We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day with Nyoman: views, culture, cycling and food.”

Jegeg Bali Cycling Tours
Ranked #2 of 169 Outdoor Activities in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
“A fantastic day with Nyoman: views, culture, cycling and food.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

An action packed day of Balinese culture, views, villages and food with some gentle cycling thrown in. Nyoman is a great guide, providing lots of cultural background and an insight into Balinese life. Cycling through villages and countryside was a fantastic way to soak it all up. We got to help some locals harvest their rice. The meal at the end in nyoman's family compound was a highlight. In a competitive market, nyoman's personal touch and dedication stands out

Helpful?
Thank Tomleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    46
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend a day!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our second tour with Jegeg and once again we had a fantastic day. Twalruses paddy trekking was wonderful, we learnt so much about growing rice and Bali and its people. Nyomen is a fantastic tour guide. The lunch at his home was absolutely delicious. Jegeg comes highly recommended by us!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do in Bali”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We are recreational cyclists and were keen to get a bit of exercise and see a bit of the Bali countryside. This tour was perfect. Jegeg Is run by Nyoman and his family and caters for smaller groups. The tour incorporates a van trip to a coffee plantation which was very interesting and then 'breakfast' while viewing Mount Batur volcano and Lake Batur. Breakfast was at 10am and a bit ordinary. I would suggest having a decent breakfast before you leave.
The cycle tour was terrific, mainly downhill through villages and rice fields, with plenty of stops for photos and to meet some villagers and workers in the rice fields. Cycle tour was over 20 km and took several hours but fairly easy riding.
Tour concluded with a visit to Nyomans lovely home compound in his village where his sister-in-law prepared a beautiful Balinese lunch.
Nyoman and his family are very hospitable and friendly. Nyoman speaks good english and goes to a lot of trouble to describe the tour and to explain Balinese traditions and culture.
Overall, an excellent tour at a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieconners53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great 1/2 day trip to get a sense of life in the Balinese countryside”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Nyoman was kind, knowledgeable and easy-going. While the biking was rather simple, the overall tour was interesting to teens and parents alike. Lots of cool rice paddies and friendly children yelling hello from the small local villages. Don't go expecting an epic bike adventure, but do go - it was a great time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Day”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic day with Wayan as our guide. We were picked up from our hotel in Ubud on time. There was only one other person in our group, but were told that they usually keep the groups quite small. As we drove, Wayan gave some interesting observations about the countryside and let us stop for photos.

An early highlight was a coffee plantation. Interesting place to walk around, see the plants and taste some different flavored coffees. Gift shop makes for some tasty souvenirs. Next up was breakfast further up the road. The food was pretty average, but the views were spectacular, overlooking Mt. Agung and the valley below.

Then it was time for the main event: biking. The trip is about 30 km long. It is almost entirely on small, quiet back roads past rice paddies and through villages. Wayan would stop every few minutes to point something out, let us take photos, explain local customs or just take in the view. The atmosphere was really stunning for much of the trip, feeling very much away from the hustle and bustle in most of Bali. There is also a van which follows the group (a little ways back so it won't disturb the experience) if you get tired or overheated or just need some cold water. About 90% of the trip is downhill. In fact, I barely pedaled for the first half of the ride. There are 3 or 4 short steeper stretches towards the end of the ride, but there is no shame in taking your time or walking up the hills if you need it.

The day capped off with a trip to Wayan's family compound with a delicious lunch prepared by his sister-in-law. It was great to meet some of his family, who were all very warm and welcoming.

I'd definitely recommend this cycling tour while you are in Ubud. It was one of my best experiences during a two week trip to Indonesia and something that I'll always remember.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jegeg Bali Cycling Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jegeg Bali Cycling Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing