We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
527
93
25
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
93
25
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veranda suite jasmine suite complimentary dinner washing powder blue elephant home away from home other guests amazing hospitality filtered water fresh juice fish pond private villa rooms are huge every morning banana pancakes tucked away memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was one of coolest ones we've stayed at. It is a short but fun moto ride away from central Ubud but is a welcome reprieve from the hustle and bustle. The cutely decorated pool is a great way to cool down after a day of exploring or shopping. We stayed in the second floor room and had a great vantage to the surrounding neighborhood. The owner is a lovely man who helped us secure a sunrise hike to the top of Mt. Batur on short notice. He was also very kind and let us relax in our room after our check-out time came and went as we were waiting for our shuttle to Sanur. Thanks to all the lovely staff who were warm and welcoming. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Second story rooms are a must. Great views
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zach5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gajahbirubungalows, Manager at Gajah Biru Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dearest zach5000,
What a beautiful time if all of our guest has the same expectation as you are.
I am still waiting for another chance to hosting you back.
Our Love
GB Managent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 6 days in Gajah Biru and it was perfect. The place is beautiful (nature, pool, big outdoor terrace), close to Ubud center but very quiet. You can walk 5 minutes and you're getting through gardens and ricefields. Laundry and scooter rent service are on the door.
The staff and the manager Mandy are very friendly and helpful, you can ask them a lot of things. There's a nice spa too, and recommand the facial treatment and the balinese massage.
Don't hesitate to book your stay there !

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gajahbirubungalows, Manager at Gajah Biru Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dearest Francine B,
We glad for having you've enjoyed your stay with us. We need more guest like you to stay with us all over the time.

Best Regards
GB Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

I have waited a few days before commenting on our stay. Looking at some negative reviews I am reluctant to write anything due to the aggressive response from whoever in management provides them.

On arrival we were advised that we were to be upgraded due to a double booking on our room, the 'upgrading' was such in that we would share a pool with only one other room, this wasn't important to us. On entering the room we were greeted with a slightly overpowering mustiness with a dehumidifier running in the room, this was explained as a mosquito issue, not sure about that. After about an hour we realised that it was not bearable and asked if we could be moved. We were upgraded again to a 2 BR villa but would have to be out of there and move to our original room the next day, we asked to be allocated another room which I pointed as as desirable and we were given that room. On entering the room we found a suitcase present which seems to belong to someone who had checked in earlier, the suitcase was removed and later we saw it with a couple who seemed to be departing the premises. Overall the photos display a delightful location but on a general inspection it's not quite the case. So many maintenance issues that as a renovator of a few homes to date I can't see getting done. Pebble drain area for shower back filled after a few moments (cant imagine what would be in there), dripping tap,no TV (with a supposedly international selection of stations) broken timbers, mould etc. For a room that had a rack rate at 3000k and on paying 900k this place is incredibly overrated and overpriced. If you paid the rack rate you would be in tears. To be fair, all our issues including the price were raised with staff and we were told that this was passed on to the manager but to date no response. We are regulars to Bali and to Ubud (40 years) but Gajah Biru Bungalows won't be.

Room Tip: All said, I'd strongly recommend somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gajahbirubungalows, Manager at Gajah Biru Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dearest Nicholas B,
Thank you for sharing this experience, we are truly sorry couldn't assist you as what you expected when you visit our place. The public rate as a gimmick from OTA and we've never sell as expensive as that on the lowest category. Our price is always fluctuative with a lot of discount depend on season.
Again, all of GB team do apologise for such the worse experience that might you have during your trip.
We will keep doing and improve all of us to be the better one but in other side we realise that every guest has their own expectation which we couldn't be perfect to everyone.
All Best of Us
GB Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. During the first night we had a lot of bugs etc in the room which I am told was due to spraying outside that had been done that day. We asked to be moved, the staff were great and very understanding and moved us to a first floor room. In our opinion both of these rooms could do with some refurbishment as they are clearly quite old and a bit grubby. Bedding and towels were clean though. Also the air conditioning didn't work in the second room which made for quite a warm nights sleep!

Breakfast was ok and I would recommend the pancakes. Pool area was nice, there are only 4 sunbeds at the main pool area but this was fine and we always managed to get one.

Again, staff were very friendly and helpful but I think the bungalows need some work.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S1321WQeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gajahbirubungalows, Manager at Gajah Biru Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dearest Ed S,

Thank you for your valueable feedback and we do apologise for this terrible situation during your stay. I wish we have another chance to welcoming you back shortly.

Best Regards
GB Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We chose this place based mainly on the positive reviews. I honestly have no idea where the positive reviews have come from..

The bungalows are run down and in need of renovation - and a thorough deep clean. We began our stay in villa cinnamon. The villa was quite large but very dark and damp. The rooms were not clean, everything dusty and stained, and the bathroom have a strong damp smell. The first night our room was filled with insects including two huge cockroaches, (amoungst various frogs, gheckos and other bugs). The shower and bath leaky and caused water to flood the bathroom floor. Towels, although smelt fresh, were stained like they have been used for dying hair!

We spoke to reception and asked if they had any other rooms available. The next morning the manager was extremely apologetic and moved us to a villa cardamon. This was on the first floor and we had less problems with insects and other creatures coming in. Apparently this Villa was an upgrade, but still wasn't particularly clean, had to keep flip flops on all the time because the floor was dusty and the bathroom still had a very strong damp smell. The air conditioning didn't work in this new room, nor did quite a few of the lights. The bathroom had two windows that people walking past could see into, with no blinds or curtains for privacy. We sat outside on the balcony one evening, had to use a face wipe to clean the table before we could sit - face wipe came up black after one swipe!

Breakfast was fairly limited. First morning I asked for juice and it had two dead ants floating on the top of it. The thing I would recommend were the chocolate pancakes.

Location is about 20-30 minutes walk from Ubud centre. This distance was fine with us, but didn't anticipate it to be walking on the edge of quite a busy road with no pavement. I would definitely not want to do that walk with children.

I feel really sorry for the staff here, they are so friendly and do what they can to offer advice and information, but they can only work with what they have. The whole place needs doing up and that would make it a lot easier to keep and look clean.

I wouldn't recommend staying here, there are much nicer places for the price.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 538annieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews