We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,695)
Filter reviews
6,698 results
Traveller rating
3,758
1,898
652
235
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,758
1,898
652
235
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sorrento restaurant yhi spa level experience el patio lotus restaurant family room all inclusive package lagoon access suite garden villa beach restaurant kids club junior suite our honeymoon low tide lagoon pool beach front private beach
Filter
Updating list...
3,282 - 3,287 of 6,698 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Melia Bali for our wedding anniversary in March 2013. We had booked the Lagoon Level Access package.

First impression of the hotel is the lobby is very impressive, expansive and well-maintained. As we had the Level package we were taken to the Level Lounge for check-in which was lovely as we got to sit in the air-con and have a cocktail while they checked us in.

The hotel is on the large side and normally we would choose a smaller more intimate hotel. However the upgrade to the Level Access Lagoon room was worth it. Not only are the rooms relatively newly renovated, the direct access into the lagoon outside from the deck was perfect. In addition, having the options of using the Garden Villa pool (no kids = very quiet) and the Garden Villa beach area (private cabane) was well worth it. It was quieter, less kids and certainly more relaxing than the main pool area.

The Level Access Lounge gave us inclusive drinks/ canapes every night between 5-8pm and we took advantage of a few drinks before dinner most nights. This was a nice way to end a day relaxing, however the only down-side is there no view from the Level Lounge as it's tucked away behind reception.

Like most places in Bali, all the staff we very friendly and the service by the Level Lounge staff was exceptional.

Food-wise, we ate at Lotus Restaurant every morning which gave a large selection of buffet food as well as some A La Carte options. The food each morning was fresh, tasty with a good selection.

We only ate either small bar snacks or lunch at the beachside restaurant Sateria. In all instances, the food was enjoyable and still cheap by Australian standards. For example, a pizza to share was about $13 AUD (though if you venture to other places in Bali of course the food is lot cheaper).

We used the Yhi Day Spa twice. Once was massages included in our package and then we revisited as it was so lovely the first time. This is a top quality day spa and well worth a visit.

The only issues we had with the hotel was the cleanliness of some of the linen in our room. We had to ask twice to have our bed doona changed as it had a stain on it that looked reddish/ brown. We also had a few towels that had small stains on them - this wasn't a big problem as we were given additional towels each day.

In terms of what's around the hotel, we ate a few times at the Bali Collection. Both times main meals were between $6-8 AUD per person. Most places have live entertainment which is always fun. It is definitely worth venturing beyond the Nusa Dua gates though for dinner. We had a great meal at Nyoman's Beer Garden which is just outside of the south gate. They also provide free transport back to your hotel.

Overall we had a wonderful trip staying at the Melia Bali - if you're looking for a quieter trip for couples make sure you look for a package that gives you access to the Garden Villa pool and beach area - it's well worth-it.

Room Tip: Lagoon Access rooms are wonderful for the private deck as well as being able to swim after the main pools are closed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelFryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear KelFryer,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. As a senior contributor on tripadvisor, we believe that you have written the most objective review on us.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted the linen and towel problems you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I flew the wife to Bali for her birthday and only stayed the weekend. We chose the Melia Bali as it was in Nusa Dua on the side of the island we prefer. The hotel is clean and well appointed but with most buildings in Bali is beginning to show its age, but in saying this it is well maintained. We upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite for the stay and the room have great views out over the pool and gardens. The room was large and very comfortable and an air-conditioner that chilled the place down nicely. Unfortunately our stay was very short and we did not get a chance to take in any of the hotel provided activities but on our return both nights there were shows on in the grounds for those who choose to stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Craig Z,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali for your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a week here from 15 to 24 March 2013. The hotel is a bit worn, but this did not detract from the stay. Nusa Dua is not a great place to stay if you want to get anywhere else in Bali, as the traffic between Nusa Dua and Kuta is VERY contested. Hopefully this will improve when the new toll-way is completed. The hotel is right next to Bali Collection (5 minute walk) which is great for getting to the many restaurants there.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The staff are friendly.

We had a Superior room, which was good enough for a couple. Our child's and grandchildren stayed in a family room. This is a split level room with the parents room upstairs and two beds downstairs - safety gates r on the stairs.

The food is nothing to be excited about, the buffet breakfast is suitable there are much better breakfasts in other hotels we have stayed at. We are at Sorrento Restaurant one night and it was a good 'top end' restaurant with a good wine list, top class service and a high standard of food. We had dinner at the buffet by the beach one night which was very 'ordinary'. Don't worry about the food as there are many restaurants at Bali Collection.

The pool is great, with lots of safe places for children to play in.

We got the hotel on a great deal which included airfares. It was a very low cost week and the perfect place to take the family. We would certainly stay ere again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Reinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear Reinor,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to write your first review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not satisfied staying with us, please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement. As the traffic problems, hopefully will be solved by the toll-bridge and underpass completed.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We checked in on a Sunday and started to settle into our room after the 5 hour flight from Sydney, Australia to only informed that our travel agency had not made any payment to the resort. This was a shock.

After an irate phone call to the travel agency we discovered that the resort had only sent the invoice a the day before to the travel agency. This meant that nothing would processed until the next day (Monday). However it was Nyepi day that week; so nothing actually got processed until Thursday. This was 4 days of waiting to see if we were going to foot this bill for accommodation and breakfast - on top of having paid it to the travel agency.

We really did not want to be sitting in an Indonesian cell with our two year old daughter until the whole mess got sorted out by refusing to pay. We were also informed by the travel agency that the resort had no business putting the onus back onto us; instead they should have contacted the travel agent. The agency sent a strongly worded email to the resort explaining this to them.

This being said; the resort made no attempt to apologise.

Then came the bedding. As I mentioned earlier, we traveled with our 2 year old daughter - who we had included in the booking. But alas there was not bedding for her. We had to organise this through house keeping. Then we were informed of bed hire. Another call to the travel agency again - and hey presto the bed hire disappeared from the bill.

This says to me that the resort is ultimately after the dollar.

Once all of this got sorted (and waiting for notification that the agency had paid) we had an enjoyable time at the resort. The staff were friendly and accommodating (reception not withstanding) and the selection of food was fantastic in the 5 restaurants at the resort.

The pricing for any food at the resort I found to be Australian restaurant prices, as there are no local restaurants or shops immediately outside the resort to compete with. Down the road is "Bali Collections" which offers places to eat - it is 10 minute unlit walk on Nusa Dua the resort precinct so it doesn't really compete with any of the resorts. That being said, the food at the resort was fantastic.

The pool is definitely family friendly with a maximum depth of 165cm minimum depth at the edges of zero at the edges. Our 2yo loved it.

I would not buying any trinkets or souvenirs there - as these were extremely expensive in the shops.

Room Tip: Building 3 level 2 seems to have a quiet area without being too far away.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbell149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear johnbell149,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Meliã Bali to accommodate your family holiday in Bali and also taking the time to write your first review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences caused, especially on your arrival day. We have noted and communicated this to all departments concerned to prevent this happen again in the future.

Should you have any plan to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to advise us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would recommend the Melia Bali Spa Villas to anyone, We were there from 04/03/2013 to 11/03/2013 the staff are great and go out of their way to help,plenty of activities, also right on the beach and the Tapas bar is excellent meals are very good but a little bit pricy mind you there are 4 restaurants on site.The rooms are a little dated but still very comfortable
It is close to the shopping center called the collection lots of shops and food outlets and a 25 minute drive to Kuta far enough away from the busy areas but close enough to go visit and check out the cheap stalls in Kuta.
I wish to thank all the staff at Melia for making this a very memorable holiday for us, we will be going back here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor with pool access means you can walk out from your room and straight into the pool which is only for the rooms backing onto that pool,there is a larger pool for the other guests further into the resort.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliá Bali!

Dear Stephen B,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali for your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews