We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrace with a view....”
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #10 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A terrace with a view....”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

... of the Ganges himself! Very well located, next to holly Assi Ghat. Nice vegetarian food and helpfull staff. Simple but comfortable, elegantly decorated. A very special place. (If you are on a very tight budget and find it a bit pricey, stay in one of the hotels nearby. Very good location in Varanasi)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    162
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
47
213
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

A small hotel overlooking a narrow street and with good views over the Ganges. Rooms rather dark but with pleasant sitting areas outside. Hotel is clean with friendly staff - beds a little on the hard side. Hotel is of a 'colonial style', with lovely hand-painted motifs and pictures. A good choice given its location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A quaint little place right on Assi Ghat (One of the nicer ghats I got to see). An ancestral home that's been turned into a little hotel, you can literally feel the history of the place. Beautifully and quaintly decorated, it doesn't give u the stuffy feel of being in a hotel and has a more homely feel to it. The service completely floored me, but I guess I would understand why some of the other reviewers might've felt they were unfriendly, I would probably attribute that to a basic language and cultural barrier, knowing Hindi sure helped a lot. The stairs are super high and my parents found it a bit difficult to conquer those and hence we ended up staying on the 1st floor.. Though we all wished we could stay in one of the rooms in the upper level. Morning and evening cups of tea on the terrace and the little in house nursery was just lovely. Loved the concept of the open buffet dinner where all the guests could interact. Also loved the fact the they didnt have TVs in the room. Was impressed to find wifi in a place like Varanasi! All in all even though the place is pricey if you are looking for an experience Ganges View is the place to be :)

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms before you get assigned one and if you can go for the ones on the upper lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bidisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in an upper floor room, which is the most expensive, maybe even a bit over-priced for India, but we were happy to have made that choice. The room was small but well furnished and decorated, as were the communal areas. The sitting area outside overlooks the Ganges, as does the first floor restaurant area. Assi ghat is quite peaceful, which surprised me, so this is a great place to retreat and relax after a hectic time in the more central areas. This is not a swish 5 star hotel where staff are forever present and can't do enough for you, but it was efficiently run and when we asked for something we got it. I preferred this hotel to the one of a similar standard next door, where we went for dinner, and the location is far better than that of the 5 star hotels which are away from the river - traffic is terrible so it really does take a long time to travel around by road, it is easier to walk on the small roads by along the river or travel by boat. Varanasi is a very special place for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Old indian private residence full of charm, located directly on Assi Ghat. Beautiful view from the terraces of the city and the Ganga. Bedrooms have with fine antiques and decorations. A little worn but clean sheets and towels. Good indian breakfast and dinner. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolofortunati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

the pictures on TripAdvisor are accurate, the hotel does have some very beautiful areas. It does feel like a wealthy Indian home with antiques and beautiful decor. It was very clean. We ended up changing rooms after the first night because we discovered they had given us the smallest room. There is a difference in rooms but they are supposed to be all the same price. Our second room was on the third floor (straight ahead all the way at the back) and 50% bigger with a much nicer bathroom and views from a large full-wall window. Our first room (second floor) had no window, small bathroom, small room, and was right off a lounge where people talked till late and disturbed us. The hotel is located a bit far from the old city and in august the river was so high we couldn't even see the ghats (so no iconic steps). The interesting part of Varanasi is the old city and it's a long long walk away or a bicycle rickshaw ride (a constant annoyance because they try soooo hard to get you to pay insane rates and aren't too concerned if you refuse, they'll just ride off). So, location not a plus. The room doesn't have a tv, which may seem unimportant to some, but after a hectic, hot day it is nice to go back to the hotel and relax in aircon and watch a bit of tv. Couldn't do that. The wifi only works in the very front lobby and was sporadic, off after dinner and out much of the day. This hotel is expensive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but we saw other guests at the "community" tables. We didn't want to have to dinner with other families, two of our group didn't speak English. The hotel front desk, no complaints, but they were cold and unsmiling. I think we overpaid because we pre-booked, but even in august they were full most of the time. At those rates, really about the highest we paid in India, we would say it wasn't worth it. After our first night we considered changing hotels and looked around- several very nice hotels nearby were much cheaper. We eventually stayed because they gave us a better room, and overall the decor and Indian feel of the hotel were nice despite the other shortcomings. Some advice about the city- it's dirty, but will give you a good feel for the India you were looking for, but it's tough going. If you think Delhi was difficult, you will go nuts here. We spent four days, could have cut that to two.

Room Tip: ask to see your room first...some are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I booked the hotel prior to my arrival. First mistake. You should discuss prices once you get there, you will pay around 50% less.

Service is one of the most unfriendly I've seen in my whole trip to India, they just don't care. The owner is a nice man, and very friendly, but he clearly doesnt care about the treatment the guests receive.

I definitely recommend the indian special dinner, very good food.

Rooms are ok, decoration is nice. Our bed was a bit stiff, and the bathrooms could use a facelift, but they are very clean compared to indian standards.

I dont agree with some of the other users opinion on location. It may not be in one of the central "gats" but it's definitely one of the best ones, very well located and with spectacular views.

If it hadnt been for the staff, I would have gladly rated it "Very Good".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yocastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
0.8 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
2.3 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
281 reviews
1.4 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
255 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Property: Hotel Ganges View
Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing