We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,025)
Filter reviews
3,026 results
Traveller rating
1,949
799
186
48
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,949
799
186
48
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspregoikannew wingheavenly spakids clubseasonal tastesheavenly bedpremium roomspg memberfamily suitesmall balconybreakfast buffetprivate beachbeach frontjapanese restaurantkids menumain pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,401 - 1,406 of 3,026 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Firstly I would like to say this is a lovely resort. Tricky for me to rate as it is very good but could it could improve on many things. I am feeling generous so 4 stars it is.
We are a family with 2 children age 13 and 11. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family suite that included breakfast for us all.
2 bedroom suite - very good, comfortable beds, clean and tidy, 2 very large bathrooms, lovely towels and linen, quiet.
Little fridge that did not keep things cool.
Balcony - very small looking at nothing. One person could stand on it if they wanted to!
Air-conditioning struggled to keep up with the existence outside heat, although good enough.
House keeping- very good, always seemed to come while we were at breakfast which is perfect. Generous with bottled water. Turn down service each night.
Room was a bit of a trek away from everything.
3 t.v's and DVD players - perfect for the kids especially in the afternoons as it was terribly hot outside .
All in all the room was very good.
Breakfast - excellent ! Possibly one of the better buffet breakfast we have experienced around the world. Catered very well for kids. The staff in here were lovely, lots of them, attended to used plates instantly and hubby said the coffee was good. Lots of variety and very fresh and clean.
Beach - didn't spend a lot of time here. Hubby and son did a few water activities. It is a bit cooler around beach area but we preferred pool as it was easier and kids preferred it. We live on the beach at home. Au is very soiled with its beaches - Bali beaches are no where near as pleasant. The Westin keep their beach area very clean and safe . High tide does not last long and when tide is out it is not pleasant!
A few ppl selling things eg- sarongs and bracelets in a more relaxed way than in other parts of Bali. Security hurry them along if they are annoying you. Nights on the beach are pretty and pleasant.
Pools- quite nice, very deep. Water slide in an unusual place. Ends right where the tiny swim up bar is. I would imagine if I had small kids the pools here really lack an appropriate kids pool. The pool is very relaxed. Clean, water very warm not refreshing - but they probably cannot control due to hot weather.
Sorry Westin but I have to mention the cost of things here...... Crazy prices ! To have a small local Bintang beer is $7.50 AU. Sparkling champs $17.50 a glass. $18.50 for a basic cocktail !!! $6.50 AU for a can of sprite!!! I think this is why everyone vanished from the pool and restaurants during the days and go to places near by ! I cannot see the sense of charging these prices. We stayed at another wonderful place Padma and paid much less than these prices - as my hubby said " Day light robbery "
My son turned 13 less than a month ago and here he is considered an adult ( 13 and above ) he is not a big eater ( a small child ) therefor paying full price for the evening buffet cost of $60.00 hurt !!
There is a wonderful Italian restaurant here that is reasonable in price and delicious - pricing similar to AU so not cheap.
Sorry to bang on about the prices but as local places are not as "easy " to get to as they are in other places we chose mainly to eat at the resort. We were eating at restaurants in Legion for $30.00 in total for the most delicious meals including drinks for the whole family. And whilst staying here at the Westin we often heard ppl talking about the cost.
Same goes for beauty therapies. $10 for amazing massages in clean places in Legion where here more than 10 times the cost.
Kids club - we did not use the kids club as our kids are older and not keen. On paper the Westin looks like it offers a great variety of kids club activities. I Saw a few small kids with baby sitters. Didn't appear to be any organised activities in the pool which my kids would have enjoyed - eg there is a volley ball net in the pool which we played as a family but why not organise a fun group game like other reports do to get everyone in the spirits and encourage some fun,
We enjoyed our time at the Westin but you really must be aware that it is in a secluded area. Terrific for lying around reading a book and having a massage at a BIG cost. Maybe perfect for a couple without kids ? If you are chasing a lovely resort that had a bit of action outside the door I would not recommend this place - try Padma we stayed there b4 here and it ticked all the boxes for a family like ours !
I would come back but maybe for my 50th and leave the kids at home. In saying that our kids have enjoyed themselves but they say they " a bit dull"and they have been lucky enough to have done a lot of travel around the world - my son says 5 star does not need to be boring ??!!
My daughter says - where is all the cheap stuff (shopping ) ?? I thought this was Bali !
Well done Westin you have a lovely resort and lovely staff, most wouldn't be disappointed with your resort.

Stayed: January 2016
3  Thank 2emmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, Managing Director at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Dear 2emmm,
Thank you for sharing your thorough review in TripAdvisor based on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed and enjoyed your stay in our Family Suite with the comfort of Heavenly® Bed as well as the convenience facilities inside the room that is suitable for family. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your daily breakfast at Seasonal Tastes with various SuperFoodsRx selections as well as that you had relaxing time at the swimming pool. We appreciate to hear your valuable feedback on food and beverage and spa treatment pricing. Our pricing has remained consistent for the last 18 months and are comparable to any other 5 star hotel in Nusa Dua. The Australian $ fluctuation has been enormous and it is best to compare the prices in the local currency. We would also like to point out that all our prices are in local currency and inclusive of tax and service charge that adds up to 21%. We fully appreciate that that in Bali you are able to find massage treatments for $10 and even less and I’m sure you would appreciate you would receive what one pays. We are sorry you did not find value for money when compared to other 4 star properties, and we take that onboard and will definitely keep this in mind when it is time to review them again. In the meantime, we hope you enjoy your future trips to Bali and still consider Westin Bali as a resort to stay. Be well

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, a lot of facilities, good room services but lack of information.
Kids will love this hotel, because they can swim at swimming pool or beach, playing sands at beach.
This hotel is suitable for family holiday.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank andreas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, Managing Director at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Dear andreas a,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us. It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you and your family had some uplifting downtime at the resort enjoying resort’s facilities and its surrounding area. We truly appreciate that you recommend our resort as family-friendly destination and we do look forward to welcoming you back again for another memorable experience on your future travels to Bali.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

The hotel area is eye catching and comforting..the lobby, rooms, beach, meeting rooms are all excellent..but two main problems that rendered me not so happy: 1. Housekeeping is too lazy, i had ants in my room which by searching, i found that some nescafe powder was left over beside the fridge for days and no one even tried to remove. I ants on my pillow and had to leave it under the bathroom tap to wash..but for three days no one even tried to look at the pillow despite its wierd location. Second: the staff is not so competent in English which made me sometimes just thank them and cancel my requests. Overall, it is a v nice hotel with nice staff and excellent facilities but requires better supervision for the housekeeping and better training for the staff

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, Managing Director at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Dear Ahmed R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the comfort of our resort including the lobby, rooms, beach and meeting rooms. We regret that standards of our housekeeping service made you so disappointed. Please accept our most sincere apologies. I have already met with the Department Manager to discuss your input and am working on ways to ensure that we do not disappoint any other guests in a similar way as we strive to improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

We are currently staying at the westin and honestly couldn't fault it. This is our 10th trip to Bali and have stayed in some of the best hotels in seminyak legion and kuta. If you are looking for a great family friendly hotel in nusa dua then look no further.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Benauricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, Managing Director at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Benauricht,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had some uplifting downtime at the resort and acknowledged us as family-friendly resort and to recommend us to your family and friends. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back near future with another memorable experience.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2016

We choose the Westin Hotel because of its advertised family friendly atmosphere. But that is obviously not the case. What would you think about a restaurant where kids are not allowed? Where kids are seen as small devils. And that in a country were kids are treated like little kings! We wanted to eat Sushi there, our son loves sushi. BUT we were not allowed to get in, because we had a kid with us! An evil uneducated 5 year old kid! The whole situation was so ridiculous, that i called the manager. He had no serious arguments for that rule. They just gave us the feeling that kids are not welcomed. We ate Sushi at the Melia Hotel. If you want to go in a restaurant with your dog, you must ask if dogs are allowed to go inside. But go with your kid to the family orientated Westin hotel and you must ask if kids are allowed to enter the restaurant. UNBELIEVABLE! How poor is that?
Another thing is the waterslide. The waterslide is not useful. Our 5 years old son banged his head on every slide, so after two times he never used it again. Go there if you want your kids treated like dogs. Then its the perfect place for you!

Stayed: January 2016
5  Thank gruenteekanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, Managing Director at The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear gruenteekane,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay and first of all my sincere apologies that were disappointed with your stay.

We have read your comments through our online survey as well as here on TripAdvisor. Once again, on behalf of everyone at Westin please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. But please be rest assured that there was no intent to make you feel that kids are not welcomed.

We pride ourselves at being a family orientated resort and stand by it. Whenever we think of any initiative we always keep in mind the needs of the children and also the needs of the parents as well as family bonding. We also respect the fact that adults need to have time on their own.

Having spent the entire day together, We have provided the opportunity for parents, if they wish, to have Kids free dinner in 2 of our 5 restaurants. In Hamabe Japanese restaurant and Velada Tapas Bar and Restaurant. Having said that even in these 2 restaurants we have created 2 seating times one for families with kids from 5:30pm to 7pm at Hamabe and 5pm to 8:30pm at Velada. And for adults only from 7pm onwards in Hamabe and 8:30pm till late in Velada.

In all other restaurants Kids are welcome at any time and the entire evening.

These timing options have actually been very welcomed by all our guests and we have received numerous good comments from parents and guests traveling without children alike.

We are sorry to hear that the refusal to accept your 5 year old son in Hamabe Japanese restaurant in adult only time zone has caused you such deep anguish and extreme frustration that it has overwhelmed your entire stay.

Having said that, we do appreciate your input and take it onboard, when it is time to review this decision again we will certainly keep your input in mind.

We regret that your son was not comfortable in using the slide and have certainly taken note of this. The children using the slide have to be above a certain height and we will reinforce this policy and inspection at the point of entry.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Bipan Kapur
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews