We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
95
43
19
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
43
19
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood housedoon valleysmall lawnworth every penny spentlip smackingdehradun citystayed for nightslocation is excellentmemorable tripcomfortable staybreakfast and dinnervisited mussooriebeautiful propertyexcellent staymonkeyskmview
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 175 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2011

A well maintained heritage property. Very large, luxurious rooms with high ceiling & a fire place that creates a warm, cozy environment. we felt that 2 nights was not enough as it takes 1 day to soak in the feeling of experiencing the old world charm. The beauty of Kama Vilas is private spaces in every corner right in the middle of nature. You could just laze around Karma Vilas getting a sun tan for a week

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Nice place but let me get objective so its easier for others to decide:

Pros:
-Excellent service & hospitality. Catered all all requirements like early checking at 7am without extra charge. All the staff always smiling and courteous.
- Breakfast superb. but continental and indian.
- special champagne & cake on xmas nite complimentary was an added surprise.

also must mention that we booked this hotel solely to enjoy the fire place. in fact we took the more expensive room as we were told the ifre place is functional. on reaching we were told its not possible. so we spoke to the owner who frist just provided regular heater and on continued persuasion they managed it for a few hours next day.

Cons:
-Far from Mall road.. either walk 2 kms of steep hilly road or take cab of fixed 100Rs. ITs other end of Library road. but location is quiet and view is excellent.
- Dinner is too basic - dal, roti types no variety. not even soup is chill winters besides packet soup !! :( and you have to order by 5pm latest for a meal i need at 9pm!
-cant sit out in the lawn to eat as monkey (huge ones) join you and take all stuff away
- no heaters in room and think walls didnt help much either in the chill dec cold. but heater provided at extra charge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Karma Vilas is a magical place, Surrounded by pine forest from all sides, one get’s a feeling of living in the middle of the forest. Very pure, serene and beautiful place. The food and service too was excellent. We just felt like home in nature’s lap. Karma Vilas experience will remain in our memories forever.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you ever wanted to have a nice relaxed weekend in Mussoorie, the name thats most likely to be trust worthy is Karma Vilas Resort. Located in the pristine surroundings and in the amazing lap of nature, it offers wonderful setting for a nice relaxing time. The resort per se is very eco-friendly and has a relaxed feel about it. The rooms are beautifully kept and the other furniture items in the resort are very tastefully selected and managed.
The resort staff is also very friendly and always willing to work towards providing various experiental moments. I celebrated my birthday and the gesture of the staff was memorable and still etched well in the memories.
To top it all, good healthy food to satiate your hunger. The food made is fresh and made with careful consideration.
Overall a fantastic place to be in and the experience is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Varadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The location of the resort Karma Vilas is away from the hustle and bustle which can be a good thing but not for those who want a decent meal. We returned from a tiring trip to Dhanaulti during lunch time, when we asked for lunch the people there said they had no lunch but we can order pizza from Domino's or go to mall road for anything to eat. Mall road is good 10-15 min away from car with so much traffic, for which we didn't have any energy left. Having no other option we ordered Domino's. This is also fine but surprisingly when a gathering of really loud people arrived they were ready to cook lunch for them. We ordered tea in evening which took a good 45 minutes as all people were busy in attending the new gathering. So much for a royal treatment. Everything was slow and delayed. We waited and waited for dinner to arrive. The room were okay but the beds were not very comfortable. Book at your own risk, this hotel can completely ruin your trip if you are there for a relaxing weekend. Also don't go by what they show on their website. There is no restaurant in the resort, neither you have food as per their menu. They just cook one meal per meal for veg and nonveg which u have to eat weather you want it. they say that wifi is complimentary but there is none.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audreyjalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews