We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK place, but lacks some charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa
Ranked #42 of 225 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK place, but lacks some charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is sufficiently good in all respects. Personnel is kind and attentive, food is plenty and of decent quality. The rooms are clean and so is the so called lagoon, which you can reach from your rooms in the ground floor (nice thing). However, the structure is rather large and somewhat anonymous. It definitely lacks charm. Perhaps better for families 8since it is not expensive) rather than for romatic getaways or honeymooners. Important: the hotel is not on the beach, you need to walk to reach it (not far)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    271
    99
    27
    13
See reviews for
138
303
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

we stayed here for 9 days and fell in love with the pool villa immediately. small but perfect for our needs, the villa was immaculate and beautifully presented. Nice large bed, shower and high ceilings made it feel like a little piece of heaven in the heart of Kuta.
About a half and hours walk from Poppies lane II and the heart of Kuta, its easy to avoid the taxi's and just enjoy the offerings of Legian street. plenty of variety and places to eat, we rarely went as far as poppies to get what we needed.
The staff were always friendly, and willing to assist.
The three main downsides i found were;** the regular phonecalls from housekeeping asking if they could clean the room.. if the outside gate is locked, take that as a no!;
**The breakfast was varied but after 3 days, we were over the cold eggs, the toaster not working and the horrible coffee that was half mud. We are use to bali coffee, but it was beyond saving, and:
**the construction going on around the hotel and directly behind the villa made it not only hard to enjoy a sleep in, but also meant we didn't have the privacy we wanted, as the workers overlooked the pool and rear courtyard... often dropping their rubbish into it.
If you are looking for a close and easy stay in Kuta without the noise of the main hub.. this is perfect. It's 3 star so don't expect many frills, but the location, grounds and friendly staff are great.

Room Tip: ask for the lagoon pool suite or a villa closest to the reception hall... you will avoid workmen loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The pool is the high point of this resort but step out of the pool and and the hotel is looking a little tired. Step out of the resort and you're in a traffic jam! This is the most crowded and polluted part of Bali and Kuta Beech is by far the dirtiest in the area.
There are plenty of high end resorts in Bali offering similar service at a similar price at much better locations. And equally cheaper cleaner budget accommodation is also available. The bar and restaurant aren't exactly cheap and charging house guests US$12 per day for Internet is not acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJaySarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for one week, we had 2 pool access rooms (107 & 108). Although we had an ‘ok’ stay I would not return here. This is by no means a ‘resort’. For a hotel advertised in glossy holiday brochures it should be better maintained to offer what is advertised. The hotel is tucked down a driveway just of JL Legian, and a few minutes walk from JL Melasti. Staff were friendly and helpful and overall the rooms and public areas were clean. Maintenance is well and truly due with peeling flaking paint and a very dated spa with water damaged walls and absolutely no ambience. We booked a package here which advertised an aromatherapy massage but there was no aromatherapy. Although the package was ok it was not what you expect from a hotel spa.
My greatest concern about this hotel is the extremely slippery and dangerous tiles. There is no cover from the lobby to the rooms and restaurant and the tiles were constantly wet as we had a lot of rain. One guest fell, broke his arm and needed to fly home immediately for surgery. One of my children slipped and hurt her back, basically all guests were the same, shuffling around on the wet tiles trying to avoid a bad fall.
The breakfast is served upstairs and this would prevent anyone with a disability from getting up there to eat. Breakfast was a small buffet choice, but most food was luke warm and not the best. Having food sit around and not stored at the correct temperature is not safe. Service was hit and miss as well. We ate at the restaurant and found it basic, no nice ambience and nothing to write home about.
Internet connection is supposed to be free for 24 hours IF you purchase from the restaurant. This is not a problem however what they don’t tell you is that the password changes every morning so IF you get connection at say dinner your password does not work the next morning so you need to explain you have not had your 24 hours.
The pool access rooms are OK and the better choice of rooms however the patio is small, sparsely furnished, no sun lounge and once again with flaking paint, and the steps leading into the pool needing a good scrub it was not overly appealing. Our rooms faced a large wall which was not very nice, the pool itself is one long and very narrow shape and there is a small pool bar. Not many people use the pool or pool bar and there are very few sun loungers for guests. The gardens are small, everything is basically tiled and concrete but what small green areas they have are not maintained and need work. Overall there is not much of a relaxed holiday atmosphere at this hotel.
The mosquitoes were horrendous, despite them fogging twice, you needed to apply repellant just to sit on your patio or eat in the restaurant and each night we needed to spray the rooms when we went for dinner.
The room itself was nicely tiled but there was no shower curtain and the entire bathroom got wet each time anyone showered. We had to ask about the hot water as it was mostly ‘warm’, they said they had fixed the problem but after 2 nights of a suitable temperature it was back to warm again.
The villas have a very very small pool and I can’t see the value in paying extra for one of these. There are much nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed there for 1 night last year. It was exactly what we needs. Comfy bed, clean toilet, friendly staff, yummy brekky & good location. Close enough that we walked into town for dinner & drinks but far enough away it wasn't noisy. The staff were friendly, the welcome drinks yummy & the place felt very home like. The internet room was good, computers & net worked well again staff throughout were really friendly & helpful. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: get a room which opens out to the pool, we did & its very refreshing to be able to go from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyMoo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My original attraction with Kuta Lagoon was its location. Nestled between buildings down an alleyway in an area that is easy walking distance to the markets and many restaurants & clubs. I liked that its not a really big hotel and it is hidden from the rush on the street. . There is always room by the pool and it has a rather intimate feel to it. The staff are well presented and very helpful - while not 'in your face' I have stayed in two different rooms here. Pool access rooms are a hoot. While the room is clean, its quite plain, but what makes this room unique is the ability to walk out onto your own personal veranda (balcony style) and dip directly into the pool. The pool is a narrow shape that weaves along the other pool access rooms, which leaves you enough room to have your own space in the pool with out paying the price of a private pool. I think these rooms are very good value for money.
I have also stayed in a private pool villa - a very private alternative. I feel the rooms have aged a little and could do with a bit of a spruce up - but comparing it to other private pool villas and location - its still reasonable value for money. The size of the room is great and the sun room is a great spot to chill out and read a book.
There is a small mini mart on hotel grounds, restaurant, a karaoke bar and 24 hour room service (with very reasonable prices.)
I have stayed at Kuta Lagoon a few times now and will be returning yet again next month.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madasun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Kuta Lagoon in September 2011 for 6 nights. We had a Pool Villa which was lovely. Villa 16 was quiet and away from the main hotel, which can be a bit noisy in the late afternoon and evening. Breakfast is pretty average at this hotel. Staff are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.4 km away
Rhadana Hotel
Rhadana Hotel
#1 of 225 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.0 km away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#19 of 225 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.6 km away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#5 of 225 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#24 of 225 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.6 km away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
White Rose Kuta Resort, Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa

Property: Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa
Address: Jalan Raya Legian No. 363, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#25 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow us Kuta Lagoon Resort and Pool Villas to introduce true Balinese Hospitality by being your host and make your visit be a memory for life. The Journey starts at the mysterious narrow entrance that leads you further back, away from the roaming and bustling streets to a small 'Oasis of Tropical Tranquility and Romance' where you are welcomed to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Let God's chauffeurs and let us take care of your comfort. Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villas is the only one lovely lagoon boutique, which is located strategically in the heart of Legian Kuta. If you are looking for something different in the crowded of Legian Kuta with quality, charm and focus on traditional personalized service, Kuta Lagoon Resort and Pool Villas could be just the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa Hotel Kuta
Kuta Lagoon Resort And Pool Villa
Kuta Lagoon Hotel Pool
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing