. to be part of the 'kautilya society' for you to be able to book your rooms, i found that rather annoying.

But overall, Ram Bhawan definitely made my trip to varanasi excellent.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank moustafa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Clean, colorful, simple, welcoming, good food, good chat, yoga, a place where you can share you experiences in Benares.
You can feel at home as a family.
Very good guest house for position and price!

Thank you Ram Bhawan for all..

Carolina

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

if you want a benarasi flavour to your stay .... this is the place .
Tucked away in a typical gulli & stones throw distance from the dasaswamedha ghat this place has an old world charm & retains its history well. Clean rooms & bathroom, fresh bedsheets, comfortable eating area, home cooked simple meals ,peaceful & tranquil environment and very cordial staff.
It's definitely my choice even for repeat visits.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Ipsita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This is the best hostel we stayed in when travelling India, everyone is so friendly. The food is amazing. We felt always near help and always got the advice we needed. It was a perfect stay and I plan to return.

Room Tip: I chose the private double and was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

I liked the hostel very much! Shaline, the hospitality manager is very nice and helpful. She bought the train tickets I needed and gave me the required information about the city. The room was very comfortable, pretty decoration and wonderful fans that are very important in such hot city. The shower and toilet are good. The much is delicious. The young people who came to the hostel were great!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank adrishiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,167 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,228 reviews
0.1 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#17 of 80 in Varanasi
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
275 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 80 in Varanasi
513 reviews
0.1 km away
Shivakashi Guest House
Shivakashi Guest House
#7 of 222 in Varanasi
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence

Address: Munshi Ghat D 20/21 | Old Varanasi, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $13 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Bhavan is the hospitality structure of the Kautilya Society. A four floor building architected in a traditional style in the historical area near Dashashwamedh Ghat, with a terrace with a wonderful view on the river and the city. It is the residential facility for members in Varanasi, providing accommodation with half board and lodging throughout the year. At Ram Bhavan members can enjoy the warmth and protection of a family-style environment, as well as the good and reliable meals of our personally-trained cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing