We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real retreat!”
Review of Toya Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toya Retreat
Ranked #209 of 539 Ubud B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real retreat!”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at Toya Retreat for 3 nights, and absolutely loved the tranquility. The view from the bungalow's terrace and from the swimming pool is stunning. Just as we hoped it would be. We liked the open air feel of the bungalow. The staff, Bibit and Nyoman, were very friendly and took good care of us. The breakfast includes a big bowl of fresh fruit and eggs any style you like. But if you ask for banana pancake, Nyoman will be happy to make them for you. We left the choice for dinner up to Nyoman, and each day we were pleasantly surprised by the quantity and quality of the food. So, if you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place to visit. But if you like to watch the rural life, just walk out of the gate and walk along the small road where there are lots of small woodcarving businesses.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliLovers047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

What a beautiful place, in a surreal location.

Me and my boyfriend stayed 5 nights in Hanoman. The actual plan was 3 night, but we extend with 2 more nights. It was beyond our expectations! Everything has been designed, created and build with eye for detail. The rooms are peacefull and beautifull.
I was treated like royalty. The very kindly staffing, service was top! and the food delicious, every day was a surprise.

I would definitely go back and stay again but longer.

We definetly recommend this great experience to everybody who wants to have a great experience and the best food in Bali.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogini-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We've been soooooooooo luck in choosing Toya Retreat! We spent 5 days in heaven, I was very pleased because I've been planning this trip for ages and had wonderful services over there, the rooms and the ambiance were very meditative all very clean and tidy. The staff all of them very professional and helpfull, I felt at home. I highly recommend this Retreat for any couple as it is also very romantic!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashti01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We booked four nights at Toya Retreat. When we arrived at Toya, nobody welcomed us. We had a bad feeling about this. The room that I booked is Arjuna Room, they prepared difference Hanoman Room. We asked staff, they just said "it's no problem Hanoman is better than Arjuna". But it's lie. We Looked at Arjuna rooms it was in ruins. There are moldy mattress in the bed room and sofa in the open living room, broken air conditioners, dozen of spider nets, dusty floor and so on.. TOYA have three rooms but it seems out of use without Hanoman. The Hanoman has no air conditioner, they also said "it's no problem, nighttime is cool" ,yes, temperature goes down in the nighttime, but humidity goes up and there are full of moldy smell it's makes us sick. And staffs are amateur, not professional. So we stayed only first night and cancelled another three nights. We ran away from TOYA to central ubud next morning...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokopalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

If you would like to experience the real Bali, you have to go to Toya!

After a ride through small villages, rice paddies and local workers you will arrive into the middle of nowhere, Toya. The moment you enter through the main doors, you are entering paradise, You will be amazed with the beautiful view, the garden, the pool and the rooms. The days you are staying here will be days of complete relaxation

During the day you can relax in the garden, swim in the pool and enjoy the wonderful view.

At night you will really notice that Toya is located in the jungle, The noise of Frogs and Geckos is wonderful. Don't be surprised if you find a frog in your room, because everything is open during the day, they sometimes come in!

One family is running this little resort. Because we where the only guest at the moment we had the luxury of having a private resort.
They provide optimal service, in the morning you will find a pot of coffee or tea in front of your door. The breakfast is very basic, but good, fresh fruit, toast eggs. The lunch is a simple dish but very tasteful. The most special part is the dinner, if you would like to taste the real Balinese Kitchen, You will have to eat here. Not that you have a choice, because you are still in the middle of nowhere. The dinner includes three dishes (fish/meat and vegetables) with rice. All very tasty!

So if you would like to see the authentic Bali, and like to experience the Jungle, are not afraid of bugs, frogs, gecko's etc. you have to come here! a real paradise

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vriesericde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hummm.
Hard to exactly describe the place.
When we arrived, we fell in love. It was paradise. The tranquility, the amazing view, the beautiful pool, the wonderful vegetation. Butterflies were everywhere. And the house is done is such style!
BUT
As soon as night fell....paradise became hell. Weird jungle noises, the smell of old humidity on the bedsheets, and the apple-sized spiders! I swear, on the first night, sitting on my pillow, a spider like you only see in horror movies. After that, each night we saw its sisters crawling in. We even left a day early because it was'nt relaxing to go spider hunting every night before bedtime.

But again, the daytime is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philippespointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Toya retreat is a beautiful little gem, hidden in a small village about 20 minutes from Ubud. There is no traffic, no loud music and noise, just the sounds of nature. It is the perfect place for relaxation.

The villas are beautiful and the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is plenty and of very good quality. All in all it is very good value for money.

We booked the package with the driver who took us to small villages, rice fields, temples and showed us the best places for bargain shopping, away from the crowds.

I highly recommend this place for a relaxing and authentic Bali holiday. It is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
6.9 km away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
7.9 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.9 km away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
4.4 km away
Swarapadi Villa
Swarapadi Villa
#112 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
25.7 km away
Karmagali Suites
Karmagali Suites
#4 of 135 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toya Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toya Retreat

Property: Toya Retreat
Address: Sumita, Ubud 80511, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 539 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toya Retreat is an authentic and almost untouched paradise of exotic culture, rich in art and natural beauty. This private retreat, in central Bali in indonesia, combines authentic Balinese traditions with modern lifestyle and facilities. Toya-bali is the beginner of the paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toya Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing