We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Denpasar”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denpasar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nakula Familiar Inn
Ranked #45 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Denpasar
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a great place to stay when in Denpasar. It's quite a large homestay, but not too big to make it impersonal. The staff are super friendly, the room we had was large and very comfortable with flushing western toilet but only cold water for the shower (but, honestly, it's too hot for a hot shower anyway!). We had a fan room, which cost 150,000 Rp per night. Breakfast isn't included, although they did provide us with a Balinese "cake" every morning on the house, which wasn't so much a cake as a little medley of lots of little sweet delicacies. Delicious! They do offer meals throughout the day, but I thought they were pretty expensive, and we prefer to try local warungs nearby, which there are plenty of, serving fantastic food for next to nothing. There are lots of markets nearby, if you fancy checking out their "malls", they're just a short walk away. It's nearby the bemo terminals if you're heading to the north of Bali to go to Java by ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

stayed there three nights,found this small inn from the rough guide,a budget choice in denpasar,the staff here is helpful and honest,the host Adi is friendly lady,and also her family,every morning when I had my breakfast at the dinette(breakfast is not free,but good,I love their fruit platter),Adi will come to greet me and chatted with me, Adi's grandmother (or mother in law?)will talk to me too.A warm place to stay,if you don't know where to stay,then nakula familiar inn is your best choice,with convenient location,and affordable price.of course during low season,you will get good price,the room is huge,they clean everyday,so don't worry about the cleanliness.but since it located in downtown,you may feel noisy during rush hour,but I rarely stayed in the room during that time,so it's ok for me,or you can just close the window!and the last ,they will close the gate after 23.00,don't worry,just ring the doorbell,and the staff will come

Room Tip: choose the second floor room,much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed two nights at the nakular familiar inn. I booked it without reading any reviews hoping it would be ok. The inn is off a busy side street in a family compound. It’s friendly and almost feels like a homestay. The room I got was 200,000Rp (~ $22) without air conditioning or 250,000Rp (~ $28) with air conditioning, I was told this was expensive for Denpasar but I was happy with the price and the location of the hotel. It’s not really touristy there, in fact I was asked many times by taxi drivers why I wasn’t staying in Kuta or Sanur. I think if you want to see how a lot of modern Balinese people live it’s a good place to visit though.

Unlike many hotels in Bali the Nakula familiar inn did not come with breakfast but has a small restaurant offering various dishes. There is also good food options around the hotel including a bakery and several local restaurants (especially one I found that served an amazing mie java ayam). The inn is located right near all the local markets, internet cafe Puputan Park and several shopping malls including Bali mall. I was given a map highlighting all these attractions plus nearby restaurants when I arrived.

Overall this hotel is not for people looking for luxury accommodation but rather for people on a budget or backpackers to experience another (and much less touristy) side of Bali.

Room Tip: The air conditioning is worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank imso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Marita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas y aller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibu_Adi, Owner at Nakula Familiar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Andri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denpasar hotels
8.1 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
7.6 km away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#25 of 137 in Sanur
157 reviews
7.2 km away
Taman Kesari Villas
Taman Kesari Villas
#21 of 146 in Sanur
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
3.4 km away
Cityzen Renon
Cityzen Renon
#101 of 147 in Denpasar
53 reviews
8.1 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakula Familiar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakula Familiar Inn

Address: Jl. Nakula no. 4, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Denpasar
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nakula Familiar Inn. The best budget accommodation in Denpasar, Bali. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nakula Familiar Inn Bali/Denpasar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing