We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...but renovating”
Review of Sri Ratih Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sri Ratih Cottages
Ranked #40 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place...but renovating”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I read all the reviews before booking this hotel. The room was clean and nice, the service and staff were amazing and the location was great (short walk to Ubud). They are doing renovations, but I didn't mind because I was generally gone all day exploring the main sites.

So bottom line I suppose is that if you're looking for a place to relax all day...the hammering will get annoying. If you want a great place to launch your adventures from, then this was a good choice for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    287
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
198
537
66
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PLYMOUTH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Lovely place excellent gardens nice pool very friendly staff. Just 10 mins walk from Ubud albeit up a bit of a hill. My wife and i have just spent 5 days there, rooms are comfortable some need a bit of TLC but very clean and tidy.The outside bathroom is very novel. If we return to Ubud Raith Cottages will be our first choice again. However one word of caution there is currently major building work going on, the noise was horrendous and we found we just had to get out during the day. Work usually finished about 5pm. The new restaurant will be an assest when it is finished in the next few weeks. However they have now started to demolish an apartment block so the noise could continue for some time. Recommend contact direct before arrival.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe room with outside bathroom they are great and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEVERTHELESSPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Enjoying its fame as a shooting location in Eat, Pray, Love starred by Julia Roberts makes it more difficult to look for a decent budget accomodation in Ubud. For an air-con room with private bathroom, one has to pay for at least 50USD per night! Forget all about the value-for-money. Ubud has now become more and more expensive.

Luckily we found Sri Ratih by chance. A beautiful little gem nestled behind the famous Blanco Museum. This cottage has now built new compounds to cater the upscale market while preserving its old rooms for budget-conscious customers like us.

We had carefully managed our expectation before coming in. Therefore it's easier for us to appreciate everything Sri Ratih offered: free wifi (in constant speed), enchanting garden, clean room (although it looks a bit tired) and nice breakfast. It seemed that Sri Ratih gave more than basic room. Decent at its best.

Room Tip: Room no. 20 with great rice field view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Like other Ubud hotels, Sri Ratih has gorgeous rooms and grounds and pool. Unlike other Ubud hotels, the property is quiet at night. We had an air-con room and couldn't hear the usual dogs and roosters in the night. The staff was excellent. And construction is almost complete on a restaurant which will be nothing short of gorgeous. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer more private porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This place was paradise after numerous horrible budget hotels in Vietnam and Bali. BOOK it! The staff is super friendly, the environment relaxing and beautiful, the rooms lovely and airy with a balcony overlooking an exotic tropical garden and pool area. I am not exagarating - its great. They welcomed us in their beautiful reception area next to the pool with a tropical drink and an ice cold cloth (not a small and unimportant thing in the heat and travelling in hot taxies from Denpassar - these small extras made our day). A 15-20 min walk into Ubud town and very short steep hill before you walk past shops etc to central Ubud. Some might find it hard but if you are fit and can walk its doable. You are in Ubud central in no time. Visit the Roberto Blanco art museum (an ecentric artist whose house is now a art gallery/museum) closeby (at bottom of the hill). The hotel restaurant is open early until 11pm and great food and service in a wonderful setting overlooking countryside. We highly recommend this place. On another matter, book the Elephant Safari Park about 30 min out of Ubud with hotel....you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated as they are busy renovating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It took us a few hours to get to Sri Ratih Cottages from the airport, so by the time we arrived, we were exhausted. The first step in and the atmosphere was very calming and peaceful. While we were waiting for our rooms to be sorted, we were served with welcome drinks. The staff were lovely and their Balinese dresses were rather fascinating. I did notice some construction work going on, but they were having a break at the time so there were not as much noise. We were then directed to our rooms. We had to carry our own luggages up to the second floor which was very inconvenient and tiring. The room was simple and clean. The balcony was great.
I really liked the location of the hotel, it sat on top of a hill and, with a delightful 15-minute walk, you can easily get to the attractions around. To be honest, we did not get to spend much time in the hotel, so we did not fully discover its facilities. However, there was a medium-sized swimming pool, beautiful garden and free internet access at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatchaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We arrived at Sri Ratih on New Year's Eve. Staff were polite and welcoming and we were soon shown to our room(s).

We had booked a duplex suite as we had our two teenage daughters with us and wanted two bedrooms.
The rooms were nice and clean, although the idea of an al-fresco bathroom is "interesting".

It is unfortunate that our rooms and their adjoining balcony where right next to some building work. this was despite the information we had telling us that work would only run from July to September.

When I asked for a change of room none was available (quite possible given the time of year) but the manager seemed to find it all rather amusing rather than be apologetic and offer any form of recompense.

I was told that the workers were "not that busy" and would be finished by 5.00pm. There may not have been constant jack-hammers but there was constant hammering and the sound of loud nail guns going off. This rendered our "cozy daybed on the airy balcony" unusable for quiet relaxation and reading.

I was told that there would be no work the next day as it was New Year's day. As the weather was not great we decided to have a brief walk nearby and then spend the day at the cottages to rest and read. Unfortunately the manager was either lying to us or had not communicated with the workers as work did go ahead. When I pointed this out to him he laughed and said that they would not be working much! At this point I realised that further discussion with this guy was not worthwhile as I did not want to spoil our holiday.

He seems to be excellent at coming on this site and apologising for problems when people have left, promising a wonderful experience when they return, but makes no effort when you are here!

If you are thinking of coming here I would definitely think twice as the work near the front of the complex (right next to us) clearly has a long way to go before completion. I can hear the drills as I sit in the room now at 9.15am on an otherwise perfect morning.

As for the rest of my review:

Rooms were nice and clean.
Staff were reserved but cheerful and helpful.
Food in the restaurant was perfectly good (though not sensational as other reviewers seem to think!!).

Usually I would recommend this place but cannot in the light of the experience which we have had.

Room Tip: Not near the front of complex!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Temasektony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.3 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
511 reviews
3.6 km away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
712 reviews
1.8 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,862 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Ratih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Ratih Cottages

Property: Sri Ratih Cottages
Address: Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud 80582, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#35 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#37 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sri Ratih Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the rice paddy fields of Penestanan, Sri Ratih cottages features a charming secluded Balinese hotel with large garden offering a heaven of peace and tranquility. Yet only few minutes drive to many restaurants, galleries and shops in Ubud town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sri Ratih Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Ratih Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sri Ratih Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing