We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Experience for City Dwellers”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Rare Experience for City Dwellers”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A little surprise as I was greeted by uninvited guests from the rice fields along in the villa. City dwellers like ourselves are not so used to such crawlies in our living and resting space.

However, this is made up for when we were placed in the biggest villa of this place. A fair view of the river, nice private pool followed by giant benches which allows you to laze around and get switched off from the daily tensions. A relaxing selection of music to aid you in the escape from the city. Villa wise, depending on which one you stay, might bring you back nostalgic feels of Asia in the early 80s or rustic memories from the pass of giant vegetation.

The lady masseurs seems to have a good wealth of experience. Nice heavenly touches to the sore muscles raised from the pressure during sports and works elevates them to a new wonder at the end of the session. If you take the massage after a long hard climb from mount Batur, the feeling of the hard ascend is much more worthwhile. The light headed feeling at the end of the session induce such a deep sleep that the few hours of rest was more than enough.

Dinner was served with a delicate touch as the chef has prepared the dishes with pride and you can feel the effort in the food he puts into. Last heard from the boss that he insist in using organic rice grown in Bali and no expenses are spared in creating the dishes.

As there are only 10 villas there, the staff more or less knows where you are staying and most likely will remember you by name. Staff service is excellent and the efficiency is highly rated. Imagine asking for a hot pot of water and having them delivered within minutes which you can count with 1 hand.

Overall, this is a villa which I will go back again for my vacation in the future, A lovely place for a romantic getaway without the hassle of the city.

Any shortfalls? Perhaps for the $$$ you might feel a little pinch and the time needed to get to the town center requires at least 15mins in their shuttle.

Room Tip: If you are too used to the city and not such a country side person, it is advise to check with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imdho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
534
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have stayed at villa semana twice now, in the last 6 months. We stayed in malwar both times which is a garden villa. We have enjoyed both our stays. The food is fantastic. The accomodation is great, love the outdoor shower and its great having your own pool. The service given by the staff is fantastic. We dont mind the trek into town as the shuttle service is quite regular and its such a peaceful area, out of the hussle and bussle of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flycom321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It was my second time in Bali and first time in Ubud and a friend booked for us at Villa Semana. It was a perfect choice. 12 villas with their own small pool, very quiet, a bigger pool overlooking the paddy field and the river. The garden and landscape are exactly like those which make your dream in the Traveller’s magazine. Green, quiet, luxuriant and perfectly maintained. The food is great and the service very efficient. A plus is the presence of the owner and director Mr. Jurg. His presence and advices give you a feeling of being important. He invited my boy friend for a mountain bike ride in the paddy field. He would have never be able to go there by himself as only locals can do. For me, the best was the open air spa, reserved just for us. A nice massage for both of us followed by a drink on the terasse. Good food, excellent service and affordable price...highly recommended.
May

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayleetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

nicely tucked away villas but still close enough, by car, to UBUD,
very friendly staff , good kitchen.

Room Tip: ask a villa with the paddy (sawa) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at a private villa with a private pool overlooking the river. The staff are very polite and the room was clean and nicely set up for our arrival. The breakfast is ok, but the Balinese coffee is quite good: mild and easy to drink. The inconvenience is that you need to use the car to get to the central part of Ubud.

We had a miscommunication problem that you may want to know about. We asked for the laundry service and according to the instructions it was supposed to be returned the same day if dropped off before 10am. We followed the instructions and had our clothes picked up after 9am, but had to make multiple calls to get them back the next day when we were checking out. The staff said that they didn't know what time we were leaving, hence no laundry. There is a big difference between return by 6pm and return upon checkout. It was a hassle, and it was ok in the end.

Otherwise, very, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happily_married_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was due to arrive at this hotel next week and emailed to enquiry about what I had thought was a free airport transfer service (many other hotels offer this). I will admit when I was quoted a fee for double the going rate I was a little surprised and stated in an email that I had not expected this of such a hotel.

At this point the owner J Suter emailed me an abrupt reply stating that because I had paid a low rate this was not included and that I was welcome to cancel! The ongoing email chain consisted of Mr Suter accusing me of making comments about his hotel (which in fact I had called beautiful!) and repeatedly saying I was welcome to cancel. In hindsight It is clear I had angered him in some way and that customer service was no longer a priority!

To overcome what was a degenerating conversation via email I decided to call Mr Suter. This conversation involved me apologising if he had felt my comments were negative about the taxi transfer, but that it had been a genuine mistake.

Mr Suter then spoke at me saying that I was not the type of client he wanted at his hotel and that he would not subject his staff to me. At this point I was audibly upset and asked him to please explain why he was being so rude and what justified these comments, especially when I was ringing him to discuss the situation (customer service reversed!) He proceeded in quoting the inn keepers act and saying that I was not welcome at his hotel with no reason given (clearly I was not planning to visit at this stage!)

Now I understand Mr Suter has been lovely to the guests that stay at his hotel (perhaps those that pay full price?!) and I'm sure that the villas are beautiful. However his treatment of me, solely for expecting his hotel to offer a free taxi transfer shows a side to him that I am glad I did not meet in Bali on a holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We arrived at Villa Semana in the late evening and were very comforted by the easy transfer arrangements, the warm greetings and cool refreshments on arrival, the "magical" torch-lit stroll to our villa and finally the wonderful outdoor shower and comfortable bed. But... like children on Christmas morning, we couldn't wait to wake up to see our 'presents' by daylight. We weren't disappointed!!!! The environment is spectacular with pockets of surprises and peaceful nooks to sit and ponder - a true gem. The villa itself was also fabulous. We stayed in Teratai and enjoyed the location,the view/s, the layout, the bed, the outdoor shower and the plunge pool. I can only agree with every other review that has sung the praises of Villa Semana, and the staff who work quietly but tirelessly to ensure that the choice we made for a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday experience in Bali, was a perfect one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.5 km away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.0 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#66 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
4.5 km away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#24 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#52 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing