We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but decent once there”
Review of Puja Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puja Guest House
Ranked #89 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hard to find but decent once there”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I rang the guesthouse on the morning of my arrival in Varanasi. I was told they had a room for 700 rupees but when I arrived they told me that someone had extended their stay and now the only room available was 1000 rupees. I just wanted a room so I took it. The room was spacious, had air con and a heater and 24 hot water. There was no tv but thats not what you're there for anyway. The rooftop restaurant is good and also fairly cheap. The hotel is really close to the ganges ghats which is good. The guesthouse is stuck in a maze of small laneways though and its easy to get lost. If you arrive and aren't sure, ask someone and they'll point you in the right direction as the guest house is well known

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bucky219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    36
    22
    37
See reviews for
6
40
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Me and my friend stayed here on for a night on 10th Nov 2011. We were charged Rs.250 per night for a double stay room without air-cond. It was good enough. Cleanliness can be improved and the room locking system is quite annoying too. the receptionist Rajoo is quite informative but overpromising for services. We waited for the boatman and a travel agent about half an hour than the promising time. Service is quite poor. But we don't expect any good service since the price is cheap. Food is quite average but i shall say a bit pricey for this hotel. Cafe located at the top roof, quite a good view.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VijayaratinamRamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Puja GH has nice and basic rooms, relatively clean bathrooms. Don't expect luxury. I was there in November, so A/C I didn't need, fan was perfectly enough. Locking mechanisms of the rooms are quite annoying, but I got used to it. We used sleeping bags, no top sheets were provided. The guest house is a 5-10 min walk from the main ghat area, a little tricky to find when its dark in the evening if you try to reach it from the riverside - you have to go through some really dark tunnels between the Lalita Ghat and the guesthouse, it was perfectly safe though. Rooftop terrace is nice and peaceful, perfect place to relax; restaurant is a bit overpriced and the quality is not the best one, so we avoided it. No free internet access or Wi-Fi. Geckos in the rooms is something normal, we didn't care about these fellas :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

avoid it! bad quality, bad service, dirty, expensive!! only terrace is good. restaurant very bad as well. bugs and rats in the rooms, really dirty. service was oscene. location is quite good, but nothing special. i do reccomend not to go there.
do not know what to add. surprisingly bad.
avoid it! bad quality, bad service, dirty, expensive!! only terrace is good. restaurant very bad as well. bugs and rats in the rooms, really dirty. service was oscene. location is quite good, but nothing special. i do reccomend not to go there.
do not know what to add. surprisingly bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is not a guesthouse, this is a disaster!
Default: simple and dirty.
Bad: quite dirty and sometimes only warm water.
Towels: with holes and stinky. Everywhere animals in the room!
But the worst part of the manager: every day he made promises, aber he never did anything..Er urged to show me Varanasi. At the appointed time, he has not even been published.
This Guest House makes just asking for trouble!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Rooms here are fairly basic but despite the age of the building, they were clean and bright, the sheets were clean (only one tiny hole..no top sheet) and the bathrooms had a working shower. The rooms stayed fairly cool so I chose a room without A/C and just used the fan and it was one of the quietest ceiling fans I had in India..no ticking or grinding noises. Like everywhere in Varanasi, this place can be hard to find but all locals seem to know where it is and are happy to point you in the right direction plus once you're in the alleys, there are signs everywhere. When you do find it though, the massive empty lobby area with nothing but a tiny desk in it almost makes it look closed and walking up the stairs you'll notice clothes hung everywhere and things lying around on each level. The hotel has a nice rooftop area overlooking the ghats with a fairly decent restaurant but unfortunately neither the restaurant nor the hotel have wi-fi available. There are a few computer terminals on the ground floor where internet can be used for a small fee. Much like the rest of India, Varanasi has an issue with reliable electricity however this hotel has a good (but not great) battery back-up system.

Room Tip: Ask to check the rooms first..some might be better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedtopacklighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were in Puja Guest House, planning to stay for 3 nights in an AC Room for 20 Euro per night, escaped after one sleepless night to a good, known here, Hotel in Cantonment.

The Ganga flooded the Ghats, so the Entrance was only reachable through climbing a lot of excrements from any creature and piles of rotting waste.
When the rain set in, our windows showed that it was absolutely untight and our room was flooded. I asked the manager for towels and sheets and for some help, the storm was still breesing hard. He answered that this is India and he don't care.

With the help of the facility helping hand, which i had to recruit by myself, we could kinda ducktape it. Thanks to this guy, he was the only one of the whole staff who acted friendly and helpful. As a result: Absolutely not worth it's money!

The Rooftop Restaurant had a good view an the chef knows about his job.

Room Tip: Rooms under the Restaurant are quite good, but check windshields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrathezalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
0.1 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,085 reviews
0.1 km away
Suraj Guest House
Suraj Guest House
#30 of 214 in Varanasi
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sankatha Guest House
Sankatha Guest House
#24 of 214 in Varanasi
66 reviews
0.2 km away
Kanha Paying Guest House
Kanha Paying Guest House
#21 of 214 in Varanasi
44 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel East View
Hotel East View
#38 of 214 in Varanasi
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puja Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puja Guest House

Property: Puja Guest House
Address: Lalita Ghat Puja Guest House D 1/45, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Puja Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Puja Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puja Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing