We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Bali”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Johnpaul
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Johnpaul
Your Private Pool Upstairs Bedroom With Beautiful View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Villa Johnpaul
Your Private Pool
Upstairs Bedroom With Beautiful View
Dinning / Pool Area
Your Downstairs Bedroom
Your Wonderful Upstairs View From The Landing Area
Your Chill Out Pool Area
Your Private Downstairs Bathroom Courtyard
Your Living Room Area
Chill Out Area With Your Own Private Pool
Upstairs Bail Area With Day Bed
Living Area
Your Upstairs Bedroom
Villa Front Entrance
Your View From The Upstairs Bedroom
Your Front Gate Villa Entrance
Relax In The Upstairs Bale Area
Main Entrace To Villa Johnpaul
Your Out Side Dining Area
Garden Area
Your Breakfast Bar Area
Your Downstairs Bathroom
Your Downstairs Bathroom Courtyard
Your Upstairs Bathroom
Your Fantastic Outside Shower Experience
High Security Wall
Private Pool Area
Your Marble Downstairs Bathroom
One Of The Garden Water Features
Your Downstairs Powder Room
Your Down Stairs Marble Bathroom
One Of The Villas Chill Out Areas
Your Private Pool Area
Your Marble Downstairs Bathroom
Relax In Your Bath / Both Upstairs Ensuites
The Upstairs Bail Ceiling, A Wonderful Place To Relax & Read A Book
One Of Your Upstairs Marble Bathroom
Your Upstairs Veiw
Villa Complex Shared Area
Villa Complex Shared Area
Villa Complex Shared Area
Villa Complex Shared Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jimbaran, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicki G
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Nice villa”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This villa at Ullawatu is very nice, but travellers should be aware that it is in a pretty remote location in terms of access to places to eat etc as there is nowhere within walking distance. Made the driver was fantastic, but we also needed to hire scooters so we could do our own thing - eg explore the area. If you are not willing to do something like this then this villa may be too out of the way. Towels were not changed during our stay which would have been nice and the house keeping could have been better, I washed dishes and left them on the sink to drain, they were never put away until I did it myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space to spend with family
Liked least: Area, too out of the way, lots of building going on around the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2015
Our housekeeper Pretty Made cleans the villa Monday to Saturday 6 days a week (Excluding Sunday). The villa is spotless and always kept clean and tidy, pretty Made is a gem and takes her job very seriously. The only way our housekeeper would not clean the dishes is on a Sunday. As for towels fresh towels are changed every three days. As detailed in the information sheet all guests are provided regarding their stay at the villa if fresh towels are required sooner a request to the house keeper that comes every day to the villa is all that is needed, pretty Made is more than happy to change the towels if required by the guest. Uluwatu is remote and that is what attracts guests to the area, and that is why we provide a dedicated driver to drive just for your group. If guests want the cut and thrust we suggestthey stay in Kuta or Seminyak. Uluwatu is a beautiful tranquil piece of Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortsn
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modest holiday rental”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa john paul is a modest holiday villa located in an isolated part of uluwatu. We stayed here as a group of 6 friends. The villa is comfortable with two upstairs bedrooms and one downstairs bedroom with outdoor bathroom. There's a few small maintenance issues that we encountered whilst staying which included leaking airconditioner unit causing a puddle in the master bedroom and ant/spider clusters in a few locations inside. I also wasn't personally a fan of looking at the villa walls clad with shards of glass as make shift barbed wire. The villa is kept clean but some of the appliances and decore are slightly dated or of low quality. Due to the isolated location of the villa, we decided to check out a day early and stay an extra night in a seminyak resort. The only attraction or eatery that is slightly close to this villa is the banyan tree resort 'next door' but this is still atleast a 15 minute walk along roads that are too dangerous for pedestrians, even during daylight. Remember that when you are staying in a holiday rental/private villa; there is no facilities onsite eg resturants, gym, shops, bar etc and no onsite house keeping/maintenence to deal with issues like the airconditioner late at night. We acknowledge that having a driver assists with the isolation issue and for the very competative price we booked at, maybe our expectations were too high. It should be noted that made's vehicle does seat 6 passengers but with all seats full, it leaves room for only about 1 or 2 suitcases at most. The location of the villa makes it impossible to walk anywhere so the group you are staying with needs to be prepared to do all activities together or try to get taxis for pickups. When considering the cost of staying here, don't forget to factor in the cost of purchasing groceries, time spent shopping for these and also the fact that often you will need to pay made a bit extra to be available to drive more than 8 hours each day (plus taxis if the group seperates). All of the villa staff are so welcoming and very good at their job (especially Made, if we could have booked him as our personal driver whilst staying in seminyak, we definitely would have). If you stay at the villa i highly recommend booking an in-villa massage service (ask made). John the owner is very professional and responsive to all emails when booking and planning your stay. If you do stay here, don't forget to look after the villa staff and made with a generous tip. Also don't forget to byo toiletries. I would not stay here again but i think this property would be well suited to a family who were travelling with a limited budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2015
During the month of February the villa has had a face lift, the interior was painted and new showers installed. A new flat screen TV, and music system installed, knifes and forks, new dinning set and glasses, new lounge covers, plus new bedding all to help guests enjoy their stay with us.

I am pleased to advise that all maintenance issues have now been completed, a new air conditioner fitted to the down stairs bedroom plus the pest control man has rectified the small ant problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff306
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Bali”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at John Paul Villa. Very peaceful and serene location in Ulawatu. Our driver MADE was just incredible, without him we would have been lost. He was so friendly and reliable and he really made the holiday for us. The weather was just perfect and we visited so many different parts of Bali, it was just amazing. Very friendly people, so relaxed and how they contend with traffic compared to us is really mind boggling. We will have great memories of our first visit to Bali.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Hi Sue and Jeff, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay at villa Johnpaul.

Made our driver is a gem and always looks after our guests 100%, he is always there to assist you when required but does not push any agenda it is always about the guest enjoying their Bali experience. The small team of unique Made our driver, pretty Made our housekeeper and Nyoman the gardener thank you for your kind comments about them and your fantastic review about the villa Johnpaul.

Bali offers a great deal for the traveler these days, fantastic sights, wonderful food, the best villa holiday accommodation experience (we do anyway), so relaxing, and with unique Made for your driver / tour guide he always goes the extra yard for our villa Johnpaulguests.

Once again thank you for your great review, it is sensational for all involved to get your positive feedback we hope to see you return to Bali soon.

Keep safe and be well.

Kind Regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fidgetgid...
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Pecatu!”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights with 3 children. Villa was very clean and spacious and perfect for our needs. The Free driver was a huge drawcard for us as a family and you need one as you are quiet isolated without transport. Made (driver) was fantastic!! Easy to get along with, very accommodating with a great sense of humour. He drove us to the supermarket to get daily food supplies, to the laundry and to nearby restaurants to get take-aways. We ate in 4 of the 6 nights (after big days out) and can also highly recommend Kats Kitchen for Thai food. We went out everyday, mostly all day, to either explore the beaches of the peninsula or head into Sanur or Canngu. We also did a day trip to Waterbom. Made (maid) and her husband were delightful and very friendly. You have to buy your own food and this was fun shopping at the local supermarket. The only thing the villa had was salt, sugar, oil and tomato sauce. We just brought cereal, eggs, bread, jam and fruit for breakfast and drinks/nibblies for evenings. The pool was fantastic..perfect temperature and partly shaded. We had issues with the A/C in downstairs bedroom - it dripped water and was often very cold or not working well. Staff tried to fix this promptly. The biggest dislike for us was the construction happening next door. This was obviously not the fault of the Villa and a common site in Bali but it does affect the peacefulness and ambience of the villa at the moment. Construction workers arrived about 7am and were there till about 6pm. Given that you eat outdoors next to the pool it was hard to avoid the noise. We adapted and found the pool fountains to be helpful to mask some of the noise.. we also opted to leave the villa each day so it was not really a big issue for us, but might be, if you have plans to stay in.
The outdoor bathroom was fun and even the kids opted to shower there than in there own bathrooms. As a suggestion - a mobile phone for guest use would have been helpful to communicate with Made and two other villas we stayed at supplied one. We thought it was a great idea and extremely helpful. Otherwise, take your own phone (unlocked) and get a sim card. Made can help with this. Overall, we had a great stay at the villa and will certainly recommend it to friends. John was easy to communicate with prior and answered all our messages promptly or by phone.Huge Thankyou to John, Made and Made!! We had a great stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Driver and the Pool
Liked least: Building noise next door
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Kristen and family,

We are delighted to hear that your were impressed with the villa and its layout. Both Nyoman and pretty Made' work hard on presenting the villa in the best light.

Thank you for the feedback re the aircon the aircon has now been repaired and is running well.

Made' Unique was delighted with your comments he is a real gem and offers guests so much additional value to their holiday stay with us.

Kristen, once again thank you for giving your time to complete your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whypoo
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so relaxing,just fantastic”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just as reviews and description state . Some building going on nearby but seems to be the case most of bukit,very pieceful at night .No basic food items , ie coffee tea oil etc but hey shops nearby . Some small issues of maintenance need sorting - kitchen sink pipe leak, down stairs toilet door latch,tile in kitchen entry replaced,but I'm sure Made will have it all sorted asap he was so reliable and patient and made our journies so stress less and enjoyable . Made the cleaner also does a fabulous job .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: driver,pool, air con
Liked least: going
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
We were very pleased you enjoyed your stay at villa Johnpaul. The small team of unique Made our driver, pretty Made our housekeeper and Nyoman the gardener were delighted to read your review and thank you for your very positive comments about the villa and staff.

Thank you for your feedback the villa repairs are completed and ready for the next guests.

Bali offers a great deal for the traveler these days, fantastic sights, wonderful food, the best villa holiday accommodation experience (we do anyway), so relaxing, and with unique Made for your driver / tour guide he always goes the extra yard for our villa guests, he is a gem.

Once again thank you for your great review, it is sensational for all involved to get your positive feedback. :)))

Keep safe and be well.

Kind Regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cielly
Nanjing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Miss your villa Very Much”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I don't know if I am the first Chinese to use vacation rental. I discovered this website very occasionally, and I found John Paul Villa,a real gem in Uluwatu. To be honest, it is a little adventurous for me to pay such an amount of money in advance, because I am used to pay afterwards. But This time I made the right decision.
Made is a very good driver. He showed up on time, and kept a mild smile all the time. He never recommended anything until we asked. That is very rare in Bali. We had several drivers after we left the villa. They were nice too, but they always tried to sell us different things or recommend any activities. This was a little awkward for us to refuse. But Made never did that. Sometimes we told him to take us to local restaurants. And his choice was excellent. I still remember the delicious Italian restaurant and Indonesia food. Thank you very much, Made.
About the villa. Comfortable accommodation, we all had the feel of home. Actually we cooked in the kitchen for two days. Everything is prepared perfectly. Just a tiny problem is in one room upstairs, the shower water is not so good. Please repair that.
About the gardener and the cook. Because we were outside all the days, I didn't have conversation with them. But they did their job perfectly.
My husband and I took my mother and my father-in-law together in this trip. It was so difficult for me to find a three-room villa in a limited budget. Thanks to John Paul Villa we had a brilliant start in Bali. I sincerely hope one day we can come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The driver Made
Liked least: shower in one bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Hi, yes I think you are the fist Chinese family to stay at villa Johnpaul.

We were very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at villa Johnpaul.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the water pressure, we have now fitted a water tank with in house pressure pump so our guests have good water pressure all times of the day.

The villa Johnpaul team work hard for you to enjoy your Bali holiday and it is so rewarding for them to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay.

Hope to see you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jode2014
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Villa with Driver”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa was a more traditional style with an impressive pool area, outdoor garden and outside bathroom. We enjoyed the area by the pool the most and spent many a relaxing morning enjoying the atmosphere this villa presents. The driver was the real bonus. Madi was a kind and well spoken gentleman with a great sense of humor. He was easy going and was more than happy to accommodate all our requests. I would recommend staying at this lovely villa to any couple or family with children .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and outside shower in bathroom..
Liked least: The bath taps do not have a good hot water pressure. Aircon in main bedroom was noisy.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at villa Johnpaul. The small team of unique Made our driver, pretty Made our housekeeper and Nyoman the gardener are always pleased to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us they get a real buzz from your positive comments.

Bali offers a great deal for the traveler these days, fantastic sights and wonderful food.

It is sensational for all involved at villa Johnpaul to get your positive feedback. :))) once again thank you for your great review. The team at villa Johnpaul thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you return to Bali soon to visit us.

Kind Regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing