We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too many stairs to climb , staff not co-operative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Morbi, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“too many stairs to climb , staff not co-operative”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

staff is not at all cooperative i was travelling with my agrd parents but they did not dare to change my room my parents had to climb 150 steps .....which was horrible . they take so much time in chech -out. if u want to go out u need 300 rs . minimum no taxi will come without rs. 300. after u hav checked out they behave so rudely.vry bad xperience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chetnabhojani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are extremely concerned to hear about the inconvenience you and your parents faced at our resort. We have noted down your concerns and we have sensitized our staff on the same. We assure you that the corrective measures are being taken and your next visit to our resort will be a great one.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    141
    58
    17
    24
See reviews for
256
89
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The resort is well placed / located but when we visited it on 20th March the main approach road to the resort from the mall road was closed for renovation. so we had to circle around approx 3-4 kms to reach the resort.

We stayed for 2 nights/3 Days and our stay was fine (Not Super). The rooms are OK and need updation when we compare to new up coming resort options available.

The food for normal. indoor activities normal. The main attraction for the resort is its valley facing location.

Overall a fine experience, but in case if i visit mussoorie again i shall like to stay at some other place like Casmada.

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

a very narrow path leads to the location that is at the westend of this station. The resort was made very well but maintenance issues have got the better of. The rooms are large and look down into the valley. The rooms are pretty far off from the lobby and dining areas and is hard for septagenarians. Food is very average and so is room service. Gettig to the town square takes effort. But enjoy long walks and soak in nature. Water may be an issue sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmitMathur54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vizag
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Recently i have made a booking thru a travel agent for sterling resort mussoorie, unfortunately the day when i have reached and was to check in it was heavy snow on the roads and vehicle what we had hired has not made its way to the main centre so that we can manage to get any other convence, we had to walk 1.5 kms, towards the mall road, and kept calling the resort manager but they have not even responded, or showed any courtesy to send any alternate vehicle to shift us to their resort as the booking was made, they said from mall road it is 3 km away to their resort, and roads are blocked due to snow, i have called travel agent who has made booking, after he has shown interest the resort person called and said they would arrange some hotel near the mall road to stay at night, but the property was substandard and kept charging for each and other service, as we had to stay for a night we had to pay, next day morning i called to check if he can send any vehicle i was informed that by 9 their drivers would come and they will arrange but till 12 pm they have not arranged. and due to bad wheather condition i had to cut my 1 day booking i have asked the resort person to refund, but he says as it is done in pacakage and if you want or dont you have to stay in the hotel till there are some good signs of clearance, i didnt wanted to take a chance as i had my further schedule designed.
but please beware of this property if you are stuck then they would not respond.

Room Tip: Beware as there is no Hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vimalvizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotal is good. Rooms are very well done. Food is great. But the only problem is the location of the hotel. The lane which goes towards hotel from market is very narrow. Another major problem is climbing up & down the steep steps for reaching your rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFunUnLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The resort is located on the hill slopes with a good view

Finding it is a little tough but the staff did a good job of guiding me over the phone, the last 2 odd kms is a literally one way narrow road; luckily did not face any vehicle coming from the opposite side

It is quite a walk from the reception/parking to the room which is downhill; on the way back it is quite a climb so if you are with elders make sure they have the fitness to do it; else they would not want to go out of the room more than once a day

The rooms are big with average maintenance; the rooms with the best view unfortunately are not yet ready for occupying though the infrastructure building looks quite a few years old

Room Tip: check in earlier than regular check in time to choose the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parimalpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have stayed here with family recently (end of October-November) for three nights.. Beautiful view from the rooms. Rooms are big enough and well maintained. They have room heater provided so your stay is comfortable. They do have geyser in the bathroom. Nice view from the balcony as well. The only problem is the steps you have to climb, they do not have elevators. You may have to climb around a 100+ steps to reach the reception/restaurant. So if you have elderly with you who cannot climb steps you are in trouble.

The location of the hotel was a little inside from the main road, not too far and taxis are available, so not to worry.

Food was good. They have buffet breakfast and dinner. Lunch we ordered from the menu. They had some food deal going on, so food wasn't too expensive. Overall it was good staying there. I would go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abypune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.2 km away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
553 reviews
3.9 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.1 km away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#13 of 74 in Mussoorie
419 reviews
2.2 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: New Circular Road | Dehradun,Mussoorie, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, all is anew - new name, new décor. Experience the good old charm of Mussoorie and the alluring Doon valley from the comfort of premium modern rooms that have been just renovated to take your holidaying experience to the next level. Located 2.5 km from the town of Mussoorie, on a patch of hillside land which is combed by 300 steps is Sterling Holidays - Dancing Leaves where nature awaits in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing