We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
144
37
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
37
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews includes breakfast and lunch other guests chapati home away from home bit hard to find top floor old city rooftop terrace the wi fi varanasi experience non ac culture india guesthouse dorm maze boat
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2016

The Guest house is more than a place to stay for a few days and leave.It is more like a place you wish you would come back to in the next years. It felt like home in every sense. The freedom you get and the laid back but happening atmosphere of the people in the gallies will rub off on you.
Even in the summers there is less heat inside as the house is a preserved heritage house made using old Indian techniques , so don't let the fact that you won't be provided air conditioning scare you. And also the fact you have to share bathroom since the house is kept the same should not bother you as they are kept very clean with hot water showers.
In my opinion , this place is perfect if you a single female travelling since it gives a sense of safety that you feel at the right place. Breakfast and lunch are included , so if you are on budget in your travel to the Holy Ganges , this will help you save some spending and food is home cooked and fulfilling to your soul , especially the lunch.
Some rooms have balconies which wakes you up to the sound of temple bells of the morning puja.
The location is right next to the Dasaswamedh ghat where the evening aarti happens everyday and I guarantee you feel like you've lived there for a long , coming out of your house to attend the evening aarti.
I've met people who have stayed here for years and still come back and stay for even longer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmariah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Located 5 minutes from the river ganges, this hostel is right in the centre of old varanasi in the most happening part of the city, everything is close by. Also, the hotel itself is very clean and spacious, with a rooftop that overlooks varanasi, however the rooftop is unused by the hostel. The interior design of the hostel is very good, i really felt the indian-vibes here, it was incredible. The food is great, however breakfast and lunch times are restricted and the variety is limited. I would definitely recommend this place if you wish to visit varanasi, but just beware that you must pay a compulsory extra 200Rs. to be part of the 'kautilya society' for you to be able to book your rooms, i found that rather annoying.

But overall, Ram Bhawan definitely made my trip to varanasi excellent.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank moustafa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Clean, colorful, simple, welcoming, good food, good chat, yoga, a place where you can share you experiences in Benares.
You can feel at home as a family.
Very good guest house for position and price!

Thank you Ram Bhawan for all..

Carolina

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaM4233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

if you want a benarasi flavour to your stay .... this is the place .
Tucked away in a typical gulli & stones throw distance from the dasaswamedha ghat this place has an old world charm & retains its history well. Clean rooms & bathroom, fresh bedsheets, comfortable eating area, home cooked simple meals ,peaceful & tranquil environment and very cordial staff.
It's definitely my choice even for repeat visits.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank IpsitaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

This is the best hostel we stayed in when travelling India, everyone is so friendly. The food is amazing. We felt always near help and always got the advice we needed. It was a perfect stay and I plan to return.

Room Tip: I chose the private double and was amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews