We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toya Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$592
US$447
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
US$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
36
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswifi coveragejungle noisesminutes by carbed sheetsstayed nightsinfinity poolhot waterrice terraceshanomanaguscalmnessgeckosbugsforesttempledriverbali
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

What a beautiful place, in a surreal location.

Me and my boyfriend stayed 5 nights in Hanoman. The actual plan was 3 night, but we extend with 2 more nights. It was beyond our expectations! Everything has been designed, created and build with eye for detail. The rooms are peacefull and beautifull.
I was treated like royalty. The very kindly staffing, service was top! and the food delicious, every day was a surprise.

I would definitely go back and stay again but longer.

We definetly recommend this great experience to everybody who wants to have a great experience and the best food in Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogini-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We've been soooooooooo luck in choosing Toya Retreat! We spent 5 days in heaven, I was very pleased because I've been planning this trip for ages and had wonderful services over there, the rooms and the ambiance were very meditative all very clean and tidy. The staff all of them very professional and helpfull, I felt at home. I highly recommend this Retreat for any couple as it is also very romantic!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashti01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We booked four nights at Toya Retreat. When we arrived at Toya, nobody welcomed us. We had a bad feeling about this. The room that I booked is Arjuna Room, they prepared difference Hanoman Room. We asked staff, they just said "it's no problem Hanoman is better than Arjuna". But it's lie. We Looked at Arjuna rooms it was in ruins. There are moldy mattress in the bed room and sofa in the open living room, broken air conditioners, dozen of spider nets, dusty floor and so on.. TOYA have three rooms but it seems out of use without Hanoman. The Hanoman has no air conditioner, they also said "it's no problem, nighttime is cool" ,yes, temperature goes down in the nighttime, but humidity goes up and there are full of moldy smell it's makes us sick. And staffs are amateur, not professional. So we stayed only first night and cancelled another three nights. We ran away from TOYA to central ubud next morning...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kokopalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

If you would like to experience the real Bali, you have to go to Toya!

After a ride through small villages, rice paddies and local workers you will arrive into the middle of nowhere, Toya. The moment you enter through the main doors, you are entering paradise, You will be amazed with the beautiful view, the garden, the pool and the rooms. The days you are staying here will be days of complete relaxation

During the day you can relax in the garden, swim in the pool and enjoy the wonderful view.

At night you will really notice that Toya is located in the jungle, The noise of Frogs and Geckos is wonderful. Don't be surprised if you find a frog in your room, because everything is open during the day, they sometimes come in!

One family is running this little resort. Because we where the only guest at the moment we had the luxury of having a private resort.
They provide optimal service, in the morning you will find a pot of coffee or tea in front of your door. The breakfast is very basic, but good, fresh fruit, toast eggs. The lunch is a simple dish but very tasteful. The most special part is the dinner, if you would like to taste the real Balinese Kitchen, You will have to eat here. Not that you have a choice, because you are still in the middle of nowhere. The dinner includes three dishes (fish/meat and vegetables) with rice. All very tasty!

So if you would like to see the authentic Bali, and like to experience the Jungle, are not afraid of bugs, frogs, gecko's etc. you have to come here! a real paradise

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vriesericde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hummm.
Hard to exactly describe the place.
When we arrived, we fell in love. It was paradise. The tranquility, the amazing view, the beautiful pool, the wonderful vegetation. Butterflies were everywhere. And the house is done is such style!
BUT
As soon as night fell....paradise became hell. Weird jungle noises, the smell of old humidity on the bedsheets, and the apple-sized spiders! I swear, on the first night, sitting on my pillow, a spider like you only see in horror movies. After that, each night we saw its sisters crawling in. We even left a day early because it was'nt relaxing to go spider hunting every night before bedtime.

But again, the daytime is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philippespointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews