We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Karma Jimbaran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karma Jimbaran
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is our second time around in the last 12 months back in Karma Jimbaran. We had such a wonderful time the last time, we brought friends along. Our friends were equally pleased with the facility. Having young children while traveling can be a challenge but staying in Karma Jimbaran makes it a lot easier. The kids loved the 3 Monkeys Club and mommies loved the spa. The staff is always friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
SueDuncan, thank you for your 2nd posting and thank you for returning to us. We love welcoming all guests, but our return guests mean we do it right which the team here love seeing and knowing they have contributed to a wonderful Karma experience. It is great seeing the increase in guests from Singapore venturing our way to enjoy our product and service. It is so close, so bring more friends with you next time and tell everyone we are here. Liaise with me directly when this can occur again gm@karmajimbaran.com and I will ensure you are all very well looked after as you should be as a multiple return guest. See you soon.
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    123
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
224
148
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Karma Jimbaran in March. We were upgraded to a four bedroom villa on arrival and over the next 6 days enjoyed fantastic service and consideration as other members of our family joined us. Nothing was too much trouble for General Manager Luke and his staff to make our holiday more relaxing. The villa was equipped with everything we needed for self catering, though we chose to eat at the restaurant most nights and enjoyed consistently wonderful food. The staff at the restaurant even entertained our one year old grandson by pushing his pram around the swimming pool when he and his parents joined us for an early dinner. We were also provided with cot and high chair within an hour of requesting them. We really appreciated the availability of the sister resort, Karma Kandara for a change of scenery. The infinity pool and view were amazing as well as the ride on the funicular down the cliff face to the Namos Beach Club. A regular transfer service in comfortable cars ran between the two resorts. More than anything we appreciated the ability to shut ourselves away in our own walled garden with beautiful pool and traditional Balinese surroundings. When we did venture out of our villa, we enjoyed the two of three treatments we had at the resort spa. The resort is close to the fish restaurants in Jimbaran Bay, which we enjoyed thoroughly as well as the tranquility of the almost rural setting when you walked further on down the road, a complete contrast to the few days we had in Seminyak. In conclusion, this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcarolMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
030612yy, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear TravelCarol, thank you so much for your wonderful review and for the time taken to write this. As you know the team here create guest experiences with a "whatever it takes" attitude and I believe this shows in their desire and intent to please. The team here in all areas love children, one of the many beauties of the Balinese people and this is before you even enter the kids club. Our product and facilities are perfect for families and I am glad you experienced this as well as our sister property only 20mins away. There is so much to enjoy in our area and Jimbaran is becoming more active, so I look forward to seeing you again and let me know if I can assist personally with a return.
Kind regards
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed on a deal at Karma Jimbaran - it was fantastic value for the deal. Service was great, 3 bedroom villa with pool was perfect for our family with children 2, 6 & 8 (we only needed 2 bedrooms as the master was huge and was set up with a netted cot). We were opposite the kids club and it was really quiet so the older kids would pop over to the girls at the club whenever they wanted and hang out doing beads and crafts while we stayed by the pool.

It's really a place to enjoy if you're happy to just hang - not a place to be heading out all of the time as it's amongst resorts in Jimbaran so not easy to find non-resort places to eat (and the beach seafood restaurants wanted to charge $50 a head even for the kids!). We had a wonderful day at the sister resort Karma Kandara at the suggestion of the manager - free transfers and as they were quiet they took the 2 yr old in Kids Club (i think normally it's 3 up) while we enjoyed a swim in the clifftop pool - amazing views!

All up a really great stay - 4 days was enough for us to relax before heading to Seminyak (not great for the little kids) and then Sanur where we could get about more easily. It was quiet in the restaurant so a bit lacking in atmosphere but food and service was very good and we could be in and out reasonably quickly - always a bonus with small children.

Also we enjoyed a lovely massage at the day spa and the grounds were beautiful. Rooms were really clean, furnishings lovely and pool a good size for our family of five.

Room Tip: We were in a villa that was raised from the driveway so had good views over trees and gardens. The l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearpics2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Bearpics2, thank you for your review and for visiting us from Melbourne. I really appreciate the fact you wrote it a few months after you had stayed, any feedback is good feedback regardless of time. Not much has changed since you left, the villas are still beautiful and very spacious, the team still love to serve our guests with genuine intent and our kids club ladies are still as wonderful as always. One item you noted in your review which has changed is the introduction of live music as of 2 months ago. We now twice weekly have a wonderful acoustic performance by the pool in the Karma Lounge, with BBQ in addition to a new A la Carte menu. We have noticed a very good increase in atmosphere, attendance and guest experience mainly from our guests in house so when you return which we hope you do, there is even more reason to stay. Feel free to contact me directly gm@karmajimbaran.com if I can assist to make a return happen.
Kind regards
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I bought a voucher for a 4 night stay in a 2 bedroom villa at Karma. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a 4 bedroom villa. My partner and I could not believe our eyes. This place was huge! I took the upstairs master bedroom, complete with walk in dressing room, massive bathroom and 2 balconies. My partner took the large bedroom off the living room. We did not even use the pavilion or the downstairs bedroom (both with bathrooms and outside showers).

This place is seriously beautiful. The service and food were of a similar high standard. We felt like rockstars!

I must thank Luke again for allowing us a late check out due to our late flight.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saza_the_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Saza_the_great, thank you for visiting us from Melbourne (one of the worlds great cities) and taking the time to write your review. Our product is very spacious with a lot of privacy for all, whether a couple, family or group of friends travelling together. I am glad you took full advantage of the size of the villas as well as the comfort and privacy of your own fantastic sized plunge pool. Our food and beverage, the service that complements this and the price point is very genuine especially in an area that has so much competition, so I am glad you have recognised this and more importantly enjoyed it. Tell all your friends where we are and bring them back with you, perhaps during the winter months of winter in Melbourne so you can escape to some wonderful Balinese warmth in temperature and service. See you again soon.
Kind regards
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our stay at the Karma Jimbaran was amazing! A private but personalised resort - our 4 bedroom villa was huge and very luxurious. The staff were excellent and our children were made feel very special. We loved our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury resort which still has much Bali feel to it. The staff were so friendly and would go out of their way to help you. The pool in our villa was a good size and the kids enjoyed this alot. The karma Lounge had great atmosphere - good music to chill out to over a few drinks. The restaraunt serves the best banana puddings ever !
Thanks to Luke, Charles, Eka, Ayu and all the wonderful staff at Karma Jimbaran we are very grateful for such a wonderful experience !! Look forward to our return visit.
Jodie, Mick, Jarrah, Bay and Sadie xx

Room Tip: Villas are large and very private - enough room for family to spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pellavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Jodi, Mick, Jarrah, Bay and Sadie thank you very much for your review and also thank you for your positive comments about your experience with us. It is good looking after good people, the team here enjoy what they do with genuine intent and desire which is a wonderful thing. I am very confident that because of the respect, interaction and care which was also provided by yourselves as a great family to our family here, the same was returned. We all look forward to seeing you again and anything I can do to assist to make that happen, I am here to help.
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We just returned from a seven-night stay at Karma Jimbaran. To me, five stars implies perfection, so perhaps that would be appropriate for the Four Seasons just down the street, but I'll give Karma four and a half for coming very close. Although it was just the two of us, we were upgraded to a three-bedroom villa from two (the smallest they have is two), without our asking or saying anything. The Villa itself had two separate buildings - one a large family room/dining room/kitchen combination with full size fridge, microwave, stove, etc. It was reasonably well equipped, but we did not cook there. The fridge and kitchen were stocked with items, and the prices were not unreasonable for a high-end resort. Nonetheless, we found it easy to haul a few things back from the store each day. The dining table was large, and there was a couch and a few chairs, a TV and a DVD. We did not watch much TV, and although there was a DVD library available, we did not use it. Overall, a very nice common room.

The second building had three separate bedrooms - a master upstairs with a king bed, plenty of closet space, large soaking tub and separate shower (there was also an outside shower at the other building). The bed was comfortable and every night the staff would come in to close the blinds and prepare the bed. Nice touch. Downstairs was a bedroom with a king and another with two twins and a desk, which was where I set-up my computer. Wifi was free and worked well.

The villa was surrounded by high walls and provided complete privacy for those seeking an all-over tan. There were four decent lounges with pads, a couple of chairs with a table, and a very separate small area with a table and four chairs. Best of all, we had a private pool of about 10 by 5 feet. It was a perfect place to chill and do nothing, even in the hot and humid March weather of Bali. The gate to the villa can be locked and you are provided signs to hang outside should you wish to be left alone, need service or need laundry done.

Again, this is not the Four Seasons, and Karma is a bit pricey (we were there on a special promotion rate), but I think it is fairly priced for what you are getting. Economically, this would certainly be a better choice for a family or two to four couples (they also have 4 bedroom villas). The entire property is well maintained and clean. There is a library, gym, spa (my girlfriend went twice and loved it - again a little pricey but much cheaper than most comparable resorts we have been to), and a central pool, which, being about 25 meters long is perfect for swimming laps. Otherwise, why bother - you have your own pool for cooling and rinsing off.

Breakfast was included and was generally very good. There were few if any restrictions on what or how much you could order. We generally had a big breakfast and then went off-site for dinner, usually to the row of fresh seafood grills just down the street. Those were about a five-minute walk. Another five and there is a small "mall" with more choices, a liquor store, clothing and other stores, and a few restaurants. Just a bit further is a Circle K market. Also there are two massage spas where a body or foot massage will run you less than $20. We ate at the on-site restaurant for dinner twice. The first time was just so-so, but that was most likely a menu choice issue on our part. The second was a barbeque buffet that was just excellent. Prices were again reasonable.

Now the best and the worst. The best part of all was the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was friendly, patient, and clearly wanted very sincerely to please. Even when they did not quite get it right it was clearly not because they did not care. Most spoke English very well and communication was almost always simple and clear. I think what I liked best was that they were always ready to help or fulfill a request but were never over-bearing in that all too common "too eager to please" manner that can be found at upscale resorts. The manager came by every morning at breakfast and seemed to sincerely want us to be happy and satisfied. One day when one of us needed medical attention, he provided several options, explained the good and bad points of each, and then provided a driver to take us into town who then waited there a couple of hours to take us back. Amazingly, there was no charge for this. Really can't say enough about the staff.

Now the bad. There is no beach, which was not a major downside for us. A public beach is a short walk away, and free transportation is provided to a sister property that does have a beach. This is about a 10-15 minute trip. We did this once, arriving just in time to get chased off by rain. The sister property's beach is visually stunning, although a bit small and not good for swimming. Only beach I've ever been to where the waves pummel you with good-sized rocks. Finally, our villa (number 27) was at the edge of the property, and thus not the most quiet choice. We had a drum and cymbal group practicing for a parade a couple hours each night (never past 10), the sound of traffic on the street, and the usual dogs and chickens. We were not expecting to be completely isolated from the local populace, so none of this was a huge deal for us, but some people might find the villas on the edges of the property annoyingly noisy, so negotiate your villa if this might be an issue. To the manager's great credit, he immediately offered to move us when we mentioned the noise one morning. We liked the villa so much, however, that we declined.

So overall, I give Karma Jimbaran about as high a rating as possible. If what you are after is relaxation in privacy, with the world a few minutes away, this is your place. If you are going to Bali for nightlife, many hours on the beach, or nightclubs and shopping, this probably is not.

Room Tip: Contact the property, look at the Google satellite photo of the property, and pick an inside villa f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Renick01, thank you for visiting us from the U.S of A and your comprehensive posting about Karma Jimbaran, our services, our team and our product. You have covered all bases so thank you, I am sure anyone reading this would be very impressed by your input. Our team are our most important asset and I am glad you have recognised them as you have. This will be read accordingly at our operations meeting and posted accordingly on our staff board so the team here sense and feel their value to our guests, there is nothing more important or valuable to them. I trust you are feeling better after your illness. The return to the medical centre and our team waiting for you is just one of those things where human decency and pride is more important that any dollar value regardless of how big or small, after all it is the hospitality industry isn't it!! I look forward to welcoming you back one day in the near future.
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A birthday "indulgence" for my partner was an excuse to book into Karma for 4 nights [which turned out to be 5 nights] - a special treat for a lady who has never travelled to Asia before and was a little apprehensive. She was instantly enchanted by the atmosphere and tranquility of Karma, and the Villa was far more than she had expected. Beautifully presented, private and opulent, the private plunge pool and courtyard, with frangapani trees and stunning evening lighting made for a fantastic romantic getaway - with wifi - if required. The staff were wonderful. Helpful, attentive and polite. Breakfast was an event to really look forward to after a walk along the beach at Jimbaran, literally on our doorstep. Evenings on the beach eating what must be some of the best seafood "warungs" Bali has to offer. Our departure from Bali was late evening. Upon hearing of this, Luke, the manager, saw us personally and allowed us to stay in our villa way beyond checkout to shower and change after a long hot, sweaty day, before the mad dash to the airport. That really topped off our wonderful stay. Can't recommend them enough!

Room Tip: Our villa was subject to morning sun making early mornings - if you are an early morning person - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Jimbaran, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Peter, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your time with us. The product, the team and the environment suit a special occasion like yours and I am glad we all pitched in and assisted to create a memorable experience for you both. I look forward to personally welcoming you back in the near future and feel free to liaise with me directly on gm@karmajimbaran.com if I a can assist in making this happen.
Luke Harley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jimbaran hotels
1.4 km away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
0.4 km away
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran & Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
Le Meridien Bali Jimbaran
#15 of 55 in Jimbaran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
1.7 km away
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Jimbaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Jimbaran

Property: Karma Jimbaran
Address: Jl. Bukit Permai, Jimbaran 80362, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Jimbaran 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful spacious villa product with genuine and friendly Balinese service, Karma Jimbaran offers 3 and 4 bedroom villas all with their own private plunge pool and fully self contained features including full kitchen, dining and living areas, satellite TV, Flat Screen TV and Home Entertainment Systems in each villa. Also inclusive complimentary in each villa is high performance wi-fi access and our famous kids club... as happy kids are happy parents. All bedrooms have en-suites so whether a couple, friends travelling together or families (large or small) there is enough space and privacy so you can all enjoy your time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Jimbaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Jimbaran Hotel Jimbaran
Karma Hotel Jimbaran
Karma Jimbaran Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing