We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suraj Guest House”
Review of Suraj Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suraj Guest House
Ranked #38 of 220 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very nice Guest House run by family. You sleep in 100 years old house where on the ground floor lives famiy and on the upper floors are rooms for guests located around central yard. We slept in basic rooms (basically equipped) without bath. Bathroom, clean, with warm water (sun heated) was located next to the rooms. Hot shower was on the lower floor. It is nice guest house with rooms having nice specific climate of old town. Beacuse we were family for two nights owners gave us free of charge Ganga morning boat trip :-). They are also helpful in organizing trips to specific places and if you want do good shoping they can also give good advice without insisting you to do this or that. There is also nice roof top terrace with nice views for Ganga and old Varanasi. There is a lot of monkeys in the old town and they can appear around roof top, but if they see coming people they usually go away.

Room Tip: On the highest floor you can meet monkey if go out of the room, but they are not offensive and go aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Suraj for 2 nights and we found it to be heaven in wat was hell to us at first sight. We grew to love Varanasi, but the first hours were very hectic, even after spending 4.5 months in India. Yes, we had some power cuts and lack of running water, but that's just what you expect or at least SHOULD expect when you book a room for such a bargain. We really had a very nice time and think back to Suraj Guest House only with positive feelings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at the Suraj Guesthouse for three days and were amazed by the friendly and helpful way we were welcomed there, especially since Prabhu was sick when we arrived. The guesthouse arranged a pick up for us which was very useful because we would have never found the guesthouse on our own. The location of the guesthouse is absolutely perfect! You are right in the middle of the old town with all the small streets and just a few minutes away from the water. We specially want to thank Mayur, the young guide who showed us around the city, helped us find our way to fine restaurants, working ATM`s, etc. and who helped us without asking for commission with all the tickets we needed for the rest of our trip. If you have the possibility, don`t hesitate to book this guesthouse and a citytour with Mayur, he is absolutely the best and knows a lot about this dazzling city and it`s beautiful sites. A big thanks to Prabhu and Mayur, we had a great time in Varanasi thanks to you!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teske135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked this small family run guest house as it promised a free city tour and 24 hours hot showers.. Great I thought.. Just what you need after a day in Varanasi.. I arrived from a flight from Jaipur and there was no water running even to flush the toilets.. And I was told a city tour would cost me 2000 rupees by the owners nephew or something..
I checked out the next day after finding something far better online that night.. Having said that it is close to the Ghats so the location is quite good..

Room Tip: Just don't stay here at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was a lovely place to stay. It was August so it was REALLY REALLY hot, but this was such a nice place away from the craziness of Varanasi. Prabhu, although I didn't see him much as we were out most of the day, did stop by to check on my friend who was feeling ill and offered some help. His family was always around to help and were really understanding. My friend and I had originally booked separate rooms, but we decided to share one in the end and even though we offered to pay for both (since that meant he couldn't book anyone else in it) he declined to take the payment!

The bathroom was clean and had a lovely little shower. This place is close to the Brown Bread Bakery (be warned there's a real one and a fake one) and quite close to the burning ghats. We could see the smoke billow up from the ghat (although we couldn't actually see it) from the roof top. Beware the monkeys on the roof though - they can make a lot of racket!

There were many cute and lovely rabbits and a couple of dogs to keep us company. A nice lounge/common area meant we met everyone who was staying there. Make sure to bring a headlamp/flashlight. We went through quite a few power outages. Although their generator provided power to most of the guesthouse during the outages, it didn't provide light in the bathroom.

Varanasi the city itself isn't that welcoming ... but in the old part where the ghats were, Prabhu and his family, along with a few others will surprised us. :) Thank you for your hospitality when it's sometimes hard to find real and genuine people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Beautiful home, people and animals.
A good way in to the madness that is varanassi. Prabhu made sure we found our way through the maze and sent us to the right places for meals. There is a beautiful roof too from which you can see the ganges and watch varanassi from up high. There were rabbits and puppies to keep you company also.
Thanks Prabhu.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ambarsefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

In the city of Varanasi as a whole, we didn't find the people to be particlularly welcoming or hospitable, but our experience with Prabhu and his family was the complete opposite. From the chai Prabhu gave us when we arrived in the pouring rain, to his mediation of some issues with a tour guide, we were extremely satisfied with his genuine care for us as his guests. He recommended good restaurants, helped us plan our sight-seeing, and gave us a room to rest in both when we arrived (our room was being cleaned) and before we left Varanasi after we had checked out. The guesthouse is clean, especially for a place in Varanasi, and we enjoyed spending time in the lounge area with Prabhu's kids, bunnies, and puppies. There's a great view of the city from the roof. Great location (though the city's winding alleys are confusing) and we would definitely stay here again and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone we know visiting Varanasi. There is free wifi and it's quite fast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyd11011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#11 of 87 in Varanasi
277 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 87 in Varanasi
1,239 reviews
0.1 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 87 in Varanasi
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.1 km away
Sankatha Guest House
Sankatha Guest House
#19 of 220 in Varanasi
72 reviews
0.3 km away
Scindhia Guest House
Scindhia Guest House
#28 of 220 in Varanasi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suraj Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suraj Guest House

Address: Suraj Guest House Ck 10/37 Braham Nal, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Suraj Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel The Suraj is one of the best budget hotels in Varanasi providing all the basic facilities for backpackers. The Suraj is situated in a quiet alley right inside the heart of Varanasi...within 2 minutes of the holy Ganga River....within 5 to10 minutes of the main road and auto stand...feel the capital breathe right into you at Suraj. It's a place for community, friendships and fun. We have an obsessive affair with travel and a soft spot for everything that moves with a backpack. We are proud to offer stunning sunrises and river views from our rooftop terrace with holy morning mantra chants from the Lord Shiva-temples surrounding the guesthouse. It is also a great place for yoga and meditation. We also have a very comfy living room where you can meet other guest, enjoy alone time while reading a book from our shared library. Come on over, let us show you our holy ancient living city in the world! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing