We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
42
91
37
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
91
37
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room dutch tourists staff on reception breakfast was included traditional balinese hotel no safe in the room upstairs room bath mat eggs and toast garden setting egg station safety box spring rolls american breakfast fresh fruit hotel restaurant tea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 198 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Well, a 3 stars hotel in Bali, for the price that we've paid for that pakkage was not a very nice end of our holiday. First we've got 2 very old rooms (we traveled with our teens), kitchen smell from the nearby hotel.
The second day we expressed our unhappiness and they gave us a beter room, a room that was "recently" refurbished.
The swimming pool is very small and the whole day in full sun. That make that the water is everything BUT cool or refreshing.
The garden is very nice and the location is good, but the beach was FULL, I mean FULL with plastics. What a shame!!! And only the tourists are doing something about it! But not the locals.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank holyday4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Madam or Sir,

Greeting from Vila Shanti Hotel.

First, we do apologize for unhappiness stay with us.
For the first room we have reserved for you is the room have been renovated too,
we are happy that on the second day we can reserve you the other room.

A gain thank you very much for your stayed with us.
Wishing you have a great day.

Yours sincrely,

Wayan.P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

We come to Bali regularly and wanted to try out Villa Shanti as it was very nearby to others we have stayed (we love the area).

In November we were shown through to see what the rooms were like and you guessed it, when we got back here in April we were given a very different room, nowhere near as nice as the room we were shown as a prospective guest. We did not complain.

The air conditioner and the fridge were noisy but we put up with them.

Breakfast on the first day was a shocker, the fruit, the eggs, everything, but the next three days were okay.

Bathroom towels are tiny.

Sheets were not changed in the 4 nights we were there. How do we know? There was blood stain on one of them (when we arrived) and it was there the whole 4 days. It was on the fold down on the top sheet so not a big deal but obvious as soon as you walked into the room.

Room was so dark, even with the lights on and the curtain open, terrible.

Internet access? What internet access? Yes you could connect but you could not use it, hopeless, may as well not have it. I travel a lot internationally and it is the worst internet I have ever experienced in the world. I did enquire about this and nothing happened.

Oh, and the glass! Yes, a sin, I broke one of the drinking glasses. We paid for a late checkout and as we departed the room a member of staff spring out of the bushes from nowhere and demanded that I accompany him while he inspected and searched the room. Why? Yes, for the broken glass, I told him straight that it was broken but the search had to continue.

What a joke, I was treated like a criminal and then escorted to reception where he repeatedly told other staff that I had broken a glass. I was really made feel like a criminal, it was terrible.

We would never come back here, we know we can get much better value where no one will be lurking in the bushes to treat us like criminals, all for a glass that is worth nothing! It was the icing on the cake, not to mention the other stuff.

We are pretty easy going people and I hope this sparks the management into doing something about things.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank goneftn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Sir or Madam,

Greeting from Vila Shanti.

First, we do apologize for everything make you unhappiness to stay with us,
for the b'fast everyday different menu and egg station are also at the restaurant.
For the towels that is the size for our hotel and the sheet we never change in 4 days,
we usually change everyday.the room look dark because of Balinese design ( small carving windows & door )
A gain very sorry for the inconveniences cause.
Wishing you have a lovely day.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Wayan P.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Small traditional balinese hotel.Pool with some sun loungers and beachfront loungers.Unfortunately some guests are up at 7 am to reserve these which does spoil it for the other guests.Lovely gardens.Breakfast included,which was satisfactory with eggs cooked to order.Restaurant food very good with some speciality nights.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ronaldos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Sir,

First,we do apologize for our late replying.

We thanks a lots for you very good comment at trip advisor,
Very pity that some guests wake up in the morning to reserve
the towel before the time,we have put an information at our pool
attendent and we have also inform direct but some of the do not
care.

A gain thank you for your stayed with us and we are looking forward
for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

The photos of the rooms are not reflective of reality. No windows, just wooden shutters with large gaps making the air- con virtually useless. This is a very basic hotel which is seriously over-priced. The saving grace is it’s location and lovely pool area. Breakfast again, disappointing and basic. For the price it needs to be a lot better!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Sir,

First,we do apologize to you disappointed you for the room you have stayed.
for your information the room you stayed are a superior room wit Balinese
style which one the room with two smoll windows and carved door.
We also have room with medern style,we think that you are enjoyed with the room
we have reserve.
We thank you for your comment good for us for know.

Wishing you have alovely day.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Initially disappointed, but … it got better.
Stayed late Oct early Nov 2017. A long but detailed review.

We arrived quite late (midnight) and were ushered into an unmade-up room. This seemed quite a surprise to staff, and from what we could gather, it probably WAS made up, but the previous guests had not checked out before it was cleaned, so they possibly continued to use the room without cleaners knowing. Wow, it was a bit of an eye-opener as to how other people badly treat the room – ash on the dresser, half empty drink bottles, gross rubbish left on benches. Anyway a cursory double-check by the supervising staff would have avoided this.

We were then shown another room, but the air-conditioning was not working. The technician was called, but could not fix it, so we were moved yet again, to another room – it had been cleaned and the air con worked. Each room looked the same as the previous - standard - very good size and layout with decent size balcony (we were on the first floor). Lamps and lights worked; fridge needed plugging in but then worked okay; tv not so good – it continually snowed, but had reasonable viewing choices. There was a decent size suitcase rack and wardrobe (with several hangers). The furniture was old-style Balinese.

No outdoor showers here - I’ve come to prefer these type of bathrooms, but alas, at least this one didn’t have a window in the door! The bathroom had a big bench for placing toiletry items on (yay!) with the usual little goodies - shampoo, conditioner, soap, tissues etc, but no hairdryer. The bathroom lighting was the usual not-so-bright and the shower was small but adequate (wouldn’t wanna be the size of a sumo in there tho), and the water pressure was good. Initially there was no hot water, but staff fixed that quite quickly. The toilet flushed but unfortunately there was a constant smell – sewerage type of smell, not overpowering, so not enough to complain about or request a move, just enough to want to get out of there quick and keep the door shut at other times.

Two bath towels, two flannels, a bath mat and a hand towel were provided each day, however the bath towels were often on the small thin side. I also felt that the sheet on the mattress was quite thin as well, and there seemed to be no mattress protector under that. Also, only a quilt/doona – no top sheet. If you’re fussy about these things, go for it; me, I slept well … always do in Bali . Bed was nice and firm.

All power points seemed to work, there was no street noise, construction work or barking dogs and the wifi worked really well in the rooms and all other areas – restaurant and reception. Two small bottles of water provided each day, with kettle, tea/coffee and drinking glasses. There’s no safe in the room, but there’s a safety box arrangement at reception.

Breakfast was included in our deal and was quite adequate. My favourite – crispy bacon was not on the menu each day, but about each third day. There was not a lot of choice but they did seem to try to mix things up a bit. Eggs and toast were always available, with limited cereals, juice, fruit, yoghurt, pancakes and savouries – rice, noodles, soup.

The pool is an adequate size and a wonderful deep blue colour. There were 23 sunbeds around the pool and about the same along the beach. Being a quiet time, there was always spare sunbeds, but I don’t know how it would go in busy time … there was the usual early morning “savers” of sunbeds on the beach, so it could be a problem in peak time. The pool had a mix of sun and shade areas, and umbrellas. The water temperature by the afternoon was quite warm.

We made our booking through Agoda and paid AU$96 per night per room. Airport transfers were not included in our deal, so we arranged it directly via email with the hotel and paid Rp350,000 for four people and luggage one way. We made our own arrangements with one of the drivers out front for the trip back (Rp200,000), as well as for other day trips.

Small Bintangs at the hotel restaurant were Rp30,000 each (inclusive of tax) and we had an evening meal and lunch meal there also. Grilled chicken (Rp75,000), fish and chips (Rp65,000), spring rolls (Rp38,500), chips (Rp20,000) and several cocktails (between Rp35-60,000).

The hotel is right on Sanur Beach and goes back the other way to the road, so you can choose either way to explore the shops and eateries. It is very central to everything. Just walk or catch a short trip on a Blue Bird.

We were in room 8.
Overall, despite our initial disappointments, I would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed on a par
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rinnie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Sir,

I do apologize for late replying.

Thank you for your stayed with us and thank you for your very long and good comment
for Vila Shanti Hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Wishing you have a lovely day.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews