We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Khalia Agung is a treasure!”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the villa
Villa and pool Upstairs reading room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The front of the villa
Villa and pool
Upstairs reading room
Villa and pool area
Tiered towel rack in bathroom
King bedroom
Villa is surrounded by rice fields
Twin bedroom
Pool area from the balcony
Walkway to adjacent villa and restaurant
Downstairs living room
From the kitchen to the dining room
Bale Bale
Villa porch leading to the pool
Side of the villa
Viila, pool and statue
Morning fare comes with cooked breakfast
IMG 1203
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
muddyrive...
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Villa Khalia Agung is a treasure!”
Reviewed 6 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment you arrive you know you have made a choice to have an unforgettable experience. The Villas are stunningly beautiful, and sparkling clean. The staff is courteous and attentive, seemingly at any hour of the day or night. You are surrounded by hundreds od acres of rice paddies, yet only 10-15 minute free drop off to all the shops, spas and culture of Ubud.

We stayed in the HONEYMOON VILLA, which is gorgeous with a nice pool. Villa not much larger than a European Hotel room, with nice Veranda. A little small for us, but attractively priced. Just dont expect a huge living space.

We transferred to VILLA 1 for 3 days, and it was monstrous. I'm guessing 400sm, but not sure. Pool is huge and clean and inviting! Bedrooms Air Conditioned, Breezes flow through the house. Relaxing and spacious.

Agung and "Guru" (Nengah) will take good care you. Dewi (some call her Debbie) serves a basic but tasty hot breakfast with a smile.

Some Ideas:

I asked Agung to show me everything about cultivating and harvesting rice. This resulted in an impromptu 3 hour walking tour that started with planting, transplanting, weeding (I tried this in the mud for 15 minutes- wouldn't want to make a creer of it), all the way to harvest and processing.

Most tourists at some point see a traditional Balinese Dance and Music performace. We asked the staff what it would take to have one at the villas just for us. A 2 hour performance with barb b q and traditional costumed dancers, with large bamboo band including percussion set us back less than you would think. We did this the last night as a way to say thank you to the staff.

Also arranged for us was a 1 hour Yoga Class by an amazingly talented woman. Again, right at the villas, and very reasonable.

The Drivers were very good, and we never had to wait. Trips to town were way shorter than we imagined. 15 minutes tops depending on where you are going. We never felt isolated.

Owners communication was also prompt, helpful, and frequent. They really care about you and their staff and it shows.



SOME TIPS:

PHONE
Agung and Guru loaned us a phone so we could call when we needed a ride. I also needed to call the states for some important long conversations, and had spent over 500.00 US on "Resort Charges" in Seminyak. Agung too me to a phone store where I got an inexpensive phone and Sim Card. I could call globally for about 10 bucks an hour. We are new to distant travel, so we had no idea it was that easy. We will be taking this phone to Thailand later this month and just pick up a local Sim Card.

INTERNET
All Internet we encountered in Bali was slow by our standards, and there are backups and outages regularly. This is not the fault of anyone, it's just what it is. The WiFi here worked very well, and we had no trouble sending small pics or recieving email. Not fast enough for reliable SKYPE, which you don't need if you have a local phone sim card.

CRITTERS
I read every review here thoroughly before choosing, and saw one that mentioned a dirty bathroom. That's not exactly the case. When you are in the tropical climate, you will see some Geccos. They are GOOD! They eat the mosquitos. They also occasionally leave a little souveneir of their presence. We found one in the bathtub, which initially seemed like a cleaning issue, but after it was explained to us, we just laughed. We love Geccos.

AIR CONDITIONER
OK I am a wuss who lives in Seattle, where 70 degrees is warm. After a few weeks I became acclimated to Bali temperatures. Bedrooms are Air Conditioned. The air conditioner in the HONEYMOON SUITE did not seem to make it cool enough for me, at first. I asked, and the staff brought me a fan- that did the trick right away. Did not have any problem in Villa 1, in fact it was plenty cold in bedroom at night. Note to staff: Either I just got used to not being in Seattle, or Honeymoon Villa Air conditioner may be weak and/or need service.

TIPPING
Being from America, we would feel bad if we didn't tip. It is not required, and often not expected. We found that, thanks to Americans who have come before us, it is expected of us because we are American! :-) And that's OK. What we did in Bali generally was wait until the last day to thank the whole staff with a tip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REsurfer
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical Bali Dream”
Reviewed 29 January 2011 for a stay in August 2010

Agung and his family/staff were wonderful and gracious hosts. The villa was spacious with beautiful vistas over the rice fields and foothills. At night under a full moon among the silhouette of the rice fields we heard an elderly gentleman chanting in the distance, frogs, crickets and the soft babble from the nearby streams made the evening magical. Air conditioning was never necessary since the villa is located in the foothills and cool breezes drift down from the mountains. Darren and Agung really operate a jewel and the website is accurate and honest. In August 2009, our family with 2 teenage daughters ages 15 and 12 visited the villa and enjoyed the swimming pool, bicycling through the rice fields, Ubud culture and food, and the warm hospitality from Agung and his family/staff. This was a "Magical Bali Dream".

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aparna886...
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb comfort, true Balinese Hospitality”
Reviewed 20 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with our 2 kids (10yrs & 5yrs) from 3rd to 13th Nov 2010.
Plus Points -
1. It was exactly as described by the owner and reviewers online - no deception here. Lovely huge villas, friendly and helpful staff...thanks Agung, Guru, Putu, Dharma, Dewi et all :), good amenities, lots of peace and quiet.
2. Great massages in the quaint little pavilion beside the villa with the sound of flowing water in the background.
3. Our kids loved the pool which was well maintained, decent sized with a kiddie pool, lots of pool toys.
4. Breakfast was quite predictable especially since we were there for 10 days, but the always smiling staff and lovely setting of the breakfast tables more than made up for it.
5. We hired the villa car twice for trips to East Bali for snorkelling and then for a trip in and around Ubud -once we were taken around by Dharma, and once by Agung- we enjoyed the trips.
6. They provide you with a local mobile phone which you can keep with you and use for the duration of the stay - this was a great convenience.

Negative -
1. It's a good 10 to 15 min drive from main Ubud, so one cannot just saunter out - but the staff is very willing to drop and pick up to and from Ubud so we never felt tied down.
2. Limited lunch and dinner menu at the villas, which by the way has to be ordered 4 hrs in advance for them to get time to prep. We never really ordered in at the Villa - made our own Hot dogs, pastas from packets etc, or drove over to Ubud.
3. Many of the more popular international TV channels were not available like Star World, HBO and other cartoon channels etc, but there were 2 TV's and 2 DVD players, and a decent collection of DVD's at the villa, plus there are many DVD shops in Ubud where you can get super cheap DVD's so we never really had to worry about the kids getting bored.
4. The second last day my son got mildly bitten by Puti the villa dog when he was petting the animal and accidentally stepped on Puti's tail, so not really the dog's fault - they assured us that he is vaccinated, but we got them to drive us to the local clinic for Rabies shots given the high incidence of rabies in Bali, so that was a bit of a downer.

All in all a good holiday, plus centrally located in Bali so we visited places to the N.East, South, S.West from here, all day trips.

Suggestions -
One suggestion we would make is that the owners keep a collection of menus from various restaurants in Ubud who are ready to deliver food to the Villa so guests have that option too.
Also a second flat screen Tv upstairs would be nice - the present one is terribly dinky.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Reviewed 1 August 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Large group or tour
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Staff, amenities, location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southern California
Reviewed 27 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The actual villa and location
Liked least: All was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 22 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Site and villa
Liked least: Nothing negative
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing