We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
68
135
50
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
135
50
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic visual feast adequate breakfast no tea coffee making facilities stone and wood beautiful architecture ubud market bali style art market lush gardens top floor shower curtain convenient location we've stayed laundry service the hustle and bustle beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 288 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

The architecture and surroundings at Sania's are stunning - lush gardens, swimming pool, elaborate statuary and carved furniture, Barong masks etc. It's like being in a palace, or a temple.

But behind appearances, the rooms are basic and service is sadly lacking.

My bathroom had no toiletries, not even a piece of soap. The plumbing was dodgy (had to unblock the toilet) and I never got any hot water despite running the shower for several minutes. The room had only a single electrical outlet (used for lighting). The A/C did work OK.

The staff were generally uninterested, although polite when asked. They never offered to clean my room (3 nights) and sometimes it was difficult to locate anyone to talk to.

On the positive side, the location is very central, right in the Ubud market. Note, no vehicle access and this can be difficult if your taxi driver is unfamiliar with the area.

The breakfast was better than some, with a fresh fruit salad included.

A unique setting, let down by indifferent service and facilities.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brightontraveller-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

When we arrived, we received a room with only one working outlet which was used for the lamp. We complained and then we were moved to a different room downstairs that had more usable outlets.

We were in room # 9. We noticed a large amount of bees or wasps living above our room (possibly thousands). We again complained as it is quite dangerous to be around these insects. The guy came to check the bees/wasps and said not to turn the light on in our room to keep them away! WTF?

The breakfast Service is slow but it was slow everywhere so it is not a negative thing. Everyone in the hotel is on island time: nobody is in a rush.

The pool was great. There are only 4 beds by the poolside though.

The staff was trying to be as helpful as possible, but their service is not exactly as I am used to.

The internet connection is a disaster in the hotel. Sometimes there is connection and sometimes there isn't. We never had any connection in our room.

There was hot water in the room but we had to wait quite a few minutes until the water was hot.

There is a good and affordable restaurant in the hotel. We had breakfast included in the room price every morning. There are only 7 choices but that was good enough. The fresh fruit was great.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

This place is rather cute, right in the hub of the markets. It's Balinese bungalows are clean, comfortable, and serviced daily. For the price it's great value, I'm not one for luxury when on a budget holiday. For $30 a night I get a clean room, with balcony, a/c, pool. A beautiful ambience. The staff are not a friendly and helpful as others I've experienced, but they weren't rude either. Central to everywhere. And surprisingly quiet considering where we are. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

I have now visited Sania twice and loved it as much the second time as the first! Its set in the middle of the market which is the perfect location in the hub of ubud yet as soon as you walk through the stunning carved Balinese doors, you enter a tranquil Bali home-stay made up of many dwellings or pavilions. the architecture is just incredible due to its stone and wood calving which leads to a beautiful swimming pool. The rooms are simple, clean with private tropical feeling balcony's. The price to stay is an absolute bargain and i am so chuffed they remain to keep it competitive. the breakfast is a basic breakfast like many other home-stays of toast, fruit with coffee and tea but lovely to enjoy in the garden setting.

I cant wait to visit again! it feels like a home from home!

Room Tip: Bottom floor will always be cooler - though the rooms are very cool
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AkaaMaulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

While walking over the market, we went spontaneously there to have some dinner. The garden is really nice and traditional - like in a tempel. Dinner was fantastic. Prices are awesome. We recommend: go there.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kiri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews