We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shiva Continental
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The hotel is situated near Picture palace, to me it was the best place coz, it was near to all the best resturants in town. Very near to the famous Mall Road. The good thing about the hotel is its cleaniness, hygine and the service staff is quite courteous.
The room size was quite good and the view from the room was also not bad. The terrace of the hotel is nice place to be and have lunch.In house buffet breakfast was very good. however lunch was just ok
The cost of our stay was with in budget. The only downside I could see with the hotel was parking. There is no inhouse parking instead we were suppose to park in nearby government parking.
I would surely recommend to any one looking for comfortable and friendly stay.

Room Tip: Talk to manager and you could get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SachinMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    25
    14
    9
    19
See reviews for
58
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hotel Shiva Continental , Mussoorie
Date 29th dec 2010

I had booked this hotel as one of my friends had given an amazing feedback about it.
After my stay in this hotel i would love to suggest it to most of the people.
As this hotel offers all the amenities which are required in a 3star hotel.
Rooms were spacious , neat and clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raghavgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolhapur, MS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I booked this Hotel online by viewing its photos and some reviews. Building is quite good but not the service. They allotted me a room having Large window from which a "Wall of Stones" was visible. It was made to support upper buildings and roads, as it is hilly place. There was annoying bad smell in room, I guess from Carpet. It was like non-washer socks. Though hotel have Centralized AC, they didn't use to keep temperature pleasant. It was about 15 Degree Celsius and they would have kept rooms to 22 or so.

When I requested for Extra Bed, a person came with bedding, grabbed Remote of TV on bed, started it, browsed till him favorite channel; finally started to prepare extra bed, while watching TV !

On, and the TV, it was of annoying brand rather "Unbranded". When one presses CH+ button on Remote, previous channel appears ! Tuning was not proper either. Furniture in room is kinda old styled. No hot water 24x7. When you order something on phone, you must wait atleast for 30 mins.

In the first interaction they seemed to be more interested in Money rather than service. When I sent an email for confirmation of reservation, I got reply in which they asked whether I have paid for extra bed online, otherwise they will charge me.

And this one is not a budget hotel. You can certainly get better hotel than this, at same cost. Even closer to Mall Road.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank electrosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mussoorie hotels

Jalandhar (Punjab)
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

If you are visiting Mussorie, Hotel Shiva Continental is the best value for money. The hotel is located on the best location, right on the mall road. Rooms are great and the room service is prompt. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vermacab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We went for our trip to Mussoorie during the weekend holiday. At that time, all the hotels were sold out as there was heavy rush. This was the only okay hotel where we could get the room. Whwn we entered, they charged us too high. Whwn we entered the room, the room was not having a properly working T.V.. The room was not clean. We had to everyday ask the front office twice or thrice in order to get the room cleaned and had to direct them whereall the cleaning was required. Also, for food and other things as well, the service was very slow and then too, they gave very small quantity and overcharged. Our room's roof was leaking as well. The fan was also not working. So, overall the experience was bad. But we couldn't help it as our plan was very hurriedly built. And we couldnt get the rooms in other good hotels at that time owing to great rush.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getsoni2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I read the reviews before going there and I found the comments not much elaborates about this hotel. I was there for 2 nights (22 Sep-24 Sep). September is considered off season in Mussoorie.

Location: Hotel is located in off mall road and has a small view of hills. If any one is like to stay centre of the city and want to visit frequently in the city. This is the ideal place for them.

Service: Room service was good. Staff is quite friendly. They arranged whatever we asked.

Amenities: Not much. It depends if you wanna stay whole day in the hotel or want to roam around the city to see the real beauty of the city.

Rooms: Clean rooms with comfortable facilities. Excuse me if you are looking for extra luxury, the one should move to some other location / hotel.

I find this is quite good for families.

One thing here I have to mention is not to go the view point ‘Laat Tibba’. If you really want to view Himalayan views please take the good binocular / small telescope.

Another one is, not to have any snacks offering from the lady sitting just below the view points. You can not believe we had a small pack of Maggie that costs 35 rupees. Better to have something your own.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathinda, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Never waste your money here. Terrible!!
We had booked for 3 days but stayed there for only a half. And still they charged us for 3 days.
Sometimes, Their pipe leaked and water rushed in our rooms. Terrible hotel. Better stay at a dhaba than this one!! Untidy lift. And much more. NO NO NO
Terrible, Terrible, Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mohak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mussoorie
2.9 km away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
119 reviews
13.5 km away
Hotel Shiva Residency,Dehradun
Hotel Shiva Residency,Dehradun
#36 of 195 in Dehradun District
204 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#22 of 74 in Mussoorie
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#12 of 74 in Mussoorie
438 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
#29 of 74 in Mussoorie
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiva Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiva Continental

Property: Hotel Shiva Continental
Address: The Mall Road | Near Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shiva Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shiva Continental offers a selection of 37 well appointed rooms, including 11 Standard Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms, 12 Super Deluxe Rooms and 3 Maharaja Suites. We are located near the Picture Palace just 5 minutes away from the Mall Road. This is a place for leisure, recreation, family and corporate bonding. We do not have our own parking facility, however Government parking is available near the hotel at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Shiva Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing