We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystic paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mystic paradise!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

i was lucky to have the most amazing room with the view right on the Ganga, i love the place; i love the rooms, i love the atmosphere , i love the restaurant and service!! Everything is perfect, i had a amazing time, it was my second time to varanasi, i enjoyed like never ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    755
    138
    40
    42
See reviews for
203
779
331
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kallangur
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you want the best view and the greatest food in Varanas, then this is the place to stay. I first stayed there in 2000 then again in 2006, and now again in December 2011. Room 10 has always been my choice as it has a door open onto the balcony, and is a great place to have cay and have one of the best views of the Ganges, without beig touted. The staff are always great, especially if treated like people and not servants, and the food is always 100%. The beds are like every other backpackers in India, and that is rock hard, but once you get used to sleeping on rocks, you really don't mind, as this is such a small price to pay for the shear pleasure of experiencing one of the most spritual places on earth.
In 2000 and again 2006 the hot water was iffy, however in 2011 hot water was available every time I needed it, so that is a huge bonus in a backpackers accommodation.
If you really want to experience the best of Varanasi, you can't go wrong staying at The Ganpati.
We wanted to see more of Varanasi on this trip, so we engaged the services o Kuldeep, he was amazing. He has lived in Varanasi his life and knows it like tha back of his hand. My husband and I were very impressed by his professionalism, sense of humor, and willingness to ensure we were totally happy. Just ask for him at reception. It will be money very well spent.
Julia Kallangur Australia

Room Tip: Room 10 by far by me. Just like this room it has loads of atmosphere. I would love to be able to fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaKallangur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was a bit unsure at first as prior to my arrival many people were saying it was hard to find good places to stay in Varanasi. Booked via the internet.
Transfer from the airport which was layed on was a bonus, be warned the car cannot take you up to the guest house you have to walk the last bit and can be a bit disorientating as you go through small alleyways turning this way then that. Don’t worry your cases are carried for you by the boys.
Most import thing is to book in advance, I saw so many people turned away and phone enquiries were the same.
I had room 3 which is the share balcony, with toilet and shower, very colorful room, which made up for no natural light. Please note this was Jan and was cold and foggy in the morning and evening so opening the doors on to the balcony was not possible. I say balcony but it is the access to other people’s rooms.
Restaurant had good food a bit of a wait but no tummy trouble

Room Tip: Book inadvance. Rooms with shower saves the walking to the shared toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyguy4413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband & I stayed at ganpati guest house during our recent travels in India. It was clean and comfortable. Our room was upstairs & each room has a huge padlock, so it felt very secure. The rooftop restaurant overlooked the river & action below. The other side emptied out to the interesting winding streets. You could hear prayers in the morning which was a beautiful way to awaken. We utilized the private ganpati car to get to and from the airport; it was clean, new, & very nice. The driver informed us of interesting sites. I highly recommend ganpati guest house.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbnbluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ganpati Guest House is a very cozy and charming hotel. We stayed there for 5 nights and stayed in 3 different room (because the hotel was fully booked, they had to move us to accommodate other guests). The rooms were all clean, but they varied significantly in terms of charm and atmosphere. The rooms facing the Ganges are the best - big and airy with beautiful views. You also have a nice sitting area that faces the Ganges. Surprisingly, our most expensive room was not necessarily the nicest - it had AC and more modern furniture, TV, etc., but it had only a partial river view and was a bit dark. We also had the misfortune to spend one night in an "interior" room. It faced the courtyard which is heavily trafficked, so we had to keep our window closed. The lighting was stark, so the room was a bit depressing.

Room Tip: If it's not summer, I would go for one of the non-AC rooms facing the Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This small hotel overlooking the River Ganga was a great find in our trip to India. The people were very kind and the roof top restaurant had amazing food and a fantastic view over the river.
The internal patio was very nicely decored as well as the rooms. The location was just perfect, five minutes walking to the main ghat and next to the old city but without the noise and hassle.
There was only one down during our stay and that was that the room´s walls are just like paper, you could even hear your neighbour breathe. So if you are lucky enough to find a quiet neihgbour you´ll be fine and in a very nice place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Facundo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice place to stay, very good location and handy restaurant and nice people. Most of the guests are tourist. You are near the main Ghat which is awesome :-). The room with the private balcony is a bit noisy, because it is surrounded by kitchens

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labamba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.6 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#21 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Property: Ganpati Guest House
Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing