We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked Away from the Crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #14 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Tucked Away from the Crowd”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in their Tulip and Orchid rooms for 2 nights and did not find any faults major enough to stop us from recommending this place!

Sure, it's location on Mertasari road is far from the madding crowd of Tamblingan but if you prefer the quiet side of Sanur at an affordable price, here's a great option for you. There's even a bike rental shop nearby if u don't fancy walking all the time. It's a fantastic way to go to the beach or just explore Sanur.

The rooms are amazingly clean and the staff really made sure that the rooms are kept in tip top condition. The pool is not that inviting, even the gazebo too. I wish they would keep those two as good as they do with the rooms. I hope they will.

But apart from that, great lodging option. The staff made us feel at home, made sure everything is taken care of. They even suggested lovely local spots for us to eat at. Great service for the price that we paid :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    67
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
91
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
กรุงเทพมหานคร (กทม.), ไทย
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Orchid room in old building is nice clean and charming while the Jasmin room in new building is tiny and toilet is not clean enough. The shared kitchen is useful, yet not clean. The proximity of the hotel is too far from the backpaker area i.e. Perama office etc. but plenty of taxi passing by. Art market, beach, and reasonable restaurant i.e. Gardenia is in a walking distant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_NooK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I didn't want to write this review as I wanted to keep this place a secret. I stayed at Bali Sunhouse for 4 weeks as a solo lady traveller. I am planning to return every year. I loved Sunhouse it had everything I needed and after hiring a bicycle from a local lady there was no stopping me. I was able to cycle to Hardys supermarket to buy supplies and pick up a few dvd's. cycle to the market at 6am for my fish and vegies and cook them on my return home. The swimming pool was great for a dip in the afternoon. The beach is a 5 minute walk and there are many restaurants in walking distance. If a bycycle is not your go there are the Bemo's which travel all the way along the main strip to the market. My room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. The only draw back is the fridge as it is quite small and is for the use of 6 rooms and the staff. There is no where to put cold drinks but there is a local shop around the corner to purchase as needed. The kitchen is also very small but you will find most people dont use it to cook a meal as the restaurants are very handy. Air Con worked well, shower was sufficient, DVD and TV supplied, free wi fi , safety deposit box in room and swimming pool to cool down. All in all a great affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzxf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

What can i say a nice traditional Bali guest house with a nice garden area. With WiFi and use of kitchen, all rooms have AC and bathrooms with hot and cold water and are pretty nice size with large bed. Most also have TV and DVD player as well so bring a few movies along. Has small swimming pool and tables in garden so you can site outside. Friendly staff and very good value cheaper than other guset houses near the area. Walking distance to the beach and also the village of Sanur. Also lots of little local places to eat not so far away ask the staff they be able to tell you where they are.

Room Tip: Have AC and TV , DVD no fridge but use of one in the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booking this place was gambling for us as we saw very few reviews on the web. But we found our stay a pleasant surprise.

We stayed for 3 nights and didn’t regret it. Room rates are very reasonable. Staff are helpful. Ambiance is quite. Rooms are clean – it’s not spotless, you can see some walls need painting job, but it’s totally fine because they keep the bed, floor, and bathroom clean (which are the most important for us). Swimming pool could be cleaner, but it’s okay. They only have one room (second floor) with in-room-fridge; otherwise there is common fridge in clean kitchen. No breakfast is provided, you can cook simple breakfast in the kitchen if you want (which we did, instant noodle!).

We stayed in the second floor room. The stairs are rather steep, but the room is big and very nice.
The rooms on the first floor are smaller but not bad at all. We wouldn’t mind staying there if we don’t have toddler in tow.

Its location is not prime but not bad either. Beach is within walking distance, but that is the southern end of Sanur, lots of fishing boats. Some café and restaurant nearby. It’s rather far from the bustling main road (Danau Tamblingan), but we prefer so as we are not into night life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HenOyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,261 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#24 of 78 in Sanur
2,282 reviews
0.5 km away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 km away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Property: Sunhouse Guest House
Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing