We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb comfort in peaceful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb comfort in peaceful environment”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We chose The Purist as we were looking for a hotel villa with private pool and because we prefer hotels with a small number of rooms. We did not get disappointed, the hotel's grounds are beautiful, very well maintained and the 5 butlers ensure you get indulged with excellent service, delicious food and keep your villa in perfect condition. We chose the 'garden villa' which offers everything you need with nicely decorated spacious rooms and a good sized pool with nice sun deck/beds and areas to relax outside on sofas and to enjoy your meals. There is also a beautiful 'living room' at the reception where you can also enjoy meals, a drink or explore the books available to learn more about Bali or what to do. If you want to relax this is the place to go, if you don't feel like going anywhere this is a place where you can stay round the clock and get what you need even if it only has a few rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    60
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
115
320
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had a three night stay in Ubub before heading to Lombok. This was our second time in Ubud so were keen to find an intimate setting. The Pursit was a great selection. We stayed in the Bamboo room with its own pool.

The Purist is a small boutique hotel about 2kms from town. We walked into town and rode the hotels bikes most mornings.(The bikes are not 5 star but do the job). The hotel is set in a small village facing onto a creek and their is wonderful scenery all arround. Keep in mind you have local neighbours so you will have roosters doing their thing first and fires being burnt first thing of a morning.

Service was fantastic, especially from the hotel lobby. Staff gave us some great recommendations for dinner and lunch. Due to low season, their were more staff than guests in the hotel!

We stayed in the Bamboo room (at a good rate) but suggest you grab a room close to the main pool (ie VIlla 1) especially if it is low season. You will probably have the main pool to yourself! All the rooms are decorated in a similar way and have been stylishly set out.

If you are not after a big hotel expecience then The Purist is the place for you. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Villa 1 looked great and if you are travelling with friends - book Villa 1 & 2 so you share the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazngret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Good villa. Great location. Friendly staff. Incredible breakfast choice. An very relaxed and comfortabel stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

After having visited the hotel's sibling Ryaddyor in Marrakech last year and having discussed their "Ubud project" with one of the owners, I was really looking forward to visit "The Purist" and my expectations were high. We were not dissapointed! We stayed there from 21-23 January 20112 and (like in Marrakech) we got a free upgrade to a private pool villa and it was marvellous. The place is so beautifully decorated and so well managed. The staff is really friendly, the food is excellent and there are free bicycles available so that you can enjoy Ubud and it's surroundings at your own paste. If you look for something really special around Ubud, The Purist should definitely be on your "shortlist"!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The service is impeccable. The whole atmosphere was so relaxing and true to the Balinese culture. The Villas are unlike anything you will see in Ubud!

Room Tip: The River Villas have a great view of the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnfernan926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived at the purist and was given a very warm welcome, the people who work at the purist just couldnt do enough for us, whatever we wanted they organised without any hassle or for us to have to lift a finger. We arrived and got upgraded to the hills room and that was just amazing. When we go back to bali and stay in ubud we will be staying here again, we really recommend people stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

In the first week of January we stayed for 4 nights in this wonderful place. Everything is great at The Purist. The villa's are beautifully designed, they even look better than on the photos on their website, the service is fantastic and the location is perfect.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 km away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.3 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.2 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.5 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing