We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,335)
Filter reviews
4,335 results
Traveller rating
2,266
1,261
475
191
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,266
1,261
475
191
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salsa verde garden cafe kriya spa grand club lounge pasar senggol day bed luxury escapes package japanese restaurant ocean view private beach beautiful resort large hotel kids club great beach beach front hotel grounds low tide
Filter
Updating list...
3,074 - 3,079 of 4,335 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2010

This Resort is located in Nusa Dua, which is a planned and gated community. Although the resort is about 20 years old, the public areas look good and were probably renovated not too long ago. Our room (suite) was also nicely renovated not too long ago. However, I did get a peek into a standard room in one of the other buildings and it looked old and dated.

The resort is very large with 4 main residential buildings, and some scattered restaurants, facilities, and villas. In the evenings they set up a "street market" inside the resort grounds, though the prices are much higher than outside in a real street market.

There are several pools, however, there is no good kids pool. There is a small toddler pool, but it is very small. The rest of the pools are too deep for young kids. Also, the water in all the pools (except for the toddler pool) was too warm. Supposedly they are naturally heated by the sun, but I heard that at some of the other hotels, including Ayana, that they cool the water down to be more refreshing. Here it was like bath water, and of course the air temperature was like a weak steam room, so not really a refreshing dip. Also, the river pool, is kind of shaped like a river, but there is no "current", so we were a bit disappointed, since the website description is a little misleading.

Our suite was huge, though the dining table was a little small for the space provided. The living room sofas were a bit too soft, but the bed was wonderful, and had a dreamy canopy, with sheer curtains. Both LCD Tvs were equipped with DVD players.

There was a kids club and playground, however, almost never were there any kids there. I suspect due to the nominal fee that they charge. Although only a few US$, we saw many families come with kid(s), but then walked away after they heard about the fee. Thus, the kids club was almost always empty. I would not have minded paying, but my kids didnt want to stay there since there were no other children.

Location is also more or less across the street from the Bali Collection, where there are lots of shops, convenience store, and restaurants (much cheaper than inside the Grand Hyatt), but the quality was lower also. The restaurants there were also more expensive than the ones immediately outside the Nusa Dua gate, and not as tasty.

OVerall the resort was nice, and had a more mixed clientele, including relatively more Americans than at many of the other resorts, which seemed to be majority full with Russian package tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here for a week and had a very nice time. Got a free upgrade to a club room by one of the lakes which was nice. The room was excellent - spacious with good quality decorations and fittings. Bathroom nice and big with a rainforest shower and separate bath.

Location is great, right next to the best piece of beach in Nusa Dua, and on the other side is Bali collection with all the shops and restaurants.

Pools and gardens were excellent, our 2 year old loved the waterslide.

Its quite a big hotel and feels a little impersonal probably because of that. Seems to be a high turnover of Asian tourists here with a lot of people descending on the place for the weekend. Lots of Russians too, what is it with Nusa Dua and Russians?!?

Food was good, we ate at the Italian here a couple of nights and its not that much more than the Bali collection .. we liked the seafood pizza and cheap kids menu.

Service was a little erratic, housekeeping on a couple of days appeared to have done a rush job and missed various basic things such as taking out the trash and sweeping the floor. When we called to complain they sent someone over a few hours later, I just wish they could learn to apologise as they came over a little arrogant with the matter of fact response to our complaints. But overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This is a huge hotel in the "hotel zone" of Nusa Dua, but it offers so much that you don't really mind the size. All the hotels in the Nusa Dua zone seem huge actually. The Hyatt staff is wonderful. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite and given club access so it was a special stay...but I have stayed before in a standard room and still enjoyed it all. They have many restaurants if you don't want to leave the resort. The spa is stunningly beautiful and the prices are reasonable. Nice tennis courts if you play. The highlight of the resort is the long beach and the fantastic spa. I want to go back just to go back to the spa!!! If you stay in Nusa Dua and can score a good rate this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2010

the hotel is grand as its name. property is amazing. they have 5 pools which makes it very convinient for kids to swim. they do have water slides and an infant pool. i travelled with my husband and 5 month daughter. the breakfast spread is good. italian reataurant serves authentic good food. the beach is beautiful. very well located. walking distance from bali collection where there is shopping, spas, loads of restaurants, etc. overall the experience was excellent. the rooms are big and clean. nusa dua is a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaileeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed here recently and although the gardens were lovely, the place in general is far to big and when i say big , you need a golf trolley to get around. The place is one big money pit and although we can afford the prices why should you pay 3times and on the drinks up tp 7 times more than the restaurant comlplex just outside, we soon found that this is what most of the guests do that stay in these contrived man made hotels that flank the beaches of Nusa Dua. I would recommend renting a villa just set back atleast you can get a feel for the real Bali. This hotel could be anywhere in florida or the like. Not for us, you even had to pay for the internet at extortionate rates- 80,000 for half hour at a minimum usage of that half hour, we found most of the other hotels we stayed at during our trip had free wifi. The boutiques sell western products far more expensive than they actually are in the uk, i just think they outprice themselves so much in a country thats very cheap to live in. They loose immense amounts of business thats why the restaurants on site, there are numerous, are almost empty.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank steffanNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews