We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
242
333
133
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
333
133
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool sol bar canton royale great pool cantonment area beautiful hotel buffet breakfast pizza hut balcony overlooking an oasis travel desk indian food old city thali hot water the river railway station
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 822 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Varanasi is a noisy place full of people, so it was so nice to stay in this peaceful and beautiful hotel. Staff, especially in the restaurant and those who cleaned rooms, was great! Rooms were good and clean and everything was easy and nice in this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnishgirl199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you found rest and peace while staying with us. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Second time we've stayed here. Rooms were much better than 3 years ago when we were last here. The restaurant is still superb and the new bar is a welcome addition.
But..... the housekeeping needs looking at. Over 5 days there was always something not in the room that should not have been missed. A cup, a towel, a loo roll etc. This is a tactical measure by the staff to get tips. The staff hang about, having brought something, waiting for tips. We cottoned on quickly and didn't entertain such behaviour.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. It is always helpful to us when we hear what the guests experienced while with us. We are very honoured that you have returned to stay with us. That is the ultimate compliment. We hope you will return again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Surya as end part of group tour. Grand old-style complex, lovely rooms, gardens and restaurant. Busy lady at reception was helpful, printing flight documents etc.
Rooms are modern and spacious, though mine had mouldy smell and balcony door wouldn't open #120. Maids were sweet and helpful.
Crazy waste that you need to run the shower for 20-30mins before hot water arrives....
Our farewell dinner in the restaurant was dampened by the snooty waiter and ruined totally with 8 of the twelve of us violently sick with vomiting/diarreah within hours. This hotel should really take a closer look at their food freshness and hygienic practices in the kitchen.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 8shay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us a chance to improve our services. I am very sorry to hear that you had some difficulties in your room and with our food. We are looking into these issues immediately. As we rarely have complaints about food quality, it will be helpful to know more about the incident. If possible, please contact us directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2016

Hotel Surya rescued us! Our train arrived into Murghal Sarai station a few hours late in the middle of the night and the hotel we'd booked and paid for refused to arrange a car for us. What with all the touts at the station we really didn't know what to! Luckily we found some tourists who recommended Hotel Surya who,when we called, immediately sent a car to collect us and we were very very grateful! The rooms were clean, the food was lovely and the staff were really helpful. We enjoyed shopping in the onsite shop too.

The man on the travel desk was also fantastic - after our train experience the previous day we decided to get a driver to take us to our next destination and the man advised us against it because the fog was making the roads dangerous. We were really grateful that he gave us honest advice instead of just making money out of us. Thank you.

Only negative of this hotel is that it's quite far away from the sites, but it's easy enough to get a rickshaw down there so it didn't cause us any problems.

Thanks for a lovely stay

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gordon_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2016

Thank you for your review. We're so glad we were able to meet your needs and that our team could help you. Thank you for being so kind and sharing your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2016

About 1/2 hr. from the ghats, this hotel had the best amenities and accommodations for the price. The pool, the included breakfast buffet, and the quality of the room made this place my first choice in Varanasi.

Room tip: All rooms are nice.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews