We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near the beach, good value”
Review of Hotel Lusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lusa
Ranked #184 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
belgium
Level Contributor
808 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“near the beach, good value”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

location is great, so close to the beach, yet so affordable
had a standard room on the second floor, very spacious and airy, great balcony
i liked the pool, the wifi, the breakfast
one major problem at the moment there is a big construction project going on right next door, the banging goes on till late night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    35
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed in many different places during my three months in Bali; several in Kuta. I stayed in hotels of all price ranges and types.

Lusa hotel is an excellent value in a quiet neighborhood. I stayed in the basic (cheapest) room which was fine. The bed was comfortable; the bathroom had some issues that were promptly fixed; linens and towels are changed daily; the fan worked well. The staff - especially the staff who keep the grounds and outside areas and the restaurant staff - are friendly and smiling.

Some of what is written in other reviews - the linens are a bit dingy; there are no screens on the windows; the bathrooms aren't perfect. But for the money I don't think you can do better in Kuta, especially for a longer visit. I stayed at the place across the street for a little bit less, with horrible bathrooms, no pool, no room cleaning service, linens, or even blankets. For just a few dollars more I got a cleaner room, better service, better breakfast, and Wifi (yes - it is slow, but it's free!)

My friend and I were picked up from the airport promptly as promised. The drive back to the hotel took about an hour (traffic due to construction was terrible) but the driver apologized for the long ride and was very friendly.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different basic rooms on the west side. They were both quite large, well-furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmpbpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Not a bad hotel,the cheap rooms are ok for the price.
pool area is ok,breakfast not to bad.
Had some Russians partying next door and that made my night less than perfect.
close to the beach.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms across the street,but no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This place is not fancy, but then it isn't expensive. For a very cheap price we had a large room that although a little bit shabby was clean and everything worked, which is quite a novelty in Indonesia! The breakfast was basic but good enough, the pool is a good size with plenty of seating round it, and the staff were all friendly. It is also in a very quiet location which means there is no noise at night, but you are only a very short walk away from the beach and all the nightlife. I would definitely stay there again if I were on a budget, but didn't want to stay in a noisy area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cousins214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My boyfriend and I went to this hostel because Un's hotel across the road was fully booked but thought this was much better value for money than Un's, which we did finally stay in on our last night. The bathroom and room were very clean and the staff were very helpful. It was also a short walk to both poppies gang and the main bar strip but yet it was a quiet little oasis in the day. The pool was really nice and there was hardly anyone around it.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyface293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The grounds are beautiful - trees, birds, flowers... freshly painted bungalows, each with its own "front porch."
The insides of the rooms are quite dingy, and the linens are shockingly old/stained/torn. Instead of sending their towels out to be laundered as everyone else seems to, they do it themselves. The result is one very rough soured towel that leaves you needing another shower.
The pool is lovely to have but it needs to be better maintained. The grout was slimy and green.
Many of the front desk staff seemed indifferent/rude, but everyone else was quite friendly.
Breakfast is included, but it is best to not watch the food being prepared. Examine your morning fruit carefully and pick out the ants. Remove the rotten banana parts from your jaffle and don't think about it too much. I did enjoy their pot of coffee!
There is free wifi, but it is painfully S L O W. Still, some wifi can be better than no wifi.
It was my first time in Bali, so I don't have much to compare this hotel to. I will say that they were always full. We had to arrive around 9 am to snap up a room that someone had just checked out of. They had been full the day before and seemed to be full thereafter. A pool, even with slimy grout, must be better than no pool!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 3baekwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Hm. .. what can I say..
The location is within walking distance to the beach.. but kinda long walk to the legian clus
I enjoyed my stay there, the pool is nice, the staffs are friendly. I stayed in AC Room and got a large room for me.. the bathtub is actually clean but it doesnt seem clean cause using tiles.. at least the hot shower is working :) I requested to have my friend room next door and they gave it..
The breakfast is ok.

I'd like to come back there again..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.7 km away
J Boutique Hotel
J Boutique Hotel
#108 of 251 in Kuta
397 reviews
0.1 km away
favehotel Kuta Square
favehotel Kuta Square
#110 of 251 in Kuta
417 reviews
0.9 km away
Bali Bungalo
Bali Bungalo
#206 of 251 in Kuta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Kuta Beach
0.4 km away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#107 of 251 in Kuta
172 reviews
0.1 km away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#72 of 251 in Kuta
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lusa

Property: Hotel Lusa
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta - Gg. Benesari, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#102 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lusa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lusa Hotel is located in Pantai Kuta street, Benesari Lane. It has a good location, which is in the heart of Kuta and Legian. It is only 3 minutes walking to the Kuta Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusa Hotel Kuta
Hotel Lusa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing